We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Derry
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Hotel is located within the old city walls and city center is only a few minutes walk. Room was spacious and very clean. The staff were very helpful and courteous. The breakfast buffet was good. The only negative was the rather high room rate.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jblack49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Jblack49

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel, we really appreiciate your positve comments.

Angela Fitzpatrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

950 - 956 of 1,203 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2013

Very friendly staff who couldn't do enough for you. Great choice of starters and deserts and three mains to choose from. Our waitress Natalie was very attentive to our baby grandson bringing him potatoes and vegetables the minute we sat down to eat. Johnny the barman was great too. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Catherine 1962, thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience of our Sunday Carvery. We are delighted you had a great time and enjoyed your food and service. We hope to see you again in the future. Angela Fitzpatrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Had a lovely stay at this very central hotel which was in walking distance to the city centre and situated along the famous walls. Hotel very clean and food delicious. Breakfast fantastic!!! Staff very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: no pool and swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ciara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Ciara R,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is great you enjoyed your experience and that the food was "delicious" and breakfast was "fantastic" this is great feedback and we really appreciate your review. Thank you for also saying our staff were helpful and friendly :-)

Angela Fitzpatrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

very friendly staff and very helpfull (as are all the locals too ) ,clean modern rooms , good tv with lots of stations ,bar and reception area very pleasant .

breakfast had everything you could want and again very nice staff .

the hotel is in the centre so very easy to get around . you are at the top of the hill so no more up hill walking . the hotel is within the walled city and is next door so you can easily walk round the whole city which is lovely . check out the train journey along the coast .also the museum and the history of the town . i would recommend .

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sundles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Sundles,

Thank you so much for your lovely review of the Tower Hotel, it is great that you found so many posiitve things to review about your stay. We really do appreciate that you took time to write this review.

Angela Fitzpatrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

You won't find a hotel that is more conveniently located in Derry/Londonderry than the Tower Hotel. You can walk everywhere in the City Centre from here. And the staff is amazing - they make you feel very at home.

I stayed here for two weeks - January 2013. The breakfast service is personal and the food is great!

Room Tip: If noise bothers you, ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jillda50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Jillda50,

Thank you for your kind review of your time at the Tower Hotel, it was great to have you stay with us in January for the 2 weeks, I am so happy you enjoyed your stay and found so many positive things to review. Thank you for staying with us we hope to welcome you back in the future

Angela Fitzpatrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Can't thank the Tower Hotel, Derry enough, Beautiful hotel, lovely breakfast, fantastic spacious rooms. First time in Derry and the staff at the hotel were lovely and welcoming, the town was buzzing and the nightlife was amazing!! Will definitely be back and would highly recommend the Tower Hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank emmsy04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Emmsy04

Thank you so much for such a lovely, positive review. We are delighted you had a great time with us and that you found our staff lovely and welcoming, this is a lovely thing to say. We do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Angela Fitzpatrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

Service is top notch.

Rooms are comfy, lots of plug points for charging devices & liking the safety latch on the windows.

Views from the hotel are just fantastic.

Free WiFi in the lobby but I was just tethering my iPhone to my MacBook anyway with my own data connection. Roughly the same speed.

LOVE the supply of bacon at breakfast :D me likey bacon lol

The bar during the jazz festival has some amazing atmosphere.

The pressure shower is just brilliant, good for a wee back/neck massage.

The hair dryer in the bathroom is also oddly quick at drying hair (good for drying the fog on the mirror quickly too)

Staff really friendly even though they put up with a lot during the festivals.

Room card key security on the lifts are a good addition.

Cant think of any negative things about this hotel.

I've stayed there during the Jazz Festval in May in 2011, 2012 and this year. Looking forward to 2014's Jazz Festival as we've always stayed in the Tower Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keatography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Dear Keatography,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Tower Hotel, we are delighted with your positive comments reflecting your experience. We really pride ourselves on excellent customer service and are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope you will visit us again soon.

Angela Fitzpatrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#2 of 13 in Derry
693 reviews
1.1 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#4 of 13 in Derry
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
0.1 mi away
Shipquay Boutique Hotel
2 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#11 of 13 in Derry
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Derry

Address: Butcher Street | The Diamond, Derry BT48 6HL, Northern Ireland (Formerly Tower Hotel Derry)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#5 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#5 Business Hotel in Derry
#5 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range: £50 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Derry 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern building and interior, The only hotel within Derry's historic walls - City centre, ideally located and the closest Hotel to both of the Citys Shopping Centres. Has on-site Restaurant, Function room, meeting spaces and Music Themed Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Maldron Hotel Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Derry
Maldron Hotel Derry Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing