We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful Staff”
Review of Travelodge Derry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Derry
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Helpful Staff”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

I contacted Travelodge prior to my stay to express concern after reading some negative reviews. I was assured by staff member Stephen that our room would be of a high standard and this was the case. Although the entrance and stairs are not of the highest standard, we considered the hotel to be excellent value for money and situated in a very good location for shops and the Millennium Forum.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Maire957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Maire,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay, and we're very pleased with the positive feedback you have given. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    87
    117
    93
    112
See reviews for
81
174
34
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Worth it considering the Money you pay.The Only thing is that they don't have a Bar or restaurant inside the hotel but there is one just underneath the hotel.It is in the city centre so everything you'll need is very close by !Though a bit Noisy during weekends..

Room Tip: Don't know but maybe If you book a room not overlooking the entrance it might be a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear
Many thanks for taking time to review our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you had another enjoyable stay with us. We will look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Kindest Regards

Dear David C,

Thank you so much for your feed back in relation to your stay with Travelodge Derry.We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back again in the future.
We greatly value feedback and appreciate you taking time to post this review. Thank you once again for your input.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stayed in Derry before at a lovely b+b but unfortunately it was booked and couldn't get the disabled room, so had to do with second best, or worst in my case, dreadful place to find, smelly reception, room was OK just, No parking for disabled even though they sell rooms for disabled folks, WI;FI a rip off at a £5-00 up front, when normally you get it free,for a half hour, would never stay there again,???

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Alan,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We deeply regret that our standards did not meet your expectations in this case. We very much appreciate your comments about your recent stay, and these will also be passed to management for further consideration.

Kind Regards,
The Management team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Derry hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Hotel is run down. Carpets are dirty and the room was smelly. A problem they are clearly aware of as they had the window open and and tried to mask the smell with a deodorizer. Wish I had booked rooms somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carttman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Carttman,

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We are very disappointed that we were unable to meet your expectations during your stay. We appreciate your comments and have passed this to management, to be discussed further.

Kind Regards,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Excellent venue and facilities, in heart of city centre right next to venue attending for golden wedding celebration. Rooms clean and comfortable, showers excellent, plenty air conditioning, carpets clean,staff pleasant and easy to find. Anyone who does not want to stay somewhere near pubs or clubs should reconsider a venue in the heart of a city and go find a country B&B although we did not hear any noise from pubs or clubs at all - great place to stay overall.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Biddy429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Receptionist at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking time to review our Hotel following your recent visit to Derry.

We are delighted to hear such positive feedback and this will be passed to our team here.

We look forward to welcoming you again to Travelodge Derry.

Kind Regards,

Travelodge Derry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We were supposed to stay for 2 nights but due to the smell of the room and the dirty carpet left a day early. We advised the reception staff about the smell and the dirty carpet and she said she thought there had been a party in the room the previous night. Certainly not the standard of a Travelodge hotel. Reception staff helpful and location good but other than that forget it.

Room Tip: Don't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annerand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Annerand,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are disappointed that we were unable to meet your expectations during your recent stay. We do however appreciate your comments and I have passed this to the management team for further discussion.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We have stayed in many Travelodge`s and this was one of the worst. In desperate need of renovating. Not the usual standard, especially for the cost of£83 for one night. The room was far too hot, sink cracked and no cold water.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Adrienne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Adrienne W,
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel.

We deeply regret that in this instant our services did not reach the usual high standard of service that would be expected from Travelodge.
Our hotel is currently undergoing refurbisment to all areas and should you wish to return to Derry we woud love to show you a different side to our property.
King Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.1 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 13 in Derry
2,048 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 13 in Derry
1,251 reviews
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
1.1 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Derry

Property: Travelodge Derry
Address: 22-24 Strand Road, Derry BT48 7AB, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Derry 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Derry Travelodge hotel is centrally located in the heart of the Maiden City. Our hotel is situated on Strand Road which is popular for nightlife, restaurants, shopping and minutes walk from Derry City’s many attractions. Travelodge Derry hotel has a rich and varied cultural heritage and the City Walls are home to a number of museums, galleries and theatres, as well as thriving musical and literary scenes. Step back in time and relive the city’s past on an inner-city guided walking, bus or taxi tour, where you’ll discover a wealth of history. Please Note: Possible noise due to City Centre location. Please contact the hotel directly for car parking options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Derry Hotel Derry
Travel Lodge Derry
Derry Travelodge
Derry Travel Lodge
Travelodge Derry Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing