We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, central, limited parking, alot of street noise at night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Derry
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Galway, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, central, limited parking, alot of street noise at night”
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night while visiting Derry city. Its very central, most central for the city centre. Although its advertised with parking, its a small car park & it was full by 5 pm Friday, so we had to pay in a car park overnight. The rooms were lovely, clean etc. The bar was nice & a very good one man band playing. However there was alot of street noise at night, firstly a gang outside and later at about 4am noise (like people arguing) that went on for a good while

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Elste

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with us, we are delighted you had a lovely time in our hotel and bar. Our hotel does offer complimentary underground car parking however this is a first come basis, once filled we offer alternative parking at Bishop Street Carpark which is 50pence per hour and free after 7pm until 8am the following day. We hope you do come back and visit us in the future

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    608
    330
    136
    36
    14
See reviews for
199
462
36
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The location is excellent for exploring the city, and the staff are very helpful and pleasant. Breakfast is abundant and varied, rooms are clean and comfortable, and the hotel is quiet. The wifi connection was dependable.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank BogCottonCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
BogCottonCanada

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Tower Hotel, we are delighted you have wrote such a positive review. We wish you a great onward journey and hope that you will come back visit one day.

Angela Fitzpatrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Service-all the staff we encountered from the front desk to the night porters were so helpful and friendly. They were ale to get us into our room a bit early, made calls for us to try and find a spa, helped find an open car rental on a Sunday afternoon, and numerous other services above and beyond what would be expected. And all was done with friendliness and courtesy.
Room-our room was clean and spacious. The public areas clean and comfortable. The bathroom was a great size and contrary to what we often find, there were plenty of mirrors, outlets and good lighting.
Hit that pool review by mistake, there is no pool.
Only negative? Mattresses are a little hard.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Christine R

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your stay with us. We are so happy you had a great time and that our staff went above and beyond for you during your stay. We thank you again for choosing to stay at the Tower Hotel

Angela Fitzpatrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We found the Tower Hotel through the Visitor Information Centre and chose it because of it's very central location within the city walls. A very reasonable price, clean attractive rooms with the extra bonus with onsite parking.There is a bar attached and excellent dining.
The staff were all warm and welcoming and very helpful when we needed directions to exit the city.
We certainly give this hotel the thumbs up.

Room Tip: There are rooms with views over the city as well as the housing area and all very pleasant. An easy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherrie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Cherrie R

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at the Tower Hotel, we do have a location that is hard to compete with :-). We are delighted you found so many positive points during your stay and we hope you will come back again and visit in the future.

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Went on a weekend break to Tower Hotel Derry in total we had 5 couples age range from 45 - 53 the hotel has been decorated from last time we were there (last year) and may I say it is very tastefully done, spotless clean and with friendly staff, lovely, lovely people who helped make our stay both pleasent and enjoyable. For breakfast there is nothing else you could possibly ask for as every thing you need is provided, we also had a bar lunch on Friday afternoon and we also had an evening meal in the resturant and yet again everything was perfect and altough we then had a party of twelve we were very promptly served with beautiful hot food again by lovely staff who made us so welcome. will definately be back at the Tower and one of the receptionist (Bronagh) sings in the lounge some nights if she is on please check it out as she is brilliant not to be missed.

Room Tip: we were in 416 all the rooms are great but our friends were in 402 and it was extra nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Patricia S

What a wonderful review, thank you so much for taking the time to share such lovely words about your stay with us. It was a pleasure having you all stay with us and we are delighted you found our staff to be "lovely" Bronach is so happy that you had such kind words to say about her singing. Thank you again and we hope to see you in the future.

Angela Fitzpatrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The Tower is located within the Derry City walls and is ideal for touring the city and the hinterland including the nearby majestic Inishowen peninsula in Donegal. Derry people are super - straight talkers and great company. The hotel is a great place to stay if you are taking in any of the events in the Derry - Londonderry City of Culture 2013 - and there are hundreds of events taking place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scorp688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Scorp688

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us, we are delighted you found the Tower Hotel the perfect base to explore Derry and the surrounding areas. Its great you found the locals to be great company. Thank you for recommending us as the perfect place to stay in this year of culture

Angela Fitzpatrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The hotel was very well situation within the City walls. The rooms were spacious, and there are rooms suitable for wheelchair users. the rooms were clean, although as the hotel is by nightlife it can be noisy when the clubs close. The carpet in our room needed replacing as it had seen better days, but the room was nicely decorated and was clean. The bed was comfortable and the pillows and linen was of good quality. The breakfast was nice. There was a good selection of food, however it got very bust around 9am, and the staff were rushed and sometimes the food was not replaced quickly enough. However it was hot and of good quality. The potato bread was delicious! The breakfast room was a bit cramped though, and at busy times there was some queues to get to food. The location is ideal for all attractions and the staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not directly by the nightclubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juepig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Juepig

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Tower Hotel. We are delighted you found your stay comfortable. At weekends we do sometimes have busy periods for breakfast due to the high volume of guests staying with us, we do try to manage this best we can, but sometimes guests can come in large volume at the same time. We are delighted you found our hotel the perfect base for attractions and exploring the city and surrounding area.

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 13 in Derry
2,016 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
565 reviews
1.1 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 13 in Derry
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
3.8 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Derry

Property: Maldron Hotel Derry
Address: Butcher Street | The Diamond, Derry BT48 6HL, Northern Ireland (Formerly Tower Hotel Derry)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#5 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#5 Business Hotel in Derry
#5 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Derry 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern building and interior, The only hotel within Derry's historic walls - City centre, ideally located and the closest Hotel to both of the Citys Shopping Centres. Has on-site Restaurant, Function room, meeting spaces and Music Themed Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Maldron Hotel Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Derry
Maldron Hotel Derry Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing