We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay”
Review of Travelodge Derry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Derry
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Derry
South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good stay”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Although finding the property driving in a strange city was a challenge I would recommend Travelodge as accommodation venue as it passed all requirements. Little outside noise from exhaust fan annoying.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Receptionist at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Trevor M,
Many thanks for taking time to review our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We will look forward to welcoming you back again, if you are ever back in the lovely Derry City.
Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    86
    108
    85
    107
See reviews for
75
166
32
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We decided to stay here because was the last minute option of 70£ a night.I must say that the rooms are just depressing,but here the worst: I couldn't turn off the heating on a summer hot night and even I reported it to the reception a couple of times, they just totally ignore me so I even couldn't sleep properly. Also the bed was terrible. Toilets are even worse. Area is really loud noisy both inside and out.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bunny2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Bunny2203,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are disappointed that we were unable to meet your expectations during your recent stay. We do however appreciate your comments and I have passed this to the management team for further discussion.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Derry hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

you get what you pay for car parking is a issue try to get in market carpark outside city hotel if u can £5 for.24 hrs. idealy situated for city walls and tower museum. foyle river and peace bridge+ plenty off bars close by

.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank brian f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear brian f

Thank-you for your feedback in relation to your stay at the Travelodge Derry/Londonderry. We greatly value feedback and appreciate you taking the time to post this reveiw and look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Kind regards

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballyclare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This Travelodge is well kept. Always clean and tidy. It is also very handy for walking into Derry. I enjoyed my stay here. I would have liked breakfast a little later but 10am is fine. The staff were very helpful and friendly

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Andrew T,

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your stay at the Travelodge Derry.

We greatly value feedback and appreciate you taking time to post this review and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kinds regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Booked this looking for a place to stay near to the action for a one night stay in Derry. Location was good, places to eat and park nearby. First room we were allocated stunk of cigarette smoke - hotel was responsive and moved us to another room. Room was clean, save for the carpets which looked like they hadn't had a decent clean in months. Fit out was 80s era including cracked porcelain sink in bathroom. An ok place to crash, but not somewhere to savour!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Andmish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This hotel was fine. Things looked clean and the room was sufficient. However, it is located OVER a nightclub so just be warned that you may hear dance music if you stay on a weekend night. The actual location seemed pretty good as it was easy to get over to the Peace Bridge and old wall for our walking tour.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzB0203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear SuzBO203,

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your stay at the Travelodge Derry. We greatly value feedback and appreciate you taking time to post this review and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kinds regards.

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

A great location, near to pubs, clubs, restaurants, bars, even a supermarket - all walking distance.

The outside looks quite modern. The reception even and the breakfast room look fine.

Reception staff were lovely, very welcoming and friendly and helpful with directions, advice etc. Very nice to walk into.

But, oh dear me the rooms. The corridors don't help the doom and gloom with their delayed action automatic lighting. You feel you are walking into a dungeon. The room (304) was huge, a corner one, but also a huge disappointment. The bathroom, shower/bath and sink we stained and dirty. The sink cracked. The shower curtain horrid, the shower old and tired. The toilet bowl was clean, but the flimsy seat felt and looked like it needed a good thorough clean. I didn't like to touch it if I'm honest.

The room furniture was old and somewhat damaged and the curtains and nets were dirty and the runners damaged.

The hotel if this room is anything to go by needs a lot of TLC and a real makeover.

Derry is a city in revival, the city of culture 2013 and this hotel should reflect that.

As it stands, would I stay again? Possibly, as its so well located, but I'd inspect the room and ask if there was any better next time. If the answer were to be no, then I'd never stop there again.

Needs to really get its act together and invest to compete. If a Premier Inn locates down by the Ford dealer/Sainsburys where there's lots going on, they'll wipe the floor with you, so beware.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Martyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Martyn M,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are disappointed that we were unable to meet your expectations during your recent stay. We do however appreciate your comments and I have passed this to the management team for further discussion.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.1 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#6 of 12 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Derry / Londonderry Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 12 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 12 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Derry

Property: Travelodge Derry
Address: 22-24 Strand Road, Derry BT48 7AB, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Derry 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Derry Travelodge hotel is centrally located in the heart of the Maiden City. Our hotel is situated on Strand Road which is popular for nightlife, restaurants, shopping and minutes walk from Derry City’s many attractions. Travelodge Derry hotel has a rich and varied cultural heritage and the City Walls are home to a number of museums, galleries and theatres, as well as thriving musical and literary scenes. Step back in time and relive the city’s past on an inner-city guided walking, bus or taxi tour, where you’ll discover a wealth of history. Please Note: Possible noise due to City Centre location. Please contact the hotel directly for car parking options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Derry Hotel Derry
Travel Lodge Derry
Derry Travelodge
Derry Travel Lodge
Travelodge Derry Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing