We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“staff not very pleasant!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maldron Hotel Derry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Derry
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“staff not very pleasant!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed here at the weekend, overall our rooms were lovely but disatified with u service at our evening meal. Our meal was included in our stay but if we wanted a steak dinner we would have had to pay an extra £5.00 and that only consists of a small steak 2onion rings half a tomato and peppered sauce, if we wanted chips or veg we had to pay extra for that aswell, when we complained about having to pay for it the waitress replied suit yourself! When we arrived at the hotel we were talked down to like children about not making nose at night time which we respected but other guests in the hotel we running up and down the halls all night and fighting and screaming, and the reception a private 30th and 50th party the guests took into each other and started fighting, the security men handled it very well! Breakfast was very good no complaints but some of the staff were very unprofessional!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank morna r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    570
    304
    124
    33
    10
See reviews for
175
428
34
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Absolutely loved our stay. As a mum of 3, myself and husband-to-be never get a chance to get away child- free. Relaxing, cozy environment, top class food and great service. Planning on another break soon

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurag8914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

When booking online I had stated it was our anniversary .... On arrival at check in we were greeted with ' Happy Anniversary ' which was really appreciated. We went to our room and there was a bottle of champagne and petals on the bed with towels sculptured as swans ... such a lovely touch. A great hotel , excellent staff , great location and secure parking under ground. Really recommend this hotel , we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helena l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

The highlight in a weekend break , to Derry is staying in the wonderful Tower Hotel.
What makes it such a pleasant experience is it's excellent location , facilities and comfort. The staff are very personable & friendly. We stayed over st Patrick's weekend and especially enjoyed the banter and craic from Stephen our barman
I could not recommend this hotel highly enough

William McMahon
Belfast

Room Tip: ask for a room over looking the city walls
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed for one night in October 2013. The hotel rooms are a bit dated and very basic but the staff are very friendly and the parking is so convenient. Location wise, everywhere can be reached on foot. A perfect stop over for a city break.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieM03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowerHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear MarieM03

Thank you for choosing the Tower Hotel, we really appreicate your feedback and we are happy that you found our parking, location and staff to be good. We hope that you will come back and stay with us in the future.

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Best location! So convenient to get to anywhere. Close to shops, restaurants, places of interests, pubs and supermarkets.

Friendly and helpful staff. Parking in the hotel is convenient and safe.Lifts take you from parking to rooms.

Room Tip: We took a room for three, so cosy and room was so spacious . Enough space for three suitcases. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margie961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowerHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Margie961

Thank you for choosing the Tower Hotel and for your lovely review. We really appreicate your feedback and are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you will come back and stay with us again in the future

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Just had 5 very comfortable days,very clean hotel,couldnt fault the service, very friendly helpful staff,lovely room would stay again.
Only gripe is i think wifi should be free or a bit cheaper but certainly wouldnt put me off staying again :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martinaodette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowerHotelDerry, Public Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Martinaodette

Thank you firstly for choosing to stay with us at the Tower Hotel, we are delighted you had a great 5 days with us. Thank you for your lovely feedback and we hope to welcome you back again

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,925 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
1.1 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel
2.8 mi away
Beech Hill Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Derry

Property: Maldron Hotel Derry
Address: Butcher Street | The Diamond, Derry BT48 6HL, Northern Ireland (Formerly Tower Hotel Derry)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Derry
#5 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#5 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#5 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Derry 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern building and interior, The only hotel within Derry's historic walls - City centre, ideally located and the closest Hotel to both of the Citys Shopping Centres. Has on-site Restaurant, Function room, meeting spaces and Music Themed Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Maldron Hotel Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Derry
Maldron Hotel Derry Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing