We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Derry
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Vigo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not so good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We arrived in saturday in Derry and booked directly the room in the hotel. At the beginning it seemed that it was full but one of the recepcionist said that there was available one room. We could not find any B&B around ant it became our only option for that night. Our room had the TV on the corner on the right side respect to the bed, almost above our heads, so we had to look right and "twist" our heads to watch it. Around 05.00 a.m. a group of teenagers entered in their rooms and were doing a lot of noise, opening and closing the doors, laughing, almost one hour and nobody came to calm the floor. This is something that could be prevented when in reception saw this group come to the hotel, this is a 4 stars hotel.... So our sleep was interrupted and we could not rest since then.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HannaVigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    314
    127
    35
    11
See reviews for
183
439
35
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
332 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our stay in Derry. The Tower Hotel location was perfect so that we could walk to all the sights. The room was small but comfortable and we had great views of the city. The staff was courteous and the included breakfast was satisfying. We only have one complaint and that is that the parking is a premium. We would like to visit the area again and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room high up and in the back for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shane c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear 123Shane

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us, we are delighted you had such a lovely stay. We do have a complimentary underground carpark but this is limited with first come first served. We do recommend that guests park in Bishop Street Car Park and the overnight fee is £4.50 for a full 24 hours parking, and less if you stay in the car park for a shorter time. I hope you will come back again and visit us and thank you for choosing the Tower Hotel

Angela Fitzpatrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derry city
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

had our wedding in this hotel 2 weeks ago, and cant praise it highly enough. we had 155 guests, many of whom have attentend wedding is the past, and every single one off them hadnt a bad word to say about this hotel. the staff are friendly, the management very informant and pleasant and the room is off a very good quality, at an excellent rate. if your planning a wedding, i would advise you to look no further than this hotel, the way they conducted themselves,and looked after us from the start was brillant, the dressing of the room was astounding, and the meal was amazing , everyone complemented the meal, and it was simply top class, the list is endless about the positives about this hotel and i would highly reccommend it to anyone who are considering coming to derry city!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: book one off the suite great value separate kitchen, dinner, bedroom etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piopio23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear PioPio23

Thank you for such a brilliant review, its was great to spend such a special day with you and all your close family and friends. It is great that yourself and guests found our hotel perfect for your wedding and thank you for recommending us to others. I will pass your compliments regarding food to our chef and it is great you had such a great day. We wish you a lifetime of happiness.

Angela Fitzpatrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, null, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

I booked this hotel to hold a 50th birthday party for my partner which included an overnight stay. Our experience was fantastic. Right from the offset the friendly staff went over and above to ensure our stay and party were perfect. The food was delicious, the event room was decorated beautifully, the eleanor suite was immaculate and very comfortable with great views over the historic walls and the staff were second to none with a special mention to event organiser Catherine. Also a great big thanks to Noleen, Tony and Angela for all their efforts it was greatly appreciated. I will most definitely be reccommending this hotel for events and accommodation in Derry.

Room Tip: Recommend Eleanor suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Kim M

Firstly thank you so much for choosing the Tower Hotel as the venue for your partners 50th Birthday celebration, we are delighted you found our staff to be helpful and friendly and made your partners day so special. I will pass on your kind words to all staff mentioned and we are delighted you will be recommending the Tower Hotel for other events, this is a great compliment.

Angela Fitzpatrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stayed here from Fri 23rd - Sunday 25th August for my son's wedding party. Staff very friendly everywhere, very clean hotel, right at the Walls,very handy to get to the shops etc, my husband and i had a lovely dinner on the fri night and Natalie looked after us very well indeed.
Breakfast is the usual things you get in hotels from cereals,juice, eggs,bacon,sausages, black pudding,beans, toast.My only complaint was the room with a view of scaffolding which wasnt very nice but we werent there to sit and look out the room window so i didnt ask to get moved.Room 214.
Would stay again if we were to go back to Londonderry.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tillytara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Nannytoo-1

Thank you so much for choosing the Tower Hotel and for leaving such a lovely review we are delighted you had a great time with us during your Sons wedding. I will certaintly pass your kind comments to Natalie, we apologise about the Scaffolding at the back of the hotel as we were switching from oil to Gas to be more energy efficient and this scaffolding is being taken down :-)
We are deligthed you had a great time and we hope you will come back and visit.

Angela Fitzpatrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Nice hotel.
Great location and price, breakfast was lovely, the room was dead on.
Only negative was the view from our bedroom - an old mossy roof covered in rubbish and a pair of dirty knickers! They should have plants or somethin nicer on it lol

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Jenny M

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Tower Hotel, it is great that you had a lovely stay. During your stay you brought your issue to our attention and this was removed straight away. We understand the rest of your stay was pleasant and we hope that you will come back and visit us in the future

Angela Fitzpatrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We spent a week working very hard at the Fleadh Cheoil in Derry recently and our full crew stay at the Tower Hotel in Derry. All the staff we so friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is in a great location. The room are bright and airy, the bar was lovely and the food was good! The weekend of the Fleadh Cheoil is hectic and standards didn't drop one bit. A great all round experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ForeFront
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Forefront

Thank you firstly for choosing to stay with us at the Tower Hotel, we are delighted that yourself and the rest of your crew found our hotel to be great and that you had a great stay. We hope that if you are coming back to the city in the future that you will come back and visit us.

Angela Fitzpatrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#6 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,949 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
1.1 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel
3.8 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Derry

Property: Maldron Hotel Derry
Address: Butcher Street | The Diamond, Derry BT48 6HL, Northern Ireland (Formerly Tower Hotel Derry)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Derry
#5 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#5 Business Hotel in Derry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Derry 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern building and interior, The only hotel within Derry's historic walls - City centre, ideally located and the closest Hotel to both of the Citys Shopping Centres. Has on-site Restaurant, Function room, meeting spaces and Music Themed Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maldron Hotel Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Derry
Maldron Hotel Derry Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing