We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Derry
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Co. Tyrone Northern Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Where do I start????? Have just returned from Tower Hotel after booking for 2 nights B&B and one evening meal with a group of 15 people and I just couldn"t praise this hotel highly enough. Being in the restaurant business myself I understand the hard work that goes into achieving customer satisfaction but from start to finish the service that we received was second to none!!!! From making my group booking with Amanda who was more than accommadating to all our needs, to our welcome on arrival by the lovely Bronach who was so efficient on checking us all in and pointing us in the direction of all the nightlife which we thoroughly enjoyed. We had our evening meal in the hotel restaurant and the food and service were both outstanding, compliments to the chefs on duty and a big thank you to Sean who looked after us......hope we weren't too loud lol....Breakfast for those who made it to the dining room was
also lovely and having personally ordered breakfast in bed at quite a late hour my food arrived promptly and was piping hot. Top praise must go to Gareth who had the task of looking after us in the residents bar he must have the patience of a saint bless him !!! An absolutely outstanding young man who was probably glad to see our bus arriving for home lol. Think he enjoyed the craic...i know we did. I would highly recommend the Tower Hotel to anyone heading for a break in Derry city it has everything that you would hope for from its central location inside the city walls to its friendly staff, great food and high standard of cleanliness. Hope to see you all again soon x

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pancake163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Pancake163

Thank you so much for such a lovely review, we are delighted you all had such a lovely time with us. We enjoyed having you all stay with us and we will pass all your lovely comments onto our staff. We hope to see you all in the future

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    607
    330
    136
    36
    13
See reviews for
198
461
36
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The perfect location in the heart of Derry city. Derry is an amazing city with a great nightlife and very interesting history. I'd recommend the walking tour of Derry which is mainly around the walls. The free Derry museum is only minutes from the hotel and really gives you an insight into the troubles.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eamoon1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Eamonn N

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Tower Hotel and thank you for your lovely review. We hope to see you again in the future.

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

first of all it is necessary to say that this is not a luxury hotel. The rooms are badly in need of updating, but they are clean and the beds comfy. The location is excellent - right in the centre beside the walls. There is a surprisingly nice bar. We didn't eat, but the food looked fine. Breakfast was good and the manager and staff very friendly. If you are not expecting 5 star comforts, this is a fine hotel for a night or two.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear amdev

Thank you for choosing the Tower Hotel and thank you for your honest feedback, the hotel is currently going under rennovations and you may have noticed the newly decorated lobby and bar, we then have plans for the rooms to be decorated. We hope that you will come back and stay with us in the future.

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I stayed here with my wife prior to Chrismas to get some shopping done while also having a break, the hotel was excellent with all of the staff very helpful and accomodating. The rooms were large and well appointed with my only minor gripe that I was in a room overlooking a flat roof but as I was only staying for the one night that did not rally matter. Food in the restaurant was great and the selection layed on for breakfast was amazing.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buckwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Buckwine

Thank you for choosing the Tower Hotel for your Christmas Shopping break, we are delighted you had such a great time during your stay, if you ever visit us again please email me on afitzpatrick@thd.ie and I will ensure you are allocated to a room with a lovely view of the city.

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I stayed here in December 2013 with my mum and sister for the night and we had a wonderful time.

The staff were very friendly and helpful; they called us as soon as our room was ready which meant we were able to pop in and dispose of our shopping bags before heading out again.

The food in the restaurant was second to none and as a vegetarian, I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of my dish.

Rooms were very comfortable and well proportioned and the location was fantastic; close to all the shops and attractions.

We will definitely visit again in the summer when the weather is better.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Maria B

We are so happy that you and your Mother had a great time during your stay with us, it is great that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay, we look forward to welcoming you back in the summer (hopefully the sun will be out) :-) We look forward to seeing you again.

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Attended a wedding here on new years eve and deceided to book a family room for handiness...the food was lovely and the staff were very friendly..No complaints from me ...I wud definately recommend....

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colette Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Colette_1234_ 13

Thank you for your lovely review, we are so happy you had a lovely time at the wedding held here and we hope that maybe you will come back in the future for a wee break away.

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Myself and my Husband Patrick would like to Thank The Tower Hotel for their Excellent Service, that made our day so special. It was the perfect venue for our day. Its in the heart of the City and from the Hotel Rooms we had a full view of the town, surrounded by the Cities famous walls. The Hotel itself looks beautiful and it has a lovely warm welcoming feeling to it.

The staff are friendly, helpful and accommodating. Always willing to help and provided service with a smile.

The food was Excellent, and our guests have all said the same.

It really was a great pleasure to have shared our special day at The Tower Hotel. We can honestly say that we have met some lovely people, the staff made our day run smoothly, from the help and support from Catherine, Shaun, Eimear, Paul and Shauneen and all the staff.

We highly recommend The Tower Hotel, and will definitely return in the future.

Ciara Mc A xx

Room Tip: Great view of the City, excellent location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCALISTER2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear MCALISTER2013,

Firstly congratulations on your recent wedding, we are so happy that we shared your special day with you. I have passed all your lovely comments to our staff and we wish you all the happiness in the world. Wishing you many happy years together

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 13 in Derry
2,014 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
565 reviews
1.1 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 13 in Derry
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
3.8 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Derry

Property: Maldron Hotel Derry
Address: Butcher Street | The Diamond, Derry BT48 6HL, Northern Ireland (Formerly Tower Hotel Derry)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Derry
#5 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#5 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#5 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Derry 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern building and interior, The only hotel within Derry's historic walls - City centre, ideally located and the closest Hotel to both of the Citys Shopping Centres. Has on-site Restaurant, Function room, meeting spaces and Music Themed Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maldron Hotel Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Derry
Maldron Hotel Derry Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing