We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would not stay at a Travelodge Hotel again - more like a Hostel”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Travelodge Derry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Derry
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Derry
County Derry
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Would not stay at a Travelodge Hotel again - more like a Hostel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2010

Booked this Hotel with my mum, aunt and sister. Hadn't stayed in a Travelodge Hotel before so didn't know what to expect. We got to the Hotel at 2.30 pm after having some difficulty finding a car parking space in the Quayside Shopping Centre, Car Park. When we arrived the lady at the reception was rude and very unhelpful. She would put anyone arriving at this Hotel off. We had two double rooms, one on the second and one on the third floor. The smell in the hall would have knocked you out. You really would need a peg on your nose. The rooms are very basic and would need upgrading big time. Was not impressed with the bathroom one bit. However, the hotel is very central to all the shops and bars. Some very cheap restaurants and bars next door to the Hotel. Thank god we didn't book our breakfast at this hotel because the smell of the place would put anyone off. The car parking in the Quayside Shopping Centre is also very expensive. It cost us £21.00 for 24 hours. I paid alot cheaper parking my car in Dublin for a night. All in all I would class this Hotel as a Hostel and will not be going back again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieCountyDerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    85
    105
    84
    104
See reviews for
73
164
32
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northern ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2010

Was the worst hotel have ever stayed in, staff were unfriendly and rooms were dirty and the smell would make u sick. could not wit to check out would not reccomend to anyone

Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank anyomous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Derry hotels

Belfast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

Stayed here for a 2 night business trip last week. Normally use Travelodges all over the UK but this is the first I have used in Ireland. Nice marble spiral steps leading upto the reception which seemed unusual for a Travelodge. Made the place look very grand. Huge lobby area. Lady behind the desk was more than helpful. Room large and comfortable. Maybe time for an upgrade on the bathroom but it was clean and thats generally all I care about. Overall a good standard that I have came to enjoy from Travelodge.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank -bert-bert-2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ie
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2010

Great staff, very helpful.

Facilities - basic, but everything we needed really
.
Good value for a central hotel. Inexpensive, and we found it to be clean and comfortable.

Lots of life around the area, close to the bars, restaurants & clubs in the city.

Thank you

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scot13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2010

Thought this would be a convenient location but soon learned the area is pretty bad if not dangerous. Lots of people hanging around and lots of foul language and we are by no means prudes. Room was actually quite nice lobby level 105 I think. Close the window or listen to drunks all night long. Water was fine for us but you need to know how to use the shower taps to get the hot stuff. Why no shampoo it is so cheap to supply?
Reception guy was really very helpful but had no interpersonal skills per say. Parking overnight across the street is free but not convenient but neither are most hotel parking arcades.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanIrish155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
n.ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2010

Never been to Derry /Londonderry before so apart from experiencing the most irate drivers with no patience and encountering a roundabout every minute with poor directions, I booked into the Trevelodge no single rooms left charged me 70 sterling for the night. for a double . Staff have to say very helpful and courteous ( only seen one member) who seemed to do everything .Room was yes antiquated but bed was clean and freshly changed , rank smell although plus sink in bathroom was broken loads of cracks in it, no remote for tv told reception same member of staff arrived tried to sort it but couldnt left it with night porter who never followed it up. Location wise very central very noisy clubs cross the road bar down stairs from it which woke me during the night . My major gripe would be that when I decided to leave early on Sunday morning I was told the car park didnt open until 12.30 so I couldnt leavenothing to do as shops dont open until1'0c sunday. So be warned if you are staying in the travelodge on Sat dont park your car there as you wont get away next morning plus for parking there it cost me 12.50 . Overall I wouldnt recommend the place it seemed to be full of hen/stag parties who really only want to find a bed for the night So bringing kids there would be a no also didnt feel safe coming into the place at night a lot of unsavoury characters about on the street . Basically I would imagine a hostel would be just as adequate and soooo much cheaper folks

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank issie1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, 18 November 2010
Dear Isssie1234,
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. All feedback is greatfully receieved and help's develop our product and services.
Your positive comments will be shared with our staff members.
Regards,
Travelodge Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2010

I'm a business traveller and have stayed in many hotels, B&Bs, guesthouses around Northern Ireland ROI and UK, including other Travel Lodges.

This was truly the most disgusting place I have ever stayed in. I was afraid to set anything down on the surfaces of the furniture it was so dirty:

1. There was an unpleasant smell walking out of the lift into the corridors on our floor.
2. Remote for TV (which didn't work) was covered in human dirt and hair. I didn't touch it.
3. Floor was filthy - with hair, muck and dust.
4. Bathroom was clean, apart from faeces in unflushed toilet!
5. There was dust and grime everywhere.
6. There were multiple unidentified brown splotches of vomit/worse? on three walls.
7. I did not take off my socks or touch anything unnecessarily. I washed every single piece of clothing I had, worn and unworn when I got home.
8. One towel hanging up for my use was wet.
9. My colleague had to move rooms, as her matress and pillows were laying up against the window when she got into her room.
10. I was made to feel unsafe by heavy-duty locks on the doors.
11. We had to pay £13 for the overnight parking.
12. There was no cooked breakfast available the morning we left. We ate in the (very average) restaurant directly below - unconnected with the hotel. There is a restaurant opposite (Jack's Apartment) which serves lovely food.
13. The morning we checked out, we waited (along with 5 other irate guests) a full 15 minutes before anyone appeared at reception, during which time the phone rang constantly, where we were told there was only ONE member of staff on duty. Following a complaint, no apology was made.
14. The three staff we spotted during our stay looked generally unkempt and dirty.
15. The carpark is linked to the hotel by a "gangplank" over plastic roofs, this felt very unsafe to walk over, and would not provide access for disabled visitors at all - how do they enter the hotel!??
16. Wifi costs £8 weekly (no matter if you're only staying one night, which we were) and is slow. There is a citywide Wifi, scan for it - though it's very slow too.

The only good thing was the bed was comfortable.

Avoid this place at all costs. You might catch something otherwise.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CustomerServiceFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.1 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#6 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Derry / Londonderry Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Derry

Property: Travelodge Derry
Address: 22-24 Strand Road, Derry BT48 7AB, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Derry 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Derry Travelodge hotel is centrally located in the heart of the Maiden City. Our hotel is situated on Strand Road which is popular for nightlife, restaurants, shopping and minutes walk from Derry City’s many attractions. Travelodge Derry hotel has a rich and varied cultural heritage and the City Walls are home to a number of museums, galleries and theatres, as well as thriving musical and literary scenes. Step back in time and relive the city’s past on an inner-city guided walking, bus or taxi tour, where you’ll discover a wealth of history. Please Note: Possible noise due to City Centre location. Please contact the hotel directly for car parking options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Derry Hotel Derry
Travel Lodge Derry
Derry Travelodge
Derry Travel Lodge
Travelodge Derry Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing