We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maldron Hotel Derry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Derry
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed here for a night to show my visiting friend the lovely friendly city of Derry. The hotel was very central and good value. The staff were helpful and friendly and we got a very nice 3 course meal for £15 as residents. As it was a Sunday night it was very quiet but pleasant. The only quibble I would have is that the carpet in our room hadn't been vacuumed very well.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosied80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Rosied80

Thank you so much for your lovely review of the Tower Hotel, it is great that you had a lovely time with us and that you were able to avail of our £15 meal offer in our restaurant. We hope that you will come back and visit us in the future

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    570
    304
    124
    33
    10
See reviews for
175
428
34
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
belfast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Just arrived home from an amazing weekend at the Tower hotel ,Derry.. room was beautiful .( Eleanor suit ) food was fantastic , lovely friendly staff..especially a guy called Damian in the restaurant , love fella , great craic an very knowledgeable about the area and history of Derry . A big. big thank you to Chiree the manageress for all her help in making this a truely fantastic weekend ,, many, many thanks to you all . we will definetly be back .

Room Tip: A great hotel , situated within the Derry walls , everything to hand, ( shops, bars, restaurants ) l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shaybelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Shaybelfast

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review of your stay with us at the Tower Hotel, we are delighted that you enjoyed one of our suites during your stay and we will be sure to pass your lovely comments to Damian and Chiree. We are delighted you will be back to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you to the Tower Hotel again.

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Fantastic value! We stayed for one night and the room was very spacious with a huge comfy bed. Breakfast cost extra, but you could have either continental or cooked, all buffet so you can eat as much as you want.
Fantastic location inside the city walls, lots of nice walks and close to shops and pubs!
We really enjoyed our stay here!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Jeff S

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Tower Hotel and thank you for your kind review of your stay with us. We are delighted you received fantastic value and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Love this hotel, esp the location.Stayed here 2 years in a row for Halloween night.
The rooms and overall cleanliness was excellent.The staff were very friendly and helpful, the bartenders were very friendly, and chatty.Bedtime was superb, and very comfy, But, the only downside to all this was, on Halloween night, there was no entertainment at all, NOTHING.Even last year they had a bit of a disco,and the front windows were painted esp for the occasion which, in my opinion went down well considering I was dressed as Elvis. In ending, must say that the breakfast was fantastic.Hopefully someone will take notice of this for next year

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Simon624

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Tower Hotel, we are happy that you have choosen to stay with us two years in a row for Halloween. It is great that you found all our staff to be friendly and you had a great service during your stay. In regards to entertainment for Halloween, we didnt advertise as having any entertainment as due to the number of City of Culture events that were held this year it would not have been good business sense. We are delighted you enjoyed your breakfast and we hope you will return to stay with us.

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

I was very disappointed with the fact we could not get parked on hotel premises especially with a small baby and another down fall was we could not enjoy a drink in the lobby because drunk people from the street were constantly rynning in & out to use the toliet. Other than this food was excellent, staff for lovely & rooms great.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abcdelj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Abcdelj

Thank you for your review of the Tower Hotel, we are sorry you were not able to get a parking space with us but we do advertise that the car park is on first come basis and cannot be guareenteed, we do offer alternative parking at Bishop Street Car Park which I hope you were able to avail of. We are happy that you found our food to be excellent, staff lovely and rooms great. We hope that you will come back and visit us in the future.

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed at the Tower Hotel on Saturday 26th October 2013 for one night. We had a great visit and were really suprised that such a nice hotel was willing to accomodate a hen party. We were a lively bunch and and really had a great time here. All the staff went out of their way to accomodate us and and no request was too big.
The food in the restaurant was delicious - we are a fussy bunch! Cocktails were great value too.
The rooms were spacious and comfortable and in good condition. We had 7 rooms and only one or two were a little bit tired but I reckon they are the rooms for hen parties!

Overall a great trip and I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to other visitors to Derry.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Tracy B,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Tower Hotel, we are delighted you had a great time on our Hen Party. It is great that our staff made you all welcome and you had a great stay. We hope that if any of the other girls are getting married that you will choose to come back to us.

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derry
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

I stayed in the Tower hotel in Derry last weekend as part of a choir visiting the city for the choral festival. Over the years we have stayed in many hotels in ireland but this was by far the best. The staff were friendly and well trained and nothing was too much trouble. There was attention to detail and the food was excellent. A lovely buffet style breakfast amd restaurant standard diner. Excellent value for money

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barney1000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Barney1000000,

Thank you for choosing the Tower Hotel, we are delighted we are the best hotel in Ireland that you have stayed in, this is a great compliment. Thank you for so many lovely comments and we hope that you will come back and visit us in the future

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,925 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
1.1 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel
2.8 mi away
Beech Hill Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Derry

Property: Maldron Hotel Derry
Address: Butcher Street | The Diamond, Derry BT48 6HL, Northern Ireland (Formerly Tower Hotel Derry)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Derry
#5 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#5 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#5 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Derry 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern building and interior, The only hotel within Derry's historic walls - City centre, ideally located and the closest Hotel to both of the Citys Shopping Centres. Has on-site Restaurant, Function room, meeting spaces and Music Themed Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Maldron Hotel Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Derry
Maldron Hotel Derry Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing