We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a pleasant experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Derry
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide Hills, Australia
Level Contributor
211 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Not a pleasant experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

We checked in on spec as we needed a room for two nights but apart from being central it has little to offer in the way of relaxation. Lots of minor issues added up to a hotel claiming to be 4 star not reaching the mark. Lots of noise at night, music playing all night in the room opposite and a Hens Party booking in on our second night! Heating stopped but was fixed, no light around mirror in bathroom and poor extractor fan which I don't think worked anyway. Staff were OK but nothing exceptional, a smile never goes astray. The paying punter judges on what they experience and our could have been a lot better. I guess the final straw was chewing gum on the window ledge and a cigarette butt wedged in the opening window. So much for no smoking rooms! Breakfast was average so overall not recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank peterfloyd54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    315
    127
    35
    11
See reviews for
183
439
35
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

I feel it my duty to commend the excellent service we received during our midweek break.From the day we arrived to the day we departed the staff were ever so helpful. I would strongly recommend this hotel and also will try to make my way back in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lurgan, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

I organised my sisters hen party and 28 of stayed in the Tower Hotel at end March 2014 which was excellent and would recommend to anyone who is planning a girls night out as the package is fantastic value.

The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful as they made the hen party a success with the amount of e-mails i sent before hand and during our stay at the hotel.

The food was beautiful and rooms are spotless.

I will def be back again to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathyod2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

My husband and l stayed last Monday on the Winter Warmer One Night Bed and Breakfast Deal. This included a 2 Course Evening Meal plus a bottle of wine. The hotel is situated within the city walls and is convenient to shops, restaurants and tourist attractions. We found the staff very welcoming and pleasant. The rooms are spacious and very warm and the bed so comfortable. The evening meal was enjoyable and the breakfast the following morning was really nice. My husband had the full Irish and l opted for Eggs Benedict. Both were very tasty and served by a very friendly woman with a lovely smile on her face. l would highly recommend this hotel and will look forward to a return visit in the not so distant future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debs08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

myself and 6 other relatives spent 2 nights here. the hotel was well situated very convenient to an array of shops restaurants and pubs. The food in the hotel was excellent. the staff were all amazingly friendly helpful and professional without exception. The hotel was spotlessly clean and very well maintained. only negatives were that free wi fi was not available in the rooms although we were assured by staff that the issue is currently being addressed. Also would be great to have access to a pool. We had booked well in advance and expressed the need for 4 rooms in total, unfortunately none of these were near each other; Although we didn't specially request this, it would've enhanced our stay if our rooms had been closer together. I would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it to anyone. thank you to all the staff for a brilliant weekend.
Margaret McCabe

Room Tip: it can be a bit noisy on lower floors when the pubs get out
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed here last weekend and I found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. Food was excellent. Unfortunately I had a problem with my car and the staff went out of their way to ensure I got it sorted. Fabulous location too for anybody looking to visit Derry.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

spent a weekend at the tower hotel with my mum and sisters, which we got a great package breakfast both mornings dinner on our chosen night and x2 free cocktails per person, which were yummy... had a great time was there last year also with my partner and we enjoyed it also it suits any kind of weekend no matter who your with.. the staff have to be the nicest that i have met at any hotel. defo recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Derry close to everything, will defo be back so get booking people :))

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#6 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,949 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
1.1 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel
3.8 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Derry

Property: Maldron Hotel Derry
Address: Butcher Street | The Diamond, Derry BT48 6HL, Northern Ireland (Formerly Tower Hotel Derry)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#5 Business Hotel in Derry
#5 Family Hotel in Derry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Derry 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern building and interior, The only hotel within Derry's historic walls - City centre, ideally located and the closest Hotel to both of the Citys Shopping Centres. Has on-site Restaurant, Function room, meeting spaces and Music Themed Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maldron Hotel Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Derry
Maldron Hotel Derry Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing