We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Derry
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Reviewed 27 March 2011

I stayed at this hotel again recently whilst visiting Derry, again the rooms were fine, clean and quiet. Had a slight problem with a leak in the roof in bathroom and wasnt advised but the matter was dealt with very well by Geraldine the GM.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank metroinnsmanager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2011

Hi Metroinsmanager,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay with us recently. When you would like to book with us again please let us know on our e-mail address derry@travelodge.ie and we will ensure you have a pleasant stay with us again.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

386 - 392 of 499 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2011

My friends and I had 2 rooms for 2 nights rooms were very clean as were bathrooms in both rooms staff were friendly and helpful rooms do need to be updated , but apart from that we were all very pleased great base and we got rooms at a great price we did think hard about booking after reading other reviews on trip advisor would not hesitate in booking again great for shopping and night life

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grannypenny77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2011

Good Morning Grannypenny 77,
Thank you for taking time to provide such positive feedback.
We look forard to welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards,
Travelodge Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

This place gets mixed reviews, but our experience was positive. Yes, the rooms are outdated and have seen better times (stains in carpet, tv fixed with tape, ancient bathroom, window didn't completely close), but you can hardly expect a four star experience for 45 pounds per room. We just needed a place to sleep and we got just that: a firm bed in a quiet and spacious room with a clean bathroom. The girl at reception was most helpful and had excellent advise on restaurants and bars. There's a car park next to the hotel (80 p an hour) and free parking across the road (unattended).

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HaagseBluf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2011

Good morning HaagseBluf,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your stay with us at the Travelodge in Derry.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our property some time in the near future!!

Regards

Travelodge Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Dnt see why this place got such bad reviews its in a good location rooms were huge and clean and at a good price I would go back again.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaymakers12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2011

Good afternoon Holidaymaker12,
Thank you for your positive feedback we look forward to welcoming you again.
Regards,
Travelodge Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

On checking in the toilet was covered in excrement and the sink was full of cracks. Check.ed out immediately, complained and i am still waiting on the manager to ring me. Never again

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richardcarmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2011

Dear Mr Carmichael,
Thank you for your feedback.
I wish to inform you that you refursihment works are underway to upgrade our Travelodge in Derry.
I hope that should you return to Derry again we can have the Chance to show you our upgraded property.
Regards,
Travelodge Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2010

I stayed at the Travelodge recently whilst visiting home. The last time i was here i left early due to the appalling treatment i received from the nightstaff whilst visiting Derry for my uncles funeral.

I decided to give them another opportunity, and i have to say that my experience was pleasant, the room was big and spaciouys, beds clean the bathroom was a bit grubby but other than that it served its purpose, The only complaint is the cost of WIFI most hotels offer it free but it is very expensive at this hotel, Would i return again i think i probably will.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank metroinnsmanager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2010

Hi Metrosinsmanager,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.
I'm pleased to show you a different side to our propery the second time as we expect to have the same standard every time you stay with us here in the Travelodge in Derry
We will also in the new year be upgrading our bathrooms.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2010

My group stayed at travelodge derry for 3 night. Great location rite in the city centre. great helpful staff with 24 hours reception. Hotel rooms were big and clean but up grade works were under way in some areas. bathrooms could be upgraded but was great value for money.
would return with future parties.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swankydoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2010

Hi Swanydoll,

Thanks for your feedback regarding our Travelodge in Derry.
We are in the process of upgrading our bathrooms in the hotel you will be glad to here and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.1 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
1.8 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#11 of 13 in Derry
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
1.4 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#4 of 13 in Derry
1,308 reviews
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Derry

Address: 22-24 Strand Road, Derry BT48 7AB, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Price Range: £49 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Derry 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Derry Travelodge hotel is centrally located in the heart of the Maiden City. Our hotel is situated on Strand Road which is popular for nightlife, restaurants, shopping and minutes walk from Derry City’s many attractions. Travelodge Derry hotel has a rich and varied cultural heritage and the City Walls are home to a number of museums, galleries and theatres, as well as thriving musical and literary scenes. Step back in time and relive the city’s past on an inner-city guided walking, bus or taxi tour, where you’ll discover a wealth of history. Please Note: Possible noise due to City Centre location. Please contact the hotel directly for car parking options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Derry Hotel Derry
Travel Lodge Derry
Derry Travelodge
Derry Travel Lodge
Travelodge Derry Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing