We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maldron Hotel Derry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maldron Hotel Derry
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
antrim
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Fantastic hotel went for a hen night and nothing was too much trouble for staff even bringing tea at 3am . Great location food was lovely will deff stay again. If your wanting a great hen or stag night they have some great offers deff value for money

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lesley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowerHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Lesley M

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Tower Hotel, we are delighted the Hen Party was a great success. Thanks for recommending us and we hope that you will come back and visit again

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    305
    125
    33
    10
See reviews for
176
430
34
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We have stayed at the Tower a few times now. We have always been welcomed by friendly accommodating staff. The room was very clean as the hotel is on a whole. We good roomservice after a night out which we found to be very reasonable and efficient. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DRCASSIDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowerHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear DRCASSIDY

Thank you for coming back and staying with us several times, we really appreciate you as a valued customer and are delighted you always have a great time when staying with us. Thank you for highly recommending us and we hope to see you again soon.

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

we were staying there for a concert in millennium forum,great location and wonderful hotel especially the staff, are a credit to them the barman really new his stuff , and sold me on the smoky whiskey, which I would never thought of trying. thanks

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loelou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowerHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Loelou,

Thank you for choosing the Tower Hotel we are delighted you had a great time and our Barman upselling you the whiskey is a great touch and glad you enjoyed this. We hope that you will come back and visit us again

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide Hills, Australia
Level Contributor
211 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

We checked in on spec as we needed a room for two nights but apart from being central it has little to offer in the way of relaxation. Lots of minor issues added up to a hotel claiming to be 4 star not reaching the mark. Lots of noise at night, music playing all night in the room opposite and a Hens Party booking in on our second night! Heating stopped but was fixed, no light around mirror in bathroom and poor extractor fan which I don't think worked anyway. Staff were OK but nothing exceptional, a smile never goes astray. The paying punter judges on what they experience and our could have been a lot better. I guess the final straw was chewing gum on the window ledge and a cigarette butt wedged in the opening window. So much for no smoking rooms! Breakfast was average so overall not recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank peterfloyd54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

I feel it my duty to commend the excellent service we received during our midweek break.From the day we arrived to the day we departed the staff were ever so helpful. I would strongly recommend this hotel and also will try to make my way back in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lurgan, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

I organised my sisters hen party and 28 of stayed in the Tower Hotel at end March 2014 which was excellent and would recommend to anyone who is planning a girls night out as the package is fantastic value.

The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful as they made the hen party a success with the amount of e-mails i sent before hand and during our stay at the hotel.

The food was beautiful and rooms are spotless.

I will def be back again to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathyod2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

My husband and l stayed last Monday on the Winter Warmer One Night Bed and Breakfast Deal. This included a 2 Course Evening Meal plus a bottle of wine. The hotel is situated within the city walls and is convenient to shops, restaurants and tourist attractions. We found the staff very welcoming and pleasant. The rooms are spacious and very warm and the bed so comfortable. The evening meal was enjoyable and the breakfast the following morning was really nice. My husband had the full Irish and l opted for Eggs Benedict. Both were very tasty and served by a very friendly woman with a lovely smile on her face. l would highly recommend this hotel and will look forward to a return visit in the not so distant future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debs08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
1.1 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel
2.8 mi away
Beech Hill Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Derry

Property: Maldron Hotel Derry
Address: Butcher Street | The Diamond, Derry BT48 6HL, Northern Ireland (Formerly Tower Hotel Derry)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Derry
#5 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#5 Family Hotel in Derry
#5 Romantic Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Derry 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern building and interior, The only hotel within Derry's historic walls - City centre, ideally located and the closest Hotel to both of the Citys Shopping Centres. Has on-site Restaurant, Function room, meeting spaces and Music Themed Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Maldron Hotel Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Derry
Maldron Hotel Derry Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing