We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tower hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Derry
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Tower hotel”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

A great hotel within the walls of Derry, a very interesting city, great bridges and lots of history, BUT the powers at be need to clean up the city, compared to Ireland, very disappointing to see so much rubbish on the streets. And so it was great to get back to Tower and the wonderful staff after exploring.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of The murals
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Julie W

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Tower Hotel, it is great you found our hotel to be great with a great location for exploring our city. We are delighted you looked forward to coming back to stay with us at the Tower, we hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    615
    336
    143
    36
    13
See reviews for
205
466
36
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This hotel is very conveniently located although probably about a 3 star hotel. It is a non-smoking hotel but our room reeked of smoke. I am very allergic to smoke and they were very accommodating about moving us. They have a nice bar and quick access to the wall for a walk. This is a lovey town with lots of history and tourists are welcome.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaBlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We arrived on Friday 19th July 2013 as we hosting an event in the Millennium forum which is very convenient to the hotel. Hotel was great but air con outside bedroom window. The car park was a nightmare we could not get our vehicle out due to abandoned guest cars .Car park is on a first come first serve basis and you can't pre book a space.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarrenLennox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manistique
Level 6 Contributor
695 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We walked the wall around Derry and then wanted to eat some Irish food. We came across the restaurant/bar in the Tower Hotel. We did have to wait a bit because the bar tender was quite busy but once we got our food, it was good. We had a sampler appetizer plate and my shepherd's pie was delicious. The bar tender was very friendly and quite attentive, especially since it was busy.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MstqMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vigo
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We arrived in saturday in Derry and booked directly the room in the hotel. At the beginning it seemed that it was full but one of the recepcionist said that there was available one room. We could not find any B&B around ant it became our only option for that night. Our room had the TV on the corner on the right side respect to the bed, almost above our heads, so we had to look right and "twist" our heads to watch it. Around 05.00 a.m. a group of teenagers entered in their rooms and were doing a lot of noise, opening and closing the doors, laughing, almost one hour and nobody came to calm the floor. This is something that could be prevented when in reception saw this group come to the hotel, this is a 4 stars hotel.... So our sleep was interrupted and we could not rest since then.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HannaVigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
386 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our stay in Derry. The Tower Hotel location was perfect so that we could walk to all the sights. The room was small but comfortable and we had great views of the city. The staff was courteous and the included breakfast was satisfying. We only have one complaint and that is that the parking is a premium. We would like to visit the area again and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room high up and in the back for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shane c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear 123Shane

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us, we are delighted you had such a lovely stay. We do have a complimentary underground carpark but this is limited with first come first served. We do recommend that guests park in Bishop Street Car Park and the overnight fee is £4.50 for a full 24 hours parking, and less if you stay in the car park for a shorter time. I hope you will come back again and visit us and thank you for choosing the Tower Hotel

Angela Fitzpatrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derry city
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

had our wedding in this hotel 2 weeks ago, and cant praise it highly enough. we had 155 guests, many of whom have attentend wedding is the past, and every single one off them hadnt a bad word to say about this hotel. the staff are friendly, the management very informant and pleasant and the room is off a very good quality, at an excellent rate. if your planning a wedding, i would advise you to look no further than this hotel, the way they conducted themselves,and looked after us from the start was brillant, the dressing of the room was astounding, and the meal was amazing , everyone complemented the meal, and it was simply top class, the list is endless about the positives about this hotel and i would highly reccommend it to anyone who are considering coming to derry city!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: book one off the suite great value separate kitchen, dinner, bedroom etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piopio23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear PioPio23

Thank you for such a brilliant review, its was great to spend such a special day with you and all your close family and friends. It is great that yourself and guests found our hotel perfect for your wedding and thank you for recommending us to others. I will pass your compliments regarding food to our chef and it is great you had such a great day. We wish you a lifetime of happiness.

Angela Fitzpatrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 13 in Derry
2,048 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
592 reviews
1.1 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 13 in Derry
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
2.0 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#11 of 13 in Derry
534 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Derry

Property: Maldron Hotel Derry
Address: Butcher Street | The Diamond, Derry BT48 6HL, Northern Ireland (Formerly Tower Hotel Derry)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#5 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#5 Family Hotel in Derry
#5 Business Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Derry 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern building and interior, The only hotel within Derry's historic walls - City centre, ideally located and the closest Hotel to both of the Citys Shopping Centres. Has on-site Restaurant, Function room, meeting spaces and Music Themed Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Maldron Hotel Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Derry
Maldron Hotel Derry Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing