We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a dump!”
Review of Travelodge Derry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Derry
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“what a dump!”
Reviewed 22 May 2011

I booked in here for 2 reasons; my DK guide recommended it and I thought it would be convenient to enter hotel from attached multi-storey parking lot.

I parked and then asked for a room etc. The first room I saw was not very clean and the sink was badly cracked.
the second room I saw was dirty with hair in the bathtub.
when I returned to the desk others were complaining that there was no toilet paper or the toilet was dirty from last victim. Eventually the front desk lady ( who was nice and helpful) offered me one of the 4 " new" rooms so I said OK and dragged my cases in. However on closer inspection the room had not been vacuued ( for some time I think) with half a jigsaw puzzle on the floor near the bed, crumbs and other unappetizing debris on carpet.
I decided to leave whatever and they did kindly refund me my room cost.
However... they don't own the attached parking lot which was locked from 6.30 pm sunday to 7.30 am Monday... so My car was trapped. NO way out. NO emergency number to call .
By then I was so depressed that I just left the car there to pay tomorrow and took a taxi to another hotel!. The location was good but otherwise this place was a real failure.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarawelder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, 28 May 2011
Dear Miss Welder,
Thank you for taking time to review Travelodge Derry. Having read your review I am disappointed that your visit was not as it should have been and for this I deeply apologise.
I would like to speak with you about your visit if you would contact me either by email on derry@travelodge.ie or phone on 02871271271.
We are working hard to ensure everyone enjoys there visit here and would hope that they would recommend us to others and I would like to make this right with you to show you the true reflection of our hotel here in Derry.

I look forward to hearing from you soon.
Kind regards,
Travelodge Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    85
    107
    84
    107
See reviews for
75
165
32
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2011

I stayed at this hotel again recently whilst visiting Derry, again the rooms were fine, clean and quiet. Had a slight problem with a leak in the roof in bathroom and wasnt advised but the matter was dealt with very well by Geraldine the GM.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank metroinnsmanager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, 6 April 2011
Hi Metroinsmanager,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay with us recently. When you would like to book with us again please let us know on our e-mail address derry@travelodge.ie and we will ensure you have a pleasant stay with us again.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
co.antrim
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2011

My friends and I had 2 rooms for 2 nights rooms were very clean as were bathrooms in both rooms staff were friendly and helpful rooms do need to be updated , but apart from that we were all very pleased great base and we got rooms at a great price we did think hard about booking after reading other reviews on trip advisor would not hesitate in booking again great for shopping and night life

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grannypenny77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, 19 March 2011
Good Morning Grannypenny 77,
Thank you for taking time to provide such positive feedback.
We look forard to welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards,
Travelodge Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, ze Nedderlands
Level Contributor
169 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

This place gets mixed reviews, but our experience was positive. Yes, the rooms are outdated and have seen better times (stains in carpet, tv fixed with tape, ancient bathroom, window didn't completely close), but you can hardly expect a four star experience for 45 pounds per room. We just needed a place to sleep and we got just that: a firm bed in a quiet and spacious room with a clean bathroom. The girl at reception was most helpful and had excellent advise on restaurants and bars. There's a car park next to the hotel (80 p an hour) and free parking across the road (unattended).

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HaagseBluf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, 2 March 2011
Good morning HaagseBluf,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your stay with us at the Travelodge in Derry.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our property some time in the near future!!

Regards

Travelodge Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Dnt see why this place got such bad reviews its in a good location rooms were huge and clean and at a good price I would go back again.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaymakers12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, 5 January 2011
Good afternoon Holidaymaker12,
Thank you for your positive feedback we look forward to welcoming you again.
Regards,
Travelodge Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2011

On checking in the toilet was covered in excrement and the sink was full of cracks. Check.ed out immediately, complained and i am still waiting on the manager to ring me. Never again

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richardcarmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, 24 January 2011
Dear Mr Carmichael,
Thank you for your feedback.
I wish to inform you that you refursihment works are underway to upgrade our Travelodge in Derry.
I hope that should you return to Derry again we can have the Chance to show you our upgraded property.
Regards,
Travelodge Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Derry hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2010

I stayed at the Travelodge recently whilst visiting home. The last time i was here i left early due to the appalling treatment i received from the nightstaff whilst visiting Derry for my uncles funeral.

I decided to give them another opportunity, and i have to say that my experience was pleasant, the room was big and spaciouys, beds clean the bathroom was a bit grubby but other than that it served its purpose, The only complaint is the cost of WIFI most hotels offer it free but it is very expensive at this hotel, Would i return again i think i probably will.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank metroinnsmanager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, 10 December 2010
Hi Metrosinsmanager,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.
I'm pleased to show you a different side to our propery the second time as we expect to have the same standard every time you stay with us here in the Travelodge in Derry
We will also in the new year be upgrading our bathrooms.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.1 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#6 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,963 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Derry / Londonderry Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Derry

Property: Travelodge Derry
Address: 22-24 Strand Road, Derry BT48 7AB, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Derry 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Derry Travelodge hotel is centrally located in the heart of the Maiden City. Our hotel is situated on Strand Road which is popular for nightlife, restaurants, shopping and minutes walk from Derry City’s many attractions. Travelodge Derry hotel has a rich and varied cultural heritage and the City Walls are home to a number of museums, galleries and theatres, as well as thriving musical and literary scenes. Step back in time and relive the city’s past on an inner-city guided walking, bus or taxi tour, where you’ll discover a wealth of history. Please Note: Possible noise due to City Centre location. Please contact the hotel directly for car parking options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Derry Hotel Derry
Travel Lodge Derry
Derry Travelodge
Derry Travel Lodge
Travelodge Derry Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing