We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Impressed” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Derry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Derry
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Derry
n.ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Not Impressed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2010

Never been to Derry /Londonderry before so apart from experiencing the most irate drivers with no patience and encountering a roundabout every minute with poor directions, I booked into the Trevelodge no single rooms left charged me 70 sterling for the night. for a double . Staff have to say very helpful and courteous ( only seen one member) who seemed to do everything .Room was yes antiquated but bed was clean and freshly changed , rank smell although plus sink in bathroom was broken loads of cracks in it, no remote for tv told reception same member of staff arrived tried to sort it but couldnt left it with night porter who never followed it up. Location wise very central very noisy clubs cross the road bar down stairs from it which woke me during the night . My major gripe would be that when I decided to leave early on Sunday morning I was told the car park didnt open until 12.30 so I couldnt leavenothing to do as shops dont open until1'0c sunday. So be warned if you are staying in the travelodge on Sat dont park your car there as you wont get away next morning plus for parking there it cost me 12.50 . Overall I wouldnt recommend the place it seemed to be full of hen/stag parties who really only want to find a bed for the night So bringing kids there would be a no also didnt feel safe coming into the place at night a lot of unsavoury characters about on the street . Basically I would imagine a hostel would be just as adequate and soooo much cheaper folks

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank issie1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, 18 November 2010
Dear Isssie1234,
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. All feedback is greatfully receieved and help's develop our product and services.
Your positive comments will be shared with our staff members.
Regards,
Travelodge Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    85
    105
    84
    103
See reviews for
72
164
32
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2010

I'm a business traveller and have stayed in many hotels, B&Bs, guesthouses around Northern Ireland ROI and UK, including other Travel Lodges.

This was truly the most disgusting place I have ever stayed in. I was afraid to set anything down on the surfaces of the furniture it was so dirty:

1. There was an unpleasant smell walking out of the lift into the corridors on our floor.
2. Remote for TV (which didn't work) was covered in human dirt and hair. I didn't touch it.
3. Floor was filthy - with hair, muck and dust.
4. Bathroom was clean, apart from faeces in unflushed toilet!
5. There was dust and grime everywhere.
6. There were multiple unidentified brown splotches of vomit/worse? on three walls.
7. I did not take off my socks or touch anything unnecessarily. I washed every single piece of clothing I had, worn and unworn when I got home.
8. One towel hanging up for my use was wet.
9. My colleague had to move rooms, as her matress and pillows were laying up against the window when she got into her room.
10. I was made to feel unsafe by heavy-duty locks on the doors.
11. We had to pay £13 for the overnight parking.
12. There was no cooked breakfast available the morning we left. We ate in the (very average) restaurant directly below - unconnected with the hotel. There is a restaurant opposite (Jack's Apartment) which serves lovely food.
13. The morning we checked out, we waited (along with 5 other irate guests) a full 15 minutes before anyone appeared at reception, during which time the phone rang constantly, where we were told there was only ONE member of staff on duty. Following a complaint, no apology was made.
14. The three staff we spotted during our stay looked generally unkempt and dirty.
15. The carpark is linked to the hotel by a "gangplank" over plastic roofs, this felt very unsafe to walk over, and would not provide access for disabled visitors at all - how do they enter the hotel!??
16. Wifi costs £8 weekly (no matter if you're only staying one night, which we were) and is slow. There is a citywide Wifi, scan for it - though it's very slow too.

The only good thing was the bed was comfortable.

Avoid this place at all costs. You might catch something otherwise.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CustomerServiceFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Derry hotels

Glasgow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2010

This place is to be given a wide berth. Stayed in here for one night whilst on a trip round Ireland. This was the worst hotel I've ever layed my eyes on. Starting with the reception staff, right down to the shower. The service was horrible and the rooms were very dirty, old and abused. My girlfriend couldn't bare to use the shower, complaining that she would come out dirtier. I think the rooms get filled with the homeless and drug abusers. Being a tuesday night and not many visitors to the city at this time of year, I think 97% of the guests must of been these. Do yourself a favour and spend an extra tenner and get a hotel where you aren't affraid to close your eyes at night!! be warned.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dj-herman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2010

Decided to stay in Travelodge Derry,on arrival they had messed up our booking,so one of the party had to sleep on the floor!!!room was dirty,smelling of something rank! no heat,mirrors an windows were filthy also,spilled a glass of water over my bed by accident,an asked reception could we have some clean bed linen and duvet,an after an hour it never arrived,then went to ask again,an was told everyone was off there shift by security,after a meal in the Ice Wharf,and a few drinks,we went to bed,with no dry linen or duvet,managed to get to sleep,4.30am and the fire alarm rings,leaving us to stand on the street in freezing weather,no explanation or apoligies were given,also no sign of any evacuation procedure or marshelling point or roll call! DISGUSTING!! either was the offer of any compensation...all in all...worst hotel stay ever!!!! NEVER AGAIN!!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigshow83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londonderrry northen ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2010

stayed in the travelodge for a night last year, because i was only staying for the one night i didnt see the point upacking and putting my clothes into the wardrobe so simply kept all my belongings in my suitcase. during our stay we went around the shops and i bought a new dress and a new black coat, when we got back to the hotel i hung the new dress and coat up in the wardrobe in our room. The next day when we had checked out and were at home again i realised that i had forgotton my dress and coat because i had put them in the wardrobe, and so i immediately phoned the travelodge and explained what had hapened and that i would be calling back down that evening to collect my belongings.

when i arrived at the reception desk later that nite the man behide the desk informed me that no clothes had been found in our room wardrobe, i told him that this was not possible as we were the last people to stay in the room and the clothes were there when we left, he continued to argue with me stating if clothes had been found they would have been handed in. i stated that if my clothes were no longer in that room like he said that left only one explaination, and that was obviously a member of the cleaning staff had stole my belongings! i then asked to speak to the manager and was told it was their day off. i decided to leave my contact details and informed the man to pass these on to the manager and to tell him to get in contact with me as soon as possible, that was over a year ago and the manager has yet to contact me. I have foned the travelodge on numerous occasions since that but have gotten nowere and have never been able to speak to a senior member of staff. totally unbelievable for this to be able to happen, and a member of staff have never contacted me to sort it out or even so much as apologise.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missy101xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2010

The hotel is RIGHT besdie all the nightclubs, and noise goes on into the early hours.
This was not even the worst thing.

We could hear absolutely everything in the next room, I mean EVERYTHING, it was disgusting. needless to say im still angry at how much our weekend was ruined. There was no privacy.

The next day we left at nine in the morning I couldnt get out the door quick enough, Please do not destroy your break, spend a little extra and go to a decent hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy----Campur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2010

Five of us stayed 2 nights in The Travelodge and to be fair if your staying in city centre you can't expect peace and quiet. Rooms were adequate and we got a good rate for them £29 per room per night so we weren't expecting the ritz but they were clean and had everything they should have. We had a great time in derry....especially in Tracy's and will return again.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.1 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Derry / Londonderry Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
1.1 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Derry

Property: Travelodge Derry
Address: 22-24 Strand Road, Derry BT48 7AB, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Derry 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Derry Travelodge hotel is centrally located in the heart of the Maiden City. Our hotel is situated on Strand Road which is popular for nightlife, restaurants, shopping and minutes walk from Derry City’s many attractions. Travelodge Derry hotel has a rich and varied cultural heritage and the City Walls are home to a number of museums, galleries and theatres, as well as thriving musical and literary scenes. Step back in time and relive the city’s past on an inner-city guided walking, bus or taxi tour, where you’ll discover a wealth of history. Please Note: Possible noise due to City Centre location. Please contact the hotel directly for car parking options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld, HotelsClick, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Travelodge Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Derry Hotel Derry
Travel Lodge Derry
Derry Travelodge
Derry Travel Lodge
Travelodge Derry Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing