We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Derry
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Derry
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here under the couples winter warmer special, great value at £89 for dinner bed and breakfast and bottle of wine.
We stayed in the Eleanor Suite which offered great views of the city and the walls.
We really enjoyed our stay as it's in an ideal location.
Natalie in the restaurant made our stay very enjoyable and also Angela the guest relations manager, special thanks go out to her for going the extra mile to make our stay excellent!
Will deffo be back and would recommend this hotel. The food was very nice, in both dinner and breakfast. We slept well as the room was very quiet.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jomca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Boo l

Thank you so much for your lovely review and we are so pleased that you could not fault anything during your stay, this is a great compliment and we really appreciate your feedback. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    594
    323
    131
    36
    12
See reviews for
187
455
35
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My Boyfriend and i just had an amazing weekend at the Tower Hotel wee stayed Friday and Saturday night i have to thank the staff for making are stay the best ever,especially the housemaid Danielle who was so very helpful nothing was a bother for her very efficient and polite young lady obviously well trained in her department, are room was warm and very very clean,but the added touches the beautiful swans at the bottom of our bed with the paper individual shamrocks on the pillows and the tails of the swans was very touching a lot of thought went into it. Restaurant staff where amazing all so friendly and helpful the food was amazing.and the band in the bar was excellent brass impact the bar was buzzing bar staff where fantastic happy and friendly great great stay. we are surly coming back. THANKS TO ALL.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siobhan367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Siobhan367

Thank you so much for such a positive review of your recent stay with us, Danielle is so pleased with your lovely comments and we are delighted you had a great time. We are so happy you enjoyed Brass Impacts performance in our bar and that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcome you back to the Tower Hotel

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely time in this hotel lovely rooms very friendly staff and great location could not fault anything about our stay. Arrived on the sat room was done up with rose petals and champagne for valentines and chocolate strawberries

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank boo l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Boo l

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at the Tower Hotel, we are delighted that you had such a lovely stay and enjoyd the extra touches at Valentines. We hope that you will come back and stay with us in the future.

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in the hotel and were happy with the room which was well presented and clean. Staff very helpful, especially in the restaurant. Young girl who served us on Thursday 13th evening was lovely. Wish we could remember her name to give personal feedback. The only thing that we feel needs improved is the breakfast. We felt the cooked food was too greasy. Would be good if a lower fat cooked option could be offered. Other than that can't fault the hotel and will be back. Thanks

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank PinkPyjamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear PinkPyjamas

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Tower Hotel, we are so delighted that you had a lovely time with us and thank you for your feedback on breakfast I will be sure to pass these suggestions to our Head Chef. We hope that you will come back and stay with us in the future

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Arrived at the hotel for one night stay with a friend.
Car park is tiny, so I am glad that we arrived early and were able to get a space. We checked in smoothly and went to our room. Lovely clean room, doesn't have much taste in terms of the décor- very plain, but modern, clean and good quality so cant complain there.
We went to the bar for a few drinks during our stay, it was lively and busy. We also had dinner in the hotel as part of our stay which was beautiful and great service also. The hotel has a great location, a two minute walk to the shopping centre, through the walls of derry to all the bars and yet still nice and quiet at night for a good sleep. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamemia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Jamemia

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are delighted you had such a great time and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naas, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights as part of a large group booking - we have been speaking to the reservation staff for several months to ensure that we have all the correct rooms etc. and the reservation staff were great. We all arrived around 2:00 am on the Friday night and the two night porters JJ and I cannot remember the other chaps name were really wonderful and accommodating, opened the car park, got all the cars in etc. They then commenced the check in process- my husband, our two children and myself were the 1st to check in and there appeared to be some initial confusion as to payment - as they had no room rate on the envelopes with the card keys. We offered there and then to pay for our room - but as there was no rate available we agreed to do it in the morning. No problem. So we went to bed. Fully intending to settle our bill in the morning - the day before we were due to check-out! We all went to sleep and about 40 minutes later I received a call from another group member saying that we needed to come down and pay our bill that the duty manger Sean [--]was demanding that we pay the total bill which was close to £3000 immediately on 1 card or no one else was going to get a bed. THIS WAS NEVER AGREED AS PART OF THE BOOKING PROCESS. My husband got dressed and met a farcical sight in reception where Sean [--]was refusing to allow people to check in until the full bill was paid!! People in their PJ's standing in reception at 3:00 in the morning paying their bill. We liaised with this hotel for months, we were staying for two nights!!! Its not like we were going to run away!!
Sean [--]actually suggested that the lady that managed our booking apologise to everyone as it was her fault...
I will NEVER stay in this hotel again. We go to Derry every year as part of a theatre group that perform in the local theatre festival there is approx. 30 people in our group and I am the director of the play. NEVER AGAIN. Sean [--] is to be avoided - to be clear the only reason this hotel is getting two stars is because of JJ, the other night porter, and the pancake machine for breakfast, if they weren't there it would get no stars!! and finally our beds were never made and our towels never replace for the 2 days....EXCEPTIONALLY AWFUL HOSPITALITY

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the front of the hotel - very noisy and hot and windows don't open very much
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lurdug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Lurdug

We have investigated each of the issues that were raised by you and your group following you stay with us last weekend. I have discussed each of them with Siobhan who made the booking with us and we believe the appropriate action has been taken to ensure that these issues do not arise again. It appears that miscommunication on a number of levels was the main cause which unfortunately impacted negatively on your experience at our hotel. We always welcome constructive criticism and feedback as it continuously helps us improve our service.

We understand that you have received a personal apology from Sean and we hope that you can accept this.

We very much enjoyed having your group stay with us and would hope that you would consider the Tower Hotel if visiting Derry in the future. We would like to wish you well on the drama festival circuit and hope that those of your group that came back to stay with us at the weeknd had a great time.

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymena
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on their shoppers special weekend which was very reasonable.
The hotel was right in the centre of the city by the walls, dinner was delicious, rooms simple but nice and staff very helpful.
Our deal was great value and included shopping voucher, dinner and 2 cheeky cocktails. My only criticism was that breakfast time during peek times was very disorganised with lengthy waits on both mornings. It's no surprise that most guests want to wait till late to breakfast so better planning for this would improve it for guests and the staff who were run off their feet.
Still a nice hotel in a good location and def worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skerdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Skerdan

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Tower Hotel, it is great you found our shopping break offer to be great value. We apologise for the long wait at breakfast as sometimes with high occupancy all guests decide to come at one time but thank you for your feedback and I will discuss this with our Operations Manager on ways this can be improved. We hope that you will come back and stay with us in the future

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 12 in Derry
1,994 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 12 in Derry
539 reviews
1.1 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 12 in Derry
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
3.8 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Derry

Property: Maldron Hotel Derry
Address: Butcher Street | The Diamond, Derry BT48 6HL, Northern Ireland (Formerly Tower Hotel Derry)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#5 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#5 Family Hotel in Derry
#5 Business Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Derry 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern building and interior, The only hotel within Derry's historic walls - City centre, ideally located and the closest Hotel to both of the Citys Shopping Centres. Has on-site Restaurant, Function room, meeting spaces and Music Themed Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Maldron Hotel Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Derry
Maldron Hotel Derry Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing