We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for Overnight Stay”
Review of Travelodge Derry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Derry
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Stayed here overnight as visiting relatives in Derry. Fine for quick stopover and got a good rate but to be honest glad we didn't pay more. Had no issues with noise as had quiet room but found room rather dated as other reviewers have mentioned. Location still very good and Lloyds bar handy for cheap snack!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Dear Damian O,

Many thanks for your recent review of the Travelodge in Derry.

We are Delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and will look forward to you staying with us again!

Kind Regards

Team Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 499 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2012

Great Location in the center of Derry. Friendly Staff. Clean rooms. Parking for 50p an hour across the road. Breakfast for £2.99 in the Lyods Bar down stairs could not ask for more from them at there prices. Excellent if your going our in Derry and just need a bed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryanmcgeady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Dear ryanmcgeady,

Thank you for your recent review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel. Here at the Travelodge we pride ourselves on our good customer service and I will pass your comments on to the staff on duty. Don't forget to visit our website for our latest deals.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We had a very positive experience while staying for two nights in this travelodge.We were given a room to the rear of the building and found it clean, spacious and quiet. The staff were extremely helpful and the location was excellent for local restaurants and sightseeing.

Room Tip: Request a room to the rear of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sightseeing_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Good Afternoon Sightseeing_12,

Thank you for taking time to forward such positive feedback we are really glad you enjoyed you recent stay with us and had the chance to take in some of the events within the city.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon !

Kindest Regards,

Travelodge Mangement team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

First the good thing: The hotel is very close to the center of Derry. Which means around ten minutes to walk. But the hotel needs very urgent a complete renovation. We had a double room on the top floor. Everything of the furnishment was very old and used. Also the bathroom was not very comfortable nad clean. Out second night was very noisy, because our neighbours were young people the had a party. If you visit Derry, look for a B&B which are also close to the towncenter.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swissbear07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Good Morning Swissbear07,

We appreciate you taking time to review our hotel,

Were sorry your stay wasn’t as it should have been and for that we apologise.

Our Hotel is current in the process of refurbishments to make it more up-to-date and modern.

We hope to show you a different side to our hotel if you choose to visit Derry again

Regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Nice staff aren't a big enough reason to stay at this establishment. Location may be great but noise pollution is a real issue here. Noise from night club late at night, bottle bank in the morning and rooms are in dire need of refurbishment. It does not compare favourably with other travelodges that we've stayed in.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank ThrottletotheBottle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Good Morning Throttletothebottle,

We appricate you taking time to review our hotel, Were sorry your stay wasn’t as it should have been and for that we appoligise.
All of our rooms are now undergoing referbishment to make our hotel more up-to-date and modern. We do take unboard all comments given but as for the Street noise this is out of our control due to us being a CIty Centre Location. We hope to show you a different side
to our hotel if you choose to visit Derry again

Regards

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I stayed in the hotel last Sat night and I have to say everything was fine, room spacious, clean etc, after returning from a night out and looking forward to getting some sleep, we were kept awake til around 4am with the guests in the room above, so much so that they were jumping about that much the light shade on our ceiling came off and landed on top of us in the bed, after they eventually stopped jumping about and shouting we got to sleep only to be wakened again at 7am, we told reception in case they thought we broke the light, and they apologised. Derry is a beautiful city, this is the first time ive been and would love to return, but because of the reasons outlined above we won't be returning to the travelodge.

Room Tip: maybe a room at the back of the hotel would be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martina414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Dear
Further to your review for the Travelodge Hotel. We appreciate your feedback and comments.
It is with our deepest regret that due to another guest in the Hotel that your stay with us was not of a standard we try to maintain here at Travelodge and for this I apologise.
We do sircerely hope that you would choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Derry so we can you show you the true side to our property. To do this please e-mail us here at derry@travelodge.ie and we can make a booking here for you and make sure that your next stay here with us is a more pleasant one.

Travelodge Management


Regards?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

This hotel is not cheap to stay in and therefore should be of a better standard. The hotel is on top of a bar that plays loud music and has smokers outside it until 4am which makes it impossible to sleep. It is also along a main road which makes it even worse. The rooms have furniture from the 70's and the shower is a trickle in a bath with a shower curtian. There is very old carpet on the floor and little or no ventilation...open the windows for loud noise!! This hotel needs an updated quickly to the standard of its sister hotels. Still the traditional keys for the doors which are gigantic.Hotel reception are fine, they have a difficult job in this very dated hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GenuineJudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, General Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Dear Genuine Judge,

Thank you for taking time to forward your feedback after your recent stay with us at Travelodge Derry. It appears that your stay wasn't as enjoyable as you had hoped.

Travelodge is ideally located in the City Centre and as a result we will from time to time have possible noise pollution from the main street below but this isn't normally an issue for us and I am sorry on your trip it was for you and your party.

Travelodge is currenlty undergoing refurbishments and this has not yet filtered through into all our bedrooms but this is a work in progress, which I hope you will see on your next visit to the Maiden city.

Kind regards,

Travelodge Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.1 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
1.8 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#11 of 13 in Derry
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
1.4 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#4 of 13 in Derry
1,308 reviews
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Derry

Address: 22-24 Strand Road, Derry BT48 7AB, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Price Range: £48 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Derry 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Derry Travelodge hotel is centrally located in the heart of the Maiden City. Our hotel is situated on Strand Road which is popular for nightlife, restaurants, shopping and minutes walk from Derry City’s many attractions. Travelodge Derry hotel has a rich and varied cultural heritage and the City Walls are home to a number of museums, galleries and theatres, as well as thriving musical and literary scenes. Step back in time and relive the city’s past on an inner-city guided walking, bus or taxi tour, where you’ll discover a wealth of history. Please Note: Possible noise due to City Centre location. Please contact the hotel directly for car parking options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Travelodge Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Derry Hotel Derry
Travel Lodge Derry
Derry Travelodge
Derry Travel Lodge
Travelodge Derry Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing