We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly hotel in a fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Derry
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The hotel was very welcoming with friendly staff. A very clean room and excellent buffet breakfast - if you book this the night before it is cheaper than on the day. The only small point is the car park is very tight and doesn't have room for many cars but there are plenty of public car parks in the area. Walking distance to everywhere within the town.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carrymat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotelDerry, Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear Valued Guest ,
Thank you for your fantastic five star review on TripAdvisor.
I am delighted that you fully enjoyed your stay . Our entire team pride themselves on their customer service and I am delighted that you experienced this first hand.
We do hope we can welcome you back again soon ,
Warm Regards,
Linda Folan,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

764 - 770 of 1,203 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

The location of this hotel is excellent being right next to the town centre. However, try to avoid getting a room on the outside of the building, particularly one overlooking the front entrance on Butcher Street. For quite a modest sized place, Derry on a Friday night and Saturday morning is a party town, and Butcher Street one of its main thoroughfares! Otherwise the rooms are fine, nothing special, but perfectly adequate. Like many modern hotels with flat screen TVs, these are screwed on the bedroom wall opposite the beds. OK for watching, but if you're next door, and your neighbours won't turn their TV off, you can't avoid hearing their programme.

The hotel has a small car park, so arrive early or you'll be in a nearby multi storey.

We ate in the hotel bar on one night, as the main restaurant had a large party booked in. The food like the rest of the hotel was OK but not great, although to be fair it wasn't expensive. The food in the nearby Wetherspoon was better and cheaper, although the ambiance on a Friday night was perhaps not best suited to two old codgers! In short the Tower is fine for a one night stand, but I wouldn't recommend it for too long.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotelDerry, Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear Valued Guest,
I appreciate you taking the time to post your review.
On behalf of the entire team , I would like to sincerely apologise that you found us lacking on this occasion , I can assure you it was not our intention to disappoint .
Since you last stayed , We have now re branded to Maldron Hotel and undergone a refurbishment .
We do hope you will consider giving us an opportunity to restore your faith in us ,
Warm Regards,
Linda Folan,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last night with my friend, the 2 of us enjoyed our stay and would of stayed longer if we could! Lovely hotel and staff dinner in the hotel was fantastic, Complements to the chef!! Its very central, close to the shops and bars,we will be back

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Claremagee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotelDerry, Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear Valued Guest ,
Thank you for your fantastic five star review on TripAdvisor.
I am delighted that you fully enjoyed your stay . Our entire team pride themselves on their customer service and I am delighted that you experienced this first hand.
We do hope we can welcome you back again soon ,
Warm Regards,
Linda Folan,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Basic room but it was comfortable with a table and 2 chairs. Large bath tub. Wifi was 10£ per day and there was no computer in the lobby to check emails. Go to Foyleside Mall food court to get wifi as MacDonald's Wifi did not work. Weatherspoon's which was just across the street had free wifi but my password was not long enough. Weatherspoon's had inexpensive hot breakfasts and dinner specials. Location of the hotel was fantastic, the only hotel inside Derry's walls. Consider a day trip with Michael Cooper who will provide a car with a tour guide driver to take you on a day trip anywhere you wish, stopping as long as you want. We went to Donegal and Sleeve League for fantastic scenery!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the building for a street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NiagaraQuilter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotelDerry, Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear Valued Guest ,
Thank you for your fantastic review on TripAdvisor.
I am delighted that you fully enjoyed your stay . Our entire team pride themselves on their customer service and I am delighted that you experienced this first hand.
Since your last stay , we have had a refurbishment and we are now re branded to the Maldron Hotel.
We do hope we can welcome you back again soon ,
Warm Regards,
Linda Folan,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We liked the hotel. Location good just inside the city walls. We were able to park in the secure car park. Room nice. We were particularly pleased with being able to check out and then leave our baggage whilst we explorde the town. The downside was the charge for Wi-Fi. We spent 10 days north and south of the border in several hotels and were never asked to pay elsewhere. As a result we went across the road to Wetherspoons and spent money there which we would otherwise have spent in the hotel bar and restaurant,

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank djpend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotelDerry, Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear Valued Guest ,
Thank you for your fantastic review on TripAdvisor.
I am delighted that you fully enjoyed your stay . Our entire team pride themselves on their customer service and I am delighted that you experienced this first hand.
Since your last stay , we have had a refurbishment and we are now re branded to the Maldron Hotel.
We do hope we can welcome you back again soon ,
Warm Regards,
Linda Folan,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Brilliant Hotel, very friendly and helpful staff. Also our room was lovely and the food was faultless.Would like to go back again in the future. With the hotel being in the city centre it was surrounded with great bars, clubs and shopping facilities. All and all great stay at the Tower.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowerHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Liz W

Thank you for choosing the Tower Hotel and thank you for your lovely positive review about your recent stay. We hope that you will come back and visit us in the near future

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We had a perfect day here for a first holy communion , the food was delicious and the staff really lovely.
Nothing was to much trouble.
Well done tower hotel Derry would defiantly recommend this hotel to other people.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debsthewinehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowerHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Debsthewinehead,

Thank you for choosing the Tower Hotel as the perfect venue for a recent First Communion celebration. We are delighted that you wrote such a lovely review about our staff and food and we are so happy that you would recommend us to others.

Kindest Regards

Angela Fitzpatrick
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#2 of 13 in Derry
696 reviews
1.1 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#4 of 13 in Derry
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
0.1 mi away
Shipquay Boutique Hotel
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Derry

Address: Butcher Street | The Diamond, Derry BT48 6HL, Northern Ireland (Formerly Tower Hotel Derry)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Derry
#5 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#5 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#5 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range: £50 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Derry 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern building and interior, The only hotel within Derry's historic walls - City centre, ideally located and the closest Hotel to both of the Citys Shopping Centres. Has on-site Restaurant, Function room, meeting spaces and Music Themed Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Maldron Hotel Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Derry
Maldron Hotel Derry Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing