We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travelodge”
Review of Travelodge Derry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Derry
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Derry
Killyleagh, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Travelodge”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Great location, slightly noisy at night as on the main street but this is bearable. Had a lovely stay. So convenient to everywhere. Breakfast wasnt included in the price of the room but we just popped next door to the Ice Wharf. Service was great, staff where lovely

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Receptionist at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Good afternoon,

Thank you so much for taking time to forward feedback after your recent visit.

We greatly appreciate your positive feedback and will pass all your comments onto our team here in Travelodge Derry.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    87
    109
    86
    107
See reviews for
75
167
32
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Radlett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I have stayed in loads of Travelodges, but this was the worst hotel ever. We paid £80 a night without breakfast for a Double Room. It was filthy and smelly. The wood was hanging off the walls, when you sat in both beds you hit your head off the light fitting on the wall. My daughter couldn't turn on the shower as it was so old and stiff. The bathroom floor was tiled and the dirt between the tiles was disgusting. My Daughter was dancing in a competition the morning after we arrived so she went to bed at 9.30pm. The noise from downstairs (the hotel is over a bar) and from across the road was unbelievable. We did not get to sleep until gone 1am in the morning when the music stopped. We did phone down to the reception but they said they could not do anything. My Advice is to give this one a miss.

Room Tip: Another person in my group stayed at the back of the hotel and they said they could hear the noise f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria0663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Maria0663,


Thank you for your review and please accept my apologies for the issues you experienced. I would be delighted to discuss your compalint further should you wish to do so by emailing the hotel at derry@travelodge.ie.

Kind regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Derry hotels

Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I have stayed in many Travelodges and this is certainly one of the grimmest. Dingy slightly smelly room with an attractive view of a kitchen and fag butts. My daughter's bed broke in the middle of the night so she slept on the floor. When I brought it to the attention of the staff in the morning, there wasn't even an apology certainly no mention of a discount.
The room was noisy but that is not the fault of the hotel, unfortunately other guests are frequently inconsiderate.
Very tired accommodation but good location for Derry city.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lex O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Lex O,

Further to your review for the Travelodge Hotel, I appreciate your feedback and comments.

I am upset to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. With regard to the fault with your daughter's bed, we would have certainly made every effort to organize a room move for you had you informed us of the problem. We wouold never expect a guest to sleep on the floor. Also, due to our prime location in the heart of the city, we have little to no control over outside noise on the street, but again I apologize for the disruption to your sleep.

I hope that you would choose to stay with us if you are ever in Derry again and we could show you a better side to our hotel. If you would like to discuss this further feel free to contact us at derry@travelodge.ie

Kind regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel is well sited and that's why we booked it but.
As soon as I saw it, I realised that it was in need of a lot of work. Externally it is in poor condition. Internally it is tired, shabby, smells and in need of extensive refurbishment.
The rooms are big but drab and unclean.
The staff on the other hand were pleasant and helpful. I'm sure they would love to work in a better place. A message to Travelodge. Don't loose that hotel it's in a great spot. Spend some money on it - no short cuts. Good look.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Bob B,

We appricate you taking time to review our hotel, Were sorry your stay wasn’t as it should have been and for that we apologise. We make every effort to take on board our customer's comments and will certainly give weight to your remarks.
All of our rooms are now undergoing referbishment to make our hotel more up-to-date and modern. We hope to show you a different side to our hotel if you choose to visit Derry again.

Kind Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, West Midlands
Level Contributor
75 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Very good location just outside city walls - so a short walk to the Centre. One road back from the river. NO parking at this hotel we managed to park in a "free" side street.
Only stayed for one night on our trip around
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Rooms and hotel in general was very well loved and dated
Located above a bar so ....................................

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chessykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear chessykat,

Thank you so much for your positive feed back in relation to our hotel. We greatly value feedback and appreciate you taking time to post this review and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I am over in Derry working and the City Hotel round the corner was fully booked last night so for the one night this week I went to Travelodge. After looking it up on TripAdvisor I was pretty much dreading staying here. However I was in Room 306 which was a massive room, was cold when I went in but the heating worked great. The bed was comfy and despite facing Strand Road it was quite quiet with the window shut. The only gripe I had was the bathroom was a bit shabby and there were a few leftover hairs in the bath, nothing a clean couldnt sort out.
Overall considering this is a budget hotel I thought that this was OK. In severe need of updating, the tortoise shell effect is pretty horrible!

Room Tip: Room 306 is a huge room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear gersmad44,

Thankyou for your review for our hotel, Were delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

We do take unboard all comments given and will most definitely pass on the comments you mentioned to our housekeeping staff as a matter of urgency. We are also in the process of redecorating and modernizing our hotel which will ultimately bring it in line with the standards you expect.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portmagee, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed one night and that was enough. The room smelled stale and the furnishings looked like 1970's college dorm room style, complete with tattered stained wood. There were no glasses in the bathroom and the tub had someone's hair in the bottom of it. The room I got was over the bar and was very loud and noisy. I will say the bed was clean. This is not the place to stay if you want to get an early start. The car park doesn't open to get your car out until at least 7:30, however you do get a bit of a break on overnight charges if you stay at the hotel. I did not eat breakfast there...looked pretty scanty when I walked through the dining room to get to my car. The staff tried to help me as best they could. The only place close after dark when i got there was the bar, with good Guiness, but the chicken and potatoes appeared to have been sitting around for sometime. You have to go out in the street to access it. Not the place for single older travelers.
el

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hkaufman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Hkaufman,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Please accept my apologies for the issues that you have experienced. I wish you had expressed these issues to us at the front desk so we could have helped you out in the best way possible.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.1 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 12 in Derry
1,992 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 12 in Derry
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
1.4 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 12 in Derry
1,231 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 12 in Derry
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Derry

Property: Travelodge Derry
Address: 22-24 Strand Road, Derry BT48 7AB, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Derry 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Derry Travelodge hotel is centrally located in the heart of the Maiden City. Our hotel is situated on Strand Road which is popular for nightlife, restaurants, shopping and minutes walk from Derry City’s many attractions. Travelodge Derry hotel has a rich and varied cultural heritage and the City Walls are home to a number of museums, galleries and theatres, as well as thriving musical and literary scenes. Step back in time and relive the city’s past on an inner-city guided walking, bus or taxi tour, where you’ll discover a wealth of history. Please Note: Possible noise due to City Centre location. Please contact the hotel directly for car parking options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Derry Hotel Derry
Travel Lodge Derry
Derry Travelodge
Derry Travel Lodge
Travelodge Derry Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing