We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“travel lodge derry”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Travelodge Derry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Derry
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“travel lodge derry”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

you get what you pay for car parking is a issue try to get in market carpark outside city hotel if u can £5 for.24 hrs. idealy situated for city walls and tower museum. foyle river and peace bridge+ plenty off bars close by

.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank brian f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear brian f

Thank-you for your feedback in relation to your stay at the Travelodge Derry/Londonderry. We greatly value feedback and appreciate you taking the time to post this reveiw and look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Kind regards

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    85
    105
    84
    105
See reviews for
74
164
32
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballyclare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This Travelodge is well kept. Always clean and tidy. It is also very handy for walking into Derry. I enjoyed my stay here. I would have liked breakfast a little later but 10am is fine. The staff were very helpful and friendly

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Andrew T,

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your stay at the Travelodge Derry.

We greatly value feedback and appreciate you taking time to post this review and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kinds regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Booked this looking for a place to stay near to the action for a one night stay in Derry. Location was good, places to eat and park nearby. First room we were allocated stunk of cigarette smoke - hotel was responsive and moved us to another room. Room was clean, save for the carpets which looked like they hadn't had a decent clean in months. Fit out was 80s era including cracked porcelain sink in bathroom. An ok place to crash, but not somewhere to savour!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Andmish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Derry hotels

Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

This hotel was fine. Things looked clean and the room was sufficient. However, it is located OVER a nightclub so just be warned that you may hear dance music if you stay on a weekend night. The actual location seemed pretty good as it was easy to get over to the Peace Bridge and old wall for our walking tour.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzB0203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear SuzBO203,

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your stay at the Travelodge Derry. We greatly value feedback and appreciate you taking time to post this review and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kinds regards.

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

A great location, near to pubs, clubs, restaurants, bars, even a supermarket - all walking distance.

The outside looks quite modern. The reception even and the breakfast room look fine.

Reception staff were lovely, very welcoming and friendly and helpful with directions, advice etc. Very nice to walk into.

But, oh dear me the rooms. The corridors don't help the doom and gloom with their delayed action automatic lighting. You feel you are walking into a dungeon. The room (304) was huge, a corner one, but also a huge disappointment. The bathroom, shower/bath and sink we stained and dirty. The sink cracked. The shower curtain horrid, the shower old and tired. The toilet bowl was clean, but the flimsy seat felt and looked like it needed a good thorough clean. I didn't like to touch it if I'm honest.

The room furniture was old and somewhat damaged and the curtains and nets were dirty and the runners damaged.

The hotel if this room is anything to go by needs a lot of TLC and a real makeover.

Derry is a city in revival, the city of culture 2013 and this hotel should reflect that.

As it stands, would I stay again? Possibly, as its so well located, but I'd inspect the room and ask if there was any better next time. If the answer were to be no, then I'd never stop there again.

Needs to really get its act together and invest to compete. If a Premier Inn locates down by the Ford dealer/Sainsburys where there's lots going on, they'll wipe the floor with you, so beware.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Martyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Martyn M,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are disappointed that we were unable to meet your expectations during your recent stay. We do however appreciate your comments and I have passed this to the management team for further discussion.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
356 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

In a busy part of the Strand Road. Nowhere to pull in to drop off or pick up passengers. Rooms on the front are very noisy because of traffic and people leaving bars and restaurants.

Weird and confusing internal layout, with part floors on different levels. We were led to our room by a hotel employee and had to drag cases up several short flights of stairs. Why couldn't we use the elevators? Never did discover.

Only one person on the desk, who was friendly, but couldn't offer much service. Free internet in lobby, but you have to pay for it by the day in the bedroom. "Continental" breakfast is extra. The rooms are comfortable, and a decent size, but I wouldn't stay there again unless I had no choice.

Don't let this odd hotel put you off. Derry is a great city and well worth the visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the Strand Road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Margarget F,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are disappointed that we were unable to meet your expectations during your recent stay. We do however appreciate your comments and I have passed this to the management team for further discussion.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, Dorset
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

When we checked in we were given a room that was having some repairs done to it so we immediately had to change rooms, so that wasn't a great start. However, from then on I didn't think this was too bad. As other people have said, you get what you pay for...and considering what we paid it was pretty good really. The room was clean, had everything we needed. I mean we came to see Derry, not hang around in the hotel all day, so this really was a place to sleep and clean and that was it. Its not in a bad location either really, plenty of pubs and places to eat up the road.

It could do with a bit of updating in the entrance/lobby area. Free wifi in the lobby but you have to pay for it in the rooms. I've had bigger and better bathrooms in hostels in other parts of Ireland. We had free breakfast which had loads of fruit and pastries, etc. I really though this wasn't too bad...and after staying in rooms with 6-8 other people for the rest of my stay in Ireland, it was quite nice just being a triple room.

This place really depends what you are after, if you just want a place to sleep...I think this hotel would suffice...if you are looking for a luxury stay or do plan on spending more time around the hotel, this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haddz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Receptionist at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Haddz ,

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your stay at the Travelodge Derry.

We greatly value feedback and appreciate you taking time to post this review and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kinds regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.1 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#6 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Derry / Londonderry Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Derry

Property: Travelodge Derry
Address: 22-24 Strand Road, Derry BT48 7AB, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Derry 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Derry Travelodge hotel is centrally located in the heart of the Maiden City. Our hotel is situated on Strand Road which is popular for nightlife, restaurants, shopping and minutes walk from Derry City’s many attractions. Travelodge Derry hotel has a rich and varied cultural heritage and the City Walls are home to a number of museums, galleries and theatres, as well as thriving musical and literary scenes. Step back in time and relive the city’s past on an inner-city guided walking, bus or taxi tour, where you’ll discover a wealth of history. Please Note: Possible noise due to City Centre location. Please contact the hotel directly for car parking options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Derry Hotel Derry
Travel Lodge Derry
Derry Travelodge
Derry Travel Lodge
Travelodge Derry Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing