We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Derry
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Have family in Derry so don't normally use a hotel. However, it suited us to be in main town area for the Walled City Marathon and this hotel was good value for money. Reception staff all very helpful, even prior to arrival, and room was large and well laid out, also spotlessly clean. Restaurant staff also very helpful and good choice of menu, reasonably priced. Food was well cooked and well served. All in all, we were very well looked after. For any tourists visiting this city, this hotel would be ideal - close to many tourist sites and good value for money. Car park in below hotel and not many spaces available - be sure you can manoeuvre your car and practise your parking skills!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loughfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Loughfarm,

Thank you so much for such a lovely review of the Tower Hotel. We are delighted you had such a great stay with us, thank you for recommending us to other visitors we really appreciate it.

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

946 - 952 of 1,203 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2013

Good location for exploring on foot,good bars and restaurant,smallish rooms.Would use again if visiting Londonderry/Derry (stroke city).If you want to walk the famous city wall its 1 minute away and takes a 40 minute "amble" to get round but as the walk passes lots of interesting places could take longer,highly recomended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidcarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Davidcarol

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Tower Hotel, with our enviable location our guests can enjoy a lovely stroll along the city walls which are just on our doorstep. We are happy that you would come back again and stay with us, we hope to see you again in the near future

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

we stayed here 2 nites as part of a tour, but would book this place independent of any tour. it is a charming hotel, close to restaurants and shops. beds were comfortable. tho our room was small, we lacked for nothing. the steak and guinness pie in the bar is very good. don't forget to try the irish whiskey on your porridge in the morning - what a wake-me-up!! be sure to walk the walls of the city as well.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinydog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Tinydog1

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Tower Hotel. We are delighted that you would book our hotel in future if you were travelling independantly, this is lovely to hear. It is great that you had great food in our Lyric Bar. Good that you recommended some whiskey with porridge in the morning :-) Thank you again for your lovely comments

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed two nights in this old hotel located within the walls of the town of Derry. It has parking under the building and was a challenge to enter but free and we did not need a car as everything we wanted to see we could reach on foot. The room was updated, clean and linens were very good quality. The steps to the wall were just outside our hotel so we walked the mile wall and saw the city from a different perspective as well as learned more history in the process. The breakfast buffet was the typical Irish Breakfast fare but had an extra treat....Bushmills and honey for the oatmeal......now that's the way to start the morning!!! The eating area is small and when the tour group was eating it was crowded and noisy but things could have been worse!!!! Also, security was very good, required password to enter car park and room key to go on the elevators.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank creekertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Creekertraveller

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel, it is great that you have so many positive things to say. We are delighted you enjoyed breakfast, felt secure and felt our location was perfect during your time with us. Thank you again and we hope you will visit again in the future

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Hotel is located within the old city walls and city center is only a few minutes walk. Room was spacious and very clean. The staff were very helpful and courteous. The breakfast buffet was good. The only negative was the rather high room rate.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jblack49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Jblack49

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel, we really appreiciate your positve comments.

Angela Fitzpatrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Very friendly staff who couldn't do enough for you. Great choice of starters and deserts and three mains to choose from. Our waitress Natalie was very attentive to our baby grandson bringing him potatoes and vegetables the minute we sat down to eat. Johnny the barman was great too. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Catherine 1962, thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience of our Sunday Carvery. We are delighted you had a great time and enjoyed your food and service. We hope to see you again in the future. Angela Fitzpatrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Had a lovely stay at this very central hotel which was in walking distance to the city centre and situated along the famous walls. Hotel very clean and food delicious. Breakfast fantastic!!! Staff very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: no pool and swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ciara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Ciara R,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is great you enjoyed your experience and that the food was "delicious" and breakfast was "fantastic" this is great feedback and we really appreciate your review. Thank you for also saying our staff were helpful and friendly :-)

Angela Fitzpatrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#2 of 13 in Derry
698 reviews
1.1 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#4 of 13 in Derry
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
0.1 mi away
Shipquay Boutique Hotel
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Derry

Address: Butcher Street | The Diamond, Derry BT48 6HL, Northern Ireland (Formerly Tower Hotel Derry)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Derry
#5 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#5 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#5 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range: £49 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Derry 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern building and interior, The only hotel within Derry's historic walls - City centre, ideally located and the closest Hotel to both of the Citys Shopping Centres. Has on-site Restaurant, Function room, meeting spaces and Music Themed Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Maldron Hotel Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Derry
Maldron Hotel Derry Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing