We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never disappoint”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Derry
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Derry
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never disappoint”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Myself and my husband have stayed at the Tower on several occasions and our experience was excellent every time. The food is beautiful, the hotel is immaculate and the staff are 2nd to none. For me it is probably 1 of the best hotels I have stayed at and certainly out rates many 5* hotels I have stayed at before. Will definitely be back again :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nodrin81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Nodrin81,

Thank you for your lovely review and for continuing to choose to stay at the Tower Hotel, we really appreciate your repeat custom and are so happy you had a great stay with us. We really appreciate your review and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    594
    323
    131
    36
    12
See reviews for
187
455
35
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2014

my self and a group of 24 visited this great city again and stayed in the tower hotel, from the minute you arrive through the doors the staff are very friendly they make you feel welcome before you even have time to put your bags down,i think the girl behind the reception desk was kadie thank you for all your help also to Amanda Doherty who took the bookings the rooms are massive they are very,very clean and the beds are excellent for sleep after a hard day taken in the sights also thanks to the kitchen staff who make a wonderfull breakfast I honestsly cant see why people can find faults with this hotel we wouldn't as a party stay anywere else thank you. colin glasgow

Room Tip: ask for the 4th floor over looking the city great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Colin P,

Thank you firstly for choosing the Tower Hotel and secondly for such a lovely review. I will pass your lovely compliments to our staff and we are delighted with your compliments We look forward to welcoming you back to your "home from home" :-)

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

My wife and I visited last week on 'The winter warmer' offer. The inclusive menu for this offer was limited, and the portions were small. I didn't think it was 4 star quality. The bed was very uncomfortable and the pillows of a very poor standard leading to a very poor sleep. We had breakfast delivered to the room, the bacon was practically burnt and the mushrooms looked like they were cooked 2 days ago. On a positive note, location is good & the staff were very friendly. The hotel was very clean and we had a lovely view from our 4th floor room. Having said that I believe I would'nt stay again unless the above complaints were corrected.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Anthony D

Thank you firstly for choosing to stay with us at the Tower Hotel, we are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us and I have contacted you regarding these issues but have not heard back from you. These issues you have mentioned are not our standards and I would really like to speak with you about these as we have new mattresses in the hotel and also have great compliments about our breakfasts so I would really like to talk about your experience to see what went wrong during your stay and how we can rectify this. You can contact me direct on afitzpatrick@thd.ie, I look forward to hearing from you

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2014

My family and I had a great weekend at the Tower hotel. The welcome was big, the rooms excellent and the food and service was really up there. We enjoyed the sightseeing and the Derry air!The Hotel was very accessible, as my mother has some mobility problems we were very glad that she could move around.
C Martin

Room Tip: The suites are good value and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Christina M

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at the Tower Hotel, we are delighted you had such a great stay with us, we hope to welcome you back in the future and thank you again

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2014

My mother, brothers, sisters and partners had a fantastic weekend at the Tower. The staff were very friendly on helpful. The Restaurant was superb and very reasonably priced. The rooms were very clean and modern. We were recommended by the Hotel staff to do a city walls tour - again fantastic, well worthwhile - a must if visiting Derry. B.Loughran and family 2014

Room Tip: The rooms on the back of the hotel are a bit quieter although the view is better from the side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Brendan L

Thank you for choosing the Tower Hotel, it is great you had such a lovely time on your family break with us. Thank you for all your lovely compliments, we hope you welcome you all back in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2014

On 5th Jan 2014 I celebrated my birthday with family and friends @ The Tower Hotel. Our food was fabulous and the service from their staff was brillant! You won't be disappointed with the food nor service so I'd recommend you pop in for a bite to eat or even a wee drink!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michellemello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Michellemello,

Firstly Happy 30th Birthday, we are delighted you had such a special day with us. Thank you for your lovely compliments regarding our staff and service.

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co. Tyrone Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Where do I start????? Have just returned from Tower Hotel after booking for 2 nights B&B and one evening meal with a group of 15 people and I just couldn"t praise this hotel highly enough. Being in the restaurant business myself I understand the hard work that goes into achieving customer satisfaction but from start to finish the service that we received was second to none!!!! From making my group booking with Amanda who was more than accommadating to all our needs, to our welcome on arrival by the lovely Bronach who was so efficient on checking us all in and pointing us in the direction of all the nightlife which we thoroughly enjoyed. We had our evening meal in the hotel restaurant and the food and service were both outstanding, compliments to the chefs on duty and a big thank you to Sean who looked after us......hope we weren't too loud lol....Breakfast for those who made it to the dining room was
also lovely and having personally ordered breakfast in bed at quite a late hour my food arrived promptly and was piping hot. Top praise must go to Gareth who had the task of looking after us in the residents bar he must have the patience of a saint bless him !!! An absolutely outstanding young man who was probably glad to see our bus arriving for home lol. Think he enjoyed the craic...i know we did. I would highly recommend the Tower Hotel to anyone heading for a break in Derry city it has everything that you would hope for from its central location inside the city walls to its friendly staff, great food and high standard of cleanliness. Hope to see you all again soon x

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pancake163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Pancake163

Thank you so much for such a lovely review, we are delighted you all had such a lovely time with us. We enjoyed having you all stay with us and we will pass all your lovely comments onto our staff. We hope to see you all in the future

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 12 in Derry
1,994 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 12 in Derry
539 reviews
1.1 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 12 in Derry
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
3.8 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Derry

Property: Maldron Hotel Derry
Address: Butcher Street | The Diamond, Derry BT48 6HL, Northern Ireland (Formerly Tower Hotel Derry)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Derry
#5 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#5 Family Hotel in Derry
#5 Luxury Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Derry 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern building and interior, The only hotel within Derry's historic walls - City centre, ideally located and the closest Hotel to both of the Citys Shopping Centres. Has on-site Restaurant, Function room, meeting spaces and Music Themed Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Maldron Hotel Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Derry
Maldron Hotel Derry Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing