We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean, central, value for money.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Derry
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed for two nights. From the time that we made the booking to the time that we left the hotel we were made to feel special. Chiree on reception was a gem, always smiling and very friendly and helpful. We had room service for our breakfast both days and it was excellent. The hotel was spotlessly clean. Our room was large and comfortable and had a lovely view. We will definitely book here the next time we stay in Derry and would recommend it to all our friends.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizMcGrorty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear LizMcGroty

Thank you firstly for choosing to stay with us at the Tower Hotel and thank you for such a lovely review. Chiree is delighted with your lovely comments and we hope to welcome you back to the Tower Hotel in the future

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

779 - 785 of 1,182 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

We (a group of 14) spent a weekend, for the 5th time! at the Tower Hotel, and it's the same standard EVERY time we are there ... EXCELLENT!! The staff are so friendly, from when you first meet the guys on reception, to the bar staff, breakfast and restaurant, staff, and doormen and night porters - nothing is too much trouble for them!

The food in the bar and restaurant is excellent, and very reasonably priced, and as for the breakfast ... it HAS to be the best in the city!!

The Lyrics Bar is a great live music venue, with a very relaxed atmosphere, and with the location being right in the centre of the city, walking distance from all the things you'd want to see, it's the perfect location for a visit to Derry, Londonderry.

I see there's been some really negative reviews for this hotel recently ... well, that's definitely a one off experience ... because for the last 5 years I've been taking a group to the Tower, and from the first year it's been nothing but SUPERB!

Don't hesitate to book this hotel for your stay in Derry, I can highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Make a point of doing one of the tours around the walls of the city, they're very informative, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Robert S

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel, we always enjoy welcoming you and your group back to stay with us and we are so delighted your stay is always so great, We have passed all your lovely comments to our staff who are delighted and we look forward to welcoming you all back in May

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

If you need a good hotel in the heart of Derry this is it!
It is scrubbed clean, well serviced and near everything needed in town. One local told me everything is just a 10 minute walk. The restaurant has a complete breakfast with the freshest of fruit. Evening meals are equally delicious. If you go to the bar attached be prepared with earplugs in case you want your ears to not vibrate for hours afterward.
Front desk staff vary in friendliness from non-responsive to effusive.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the peace bridge. It's lovely day and night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Kathryn V

Thank you so much for choosing the Tower Hotel as your place to sta when you visited Derry recently, we are delighted you found so many good points about our hotel. We appreciate your honest feedback and if you should ever visit the city again we hope that you will come and stay with us.

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I've stayed at the Tower about ten times in the last year. They have always been the most friendly, accommodating and relaxed of hosts. Without exception, the staff members will make you feel like you've arrived home. Plus there's the added bonus of Nelly who serves you breakfast. She is charm personified. A great hotel for a great city.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neil c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Neil C

Thank you for always choosing to stay with us at the Tower Hotel, we are so appreciative and it is great having you stay with us at your "home from home". I will pass your kind words to Nelly who I am sure will be very pleased. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here under the couples winter warmer special, great value at £89 for dinner bed and breakfast and bottle of wine.
We stayed in the Eleanor Suite which offered great views of the city and the walls.
We really enjoyed our stay as it's in an ideal location.
Natalie in the restaurant made our stay very enjoyable and also Angela the guest relations manager, special thanks go out to her for going the extra mile to make our stay excellent!
Will deffo be back and would recommend this hotel. The food was very nice, in both dinner and breakfast. We slept well as the room was very quiet.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jomca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Boo l

Thank you so much for your lovely review and we are so pleased that you could not fault anything during your stay, this is a great compliment and we really appreciate your feedback. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My Boyfriend and i just had an amazing weekend at the Tower Hotel wee stayed Friday and Saturday night i have to thank the staff for making are stay the best ever,especially the housemaid Danielle who was so very helpful nothing was a bother for her very efficient and polite young lady obviously well trained in her department, are room was warm and very very clean,but the added touches the beautiful swans at the bottom of our bed with the paper individual shamrocks on the pillows and the tails of the swans was very touching a lot of thought went into it. Restaurant staff where amazing all so friendly and helpful the food was amazing.and the band in the bar was excellent brass impact the bar was buzzing bar staff where fantastic happy and friendly great great stay. we are surly coming back. THANKS TO ALL.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siobhan367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Siobhan367

Thank you so much for such a positive review of your recent stay with us, Danielle is so pleased with your lovely comments and we are delighted you had a great time. We are so happy you enjoyed Brass Impacts performance in our bar and that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcome you back to the Tower Hotel

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely time in this hotel lovely rooms very friendly staff and great location could not fault anything about our stay. Arrived on the sat room was done up with rose petals and champagne for valentines and chocolate strawberries

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank boo l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Boo l

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at the Tower Hotel, we are delighted that you had such a lovely stay and enjoyd the extra touches at Valentines. We hope that you will come back and stay with us in the future.

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,079 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
642 reviews
1.1 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 13 in Derry
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Shipquay Boutique Hotel
1.3 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Derry

Address: Butcher Street | The Diamond, Derry BT48 6HL, Northern Ireland (Formerly Tower Hotel Derry)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Derry
#5 Family Hotel in Derry
#5 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#5 Romantic Hotel in Derry
Price Range: £54 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Derry 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern building and interior, The only hotel within Derry's historic walls - City centre, ideally located and the closest Hotel to both of the Citys Shopping Centres. Has on-site Restaurant, Function room, meeting spaces and Music Themed Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Maldron Hotel Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Derry
Maldron Hotel Derry Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing