We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location. Lacked ambience. Would not rush back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Derry
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location. Lacked ambience. Would not rush back!”
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

Hotel was grand. Rooms clean. Went for breakfast first morn. Staff very poor service. Breakfast was to be served till 10. We arrived at 9.55. We were told breakfast was finished. We said its still served for five more mins. They said ok. We had to ask for everything. No milk butter sauce cuterly. Dead atmosphere! Location very handy in centre.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mags2324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear Mags2324

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Tower Hotel, it is great that our location suited your needs. In regards to the issues you raised regarding breakfast this has been addressed and we would hope that if you return in the future that you will notice these changes.

Angela Fitzpatrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    607
    330
    136
    36
    13
See reviews for
198
461
36
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Got car parked in basement car park and greeted by flowers in the lobby got checked in seamlessly. Great room with a scenic view over the Bogside. In the bar at night there was a great feeling about the place. No noise at all from revellers.Next morning the self service breakfast catered for healthy and not so healthy options with loads and loads of choices. The bedroom was great and the hotel within walking distance of the main shops .Would definitely return for a more leisurely placed stay.My friends had the evening meal which they said was great.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liketogetoutandabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear Liketogetoutandabout.

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Tower Hotel, this is really appreciated. It is great that you enjoyed the amazing views of the Bogside from your bedroom and had such a great breakfast with us. We are delighted you chose to stay with us, thanks again

Angela Fitzpatrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I love staying at the Tower. it is central, has parking, the facilities are not over pretentious but always excellent and the staff beyond praise from reception, through catering to management. Welcome is effortless, humour and good information abound and nothing is too much trouble.

Someone said the breakfast was not brilliant and on once occasion there was not the usual spread but for very good reason For another good reason, Paddy's Day yielded fare that eschewed the need of meals for the rest of the day. The buffet is more than adequate and this is from a breakfast addict.

The décor is a little retro but why not. This is a genuine place not a wood and crystal palace, anonymous or fussy. Stay there!!!

Room Tip: Just ask in advance and if they can do it they will
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laindonladdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear Laindonladdie

We love the fact you 'Love to stay at the Tower Hotel' it is great to read such kind comments about our staff and hotel. Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us

Angela Fitzpatrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here mid-week with hubby to save a long drive home one night. Staff were excellent - very helpful and pleasant. Room was fine - clean and spacious. Nothing grand about it but it was functional. I wouldn't have classed the hotel as 4 star, more like 3 star. But for the money it was perfectly acceptable. Breakfast choices were extensive and service again was friendly.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paula O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear Paula O,

Thank you so much firstly for choosing to stay with us at the Tower Hotel, it is great that you had a lovely stay with us, thank you for your kind comments and for taking the time to share your experiences.

Angela Fitzpatrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Clean and nice hotel with helpful and friendly staff. Location is excellent for the centre of town but no real view from the rooms. Decor is a bit dated. Didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on the food. Wi-Fi was not free but once subscribed, was fast and reliable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andiedan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear Andiedan,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Tower Hotel, we do have 'Bogside' facing rooms on request and these have great views of the city, it is unfortunate you did not experience this on your recent stay. We are delighted that our staff were helpful and friendly and again thank you so much

Angela Fitzpatrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffield,CT
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We stayed here for a night and wished we could have stayed longer. We had tow rooms which were so comfortable. It was a really pleasant and relaxing stay. The best thing about this hotel is it's location, right inside the walls of the city, everything was within walking distance and easy access to the walk around the walls, shopping and great restaurants. We took Martin's tour which was excellent; he will meet you right in the lobby, a definite must for your trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Funloving5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Average hotel, good central location, rooms very average, I've stayed in better budget hotels. The hotel bar serves decent food but can be very quiet. On the plus side the buffet breakfast is good value for money. For a one night business stop an overall 6/10.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 13 in Derry
2,014 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
565 reviews
1.1 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 13 in Derry
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
3.8 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Derry

Property: Maldron Hotel Derry
Address: Butcher Street | The Diamond, Derry BT48 6HL, Northern Ireland (Formerly Tower Hotel Derry)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Derry
#5 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#5 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#5 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Derry 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern building and interior, The only hotel within Derry's historic walls - City centre, ideally located and the closest Hotel to both of the Citys Shopping Centres. Has on-site Restaurant, Function room, meeting spaces and Music Themed Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maldron Hotel Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Derry
Maldron Hotel Derry Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing