We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place-Middle of Derry”
Review of Travelodge Derry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Derry
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Derry
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Place-Middle of Derry”
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Stayed a few nights in Derry. Had the opportunity of visiting a few local pubs, and take the black taxi tour.

I was totally impressed and the staff very helpful. It was nice to walk around the town and take in a few good restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachgirl2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, 28 July 2011
Dear Beach Girl2301

Thank you for your recent review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel. We are thankful for your comment on our staff as we pride ourselves on our good customer service and I will pass you comments on to the staff on duty. Don't forget to visit our website for our latest deals.

Kind Regards
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    87
    117
    93
    112
See reviews for
81
174
34
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Hard to find but in plain sight on strand ave. Near old walled city, the river, history of "the troubles" . Good value. Helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patriciawolffmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, 23 July 2011
Good Morning Patricia,

Many thanks for your recent review for the Travelodge, We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again.
Remember out best rates are always on travelodge.ie

Kind Regards,
Travelodge Derry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Have actually stayed here a number of time over the past 6 months, however cleanliness standards and staff attitudes have got progressively worse and I will not be back. Toilet hadn't been flushed, stains on carpets, broken TV (which we reported, the guy on the reception desk couldn't have cared less and nothing was done to help fix it). Paid for early check in (12pm) and were greeted with a very rude 'You do realise we only check in from 3 o'clock don't you?".
Just an all round unpleasant experience to be honest with you.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathyflannery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, 8 July 2011
Dera Cathy,

Thank You for taking time to review our property. Were sorry that your stay with us wasn’t as good as the last time you stayed with us. Our rooms are all undergoing renovations at the minute to make them more modern and up-to-date. Staff update training is also underway to improve our costumer service here at the hotel.

We hope to be able to show you a different and better side to our property in the near future!

Regards
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Derry hotels

Pine Grove, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

The travelodge in the heart of the city was extremely difficult to find. After navigating four roundabouts multiple times, we found the Quayside parking garage next to the travelodge. To park for the night, it cost us $78 which was horrifying. We had to leave the parking lot, take an elevator through a shopping mall with our luggage, walk outside and to the travelodge next door. The room was barebones as expected. What was not expected was the amount of street noise. Being a Friday night with pubs in every direction, the amount of loud crowds was disturbing. During the middle of the night someone was banging on the travelodge door and shouting. I didn't sleep easy that night and was glad to leave in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lms15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, 8 July 2011
Dear Ims15,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel on your recent visit to Derry. We are sorry that your stay with us wasn’t as good as it should have been. As we are a small building in the centre of the city we are unable to have our own parking facilities but we do offer 2 options 1 being the multi story which is quite expensive but is a secure parking option and you can access the hotel through the car park on level 3 the 2nd option is a free 1 straight across the street from the hotel. We are in the process of redecorating our rooms but unfortunately we have no control over the street noise at the weekend if you had progressed your concerns to reception about the noise we would have tried our best to accommodate you to a quieter room.

We hope we could show you a different side to our property on your next visit to Derry!

Regards
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

I booked this hotel as we had another couple with us who had never been to Londonderry before. As the stay was for one night I thought what the hell it is cheap.
When we arrived there was no one on reception to attended to us, eventually when we got to our rooms the door was propped open with a vacum cleaner. The bathroom was filthy with hairs blocking the bath drain and the wash hand basin was full of cracks.
Later when we wnt to bed the springs in the mattress on my side were sticking into my back so I had to move to the single bed.
On checkout I filled a complaint form which the receptionist stated that he would bring it to the attention of the manager who would be in touch with us, that was last Friday 24th, I am still waiting.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Budgie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Dear Budgie 49,
Thank you for taking time to review Travelodge Derry. I'm deeply sorry your stay was not as it should have been on your recent visit. It appears that you had been checked into rooms that were in the process of being serviced which is not typical of our guest checkin. I believe that our manager will be in contact it's just she has been on her days leave.
Should you wish to return to the maiden city again please contact us on derry@travelodge.ie were we will ensure your every need is met.
Regards,
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Stayed at this hotel couple of years ago, can't believe how bad its got!
No one on reception when we arrived so had to wait 20 mins.to get our key.
Got a 'sort of' apoliogy lady seemed more interested in where the person was, who should have been on duty! I told her I was not happy and this was not good, her reply was I have given you a quite room and you should take in the Derry Walls !!
The bed was clean however the room looked a bit grubby and the bathroom had a cracked basin and bath.
At 3am we where woken up by a group of drunken people in the room across the hall, this went on for about hour.
This is not the best spot for rest and relaxation noisey bars just across the road and next door. I will never stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TWOTOGOWigston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Good afternoon Twotogowigston,

Thank-you for taking time to forward feed back following your recent stay at Travelodge Derry. It is with regret that your stay was not as it should have been even though we are working hard to upgrade our property. Having spoken to the receptionist on duty it appears she was absent from the desk while helping another guest for a short time and for this we deeply apologise for any inconvenince caused on your arrival.

We would hope to show you a different side to our property on your next visit to Derry.

Regards
Travelodge Derry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

The travelodge is very central and cheap that is about all i can say that is good about it. Place is very old and dated. Bathroom sinks cracked, bath dirty, shower curtain horrible.
windows dont open due to cages outside windows means room gets v. stuffy but cant even let air in. Sheets, carpets etc had stains. Not v clean wouldnt recommend stayin here.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leannemcelroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, 21 June 2011
Dear Leanne McElroy,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us at the Travelodge in Derry.

-We are in the process of updating the bathrooms in the Tavelodge.

-In regards to the windows with the cage at the side of them. Im sorry but this is out of the Hotels hands due the other business next to the Hotel making sure we had these put in.

-Im very shocked at this and surprised you did not report this to reception when you had noticed dirty sheets ect!!

Thanks again for your comments

Travelodge Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.1 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 13 in Derry
2,048 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 13 in Derry
1,251 reviews
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
1.1 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Derry

Property: Travelodge Derry
Address: 22-24 Strand Road, Derry BT48 7AB, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Derry 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Derry Travelodge hotel is centrally located in the heart of the Maiden City. Our hotel is situated on Strand Road which is popular for nightlife, restaurants, shopping and minutes walk from Derry City’s many attractions. Travelodge Derry hotel has a rich and varied cultural heritage and the City Walls are home to a number of museums, galleries and theatres, as well as thriving musical and literary scenes. Step back in time and relive the city’s past on an inner-city guided walking, bus or taxi tour, where you’ll discover a wealth of history. Please Note: Possible noise due to City Centre location. Please contact the hotel directly for car parking options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Derry Hotel Derry
Travel Lodge Derry
Derry Travelodge
Derry Travel Lodge
Travelodge Derry Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing