We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would never stay in this hotel again.”
Review of Travelodge Derry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Derry
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I would never stay in this hotel again.”
Reviewed 16 October 2010

This is the worst hotel I've ever stayed in, and I've stayed in a lot of them over the years. We even brushed our teeth with bottled water because the bathroom was so yukky. It is surrounded by bars and very noisy at night, with lots of unsavory characters lurking about on the street. We even considered leaving, even though we had already paid. Enough said.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockytopgirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, 13 November 2010
Hello Rockytopgirl2,
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. I apologise that you visit to Derry was not as expected and am happy to confirm that a hotel make over has currently begun.
Regards,
Travelodge Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    87
    113
    89
    110
See reviews for
79
171
33
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Upon arrival to a cold smelly reception area I knew it was a bad choice, after getting our room key and making our way into the elevator which seemed to be coated inside with an oil of some sort we didn't want to touch anything.
After leaving the elevator and making the way down the very narrow hallway struggling to bring my luggage along we finally got to the hotel room and were greeted by an extremely damp smelling room, on top of that the carpets were dirty and there seemed to be something brown smeared all over parts of the floor by the bed, I wasn't going to investigate that further.
the room overall was pretty big tho very empty, it was filled with excessive drawers and closets which appeared to be a DiY job made from MDF wood, needless to say it was awful.
The curtains were also smeared with brown stuff and were covered in cigarette burns, either the smoke alarm doesn't work or the curtains haven't been inspected before the smoking ban.. reassuring .
the bathroom was disguising.. old cracked tiles on the floor and a cracked sink. the bath and shower curtain was dirty and poor, the bath had a lot of screws in the sideboard of it also.. looked very poor.
radiators were very noisy.. constant cracking at all hours of the night but that's nothing compaired to being 100 ft from 2 extremely noisy nightclubs and noisy clubbers shouting and fighting up to 5am every morning, and not being able to close the window made it even worse,
Beds were average tho some parts the springs were painful to sleep on, there was a lighting fixture about 14 inches above you when you lay down, very easy to hit your head on it accidentally. also pointless using as it blinds you being so close to your face, but you had no choice but to use it as it was the only light in the room that worked,
morning came and is wasn't stated how or when rooms were to be cleaned, it sounded as if they were cleaning the rooms some mornings at 5am.. and some mornings at 11am, this was extremely noisy and we weren't able to get any sleep as after the noisy clubbers gone home the hotel gets noisy.
Funny thing is. in the 4 nights I stayed there even when I did leave the hotel early. my room wasn't cleaned once, when I came back I was greeted by 2 stained towels sitting on the dirty floor outside our room.
I could go on and on about how horrible this place was but I don't have all day. needless to say the only good point about this place is that its close to the city centre, but there are other hotels just minutes walking distance which are much much better and just as cheap, this place does not deserve to be a hotel.. or even a hostel, to be honest I wouldn't even let my dogs stay there, Being form Derry myself I expected a lot better but im ashamed of it.. avoid at all costs!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pkylez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, 13 November 2010
Hello Pkylez,
Thank you for taking time to review Travelodge Derry.
I'm sorry your stay was not a more pleasurable experience and can assure you that the hotel has currenlty begun a make over operation to help improve our product.
Regards,
Travelodge Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Derry hotels

Northern Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2010

I found this hotel extremely unpleasant and dirty. Upon our arrival we were met by a pool of vomit at the front door (still there 5 hours after check in!) The rooms are old and dated, bathroom in particular, sink full of cracks, wouldn't use the shower. Shower curtain must be years old. No way this is a 3 star hotel. Would not stay again, nor would I recommend anyone to stay there!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fme23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, 13 November 2010
Good evening Fme23,
Thank you for reviewing our property in Derry.
Further to your comments i wish to confirm a hotel make over has currently begun.
Regards,
Travelodge Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

We stayed for one night in September when we were looking for the cheapest option in Derry and it was more than fine. The room was nice and warm, there were clean sheets and a kettle in the room. The shower had great pressure and for 42 euro for 3 people it was cheaper than the hostels we looked at. The hotel is perfectly located in the centre walking distance from all attractions.

Sure I could complain that it wasn't immaculately clean and lobby was a bit dark and gloomy, but for what we needed it was perfect. If you're looking for a budget room with a clean bed and shower this is perfect.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roguetraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, 6 October 2010
Dear Kibble-L
Thank you for taking time to Review Travelodge Derry, We really appreciate your positive comments and hope to see you again soon.
Regards,

Travelodge Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilbarchan-Renfrewshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2010

The location of the Travelodge Derry is great-within walking distance of all tourist attractions and shops etc. Some rooms are facing the main road and therefore can be noisy. The rooms are in need of upgrading for example there are remnants of cigarette burns on woodwork in the bedroom and the bathroom plastic. Although spacious rooms are very basis. Avoid the breakfast it too is very basic and not value for money. The beak fast room also have has the atmosphere of a morgue :O( There are many other places very close by severing breakfast at decent prices. Derry itself is well worth a visit. The people are very friendly. I would recommend a trip on the open top bus-very informative and entertaining :O) Also for food "The Metro" just behind the wall-at the water spouts. Great value for money, lovely staff, and the food was fab. For a better hotel maybe try the City Hotel just round the corner. It looked much better than the Travelodge.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kibble-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, 13 November 2010
Good afternoon Kibble,
Thank you for your positive review in relation to Travelodge Derry, We hope to see you again soon.
Regards,
Travelodge management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

It was with some trepidation that I went to the Londonderry Travelodge having read the reviews. If you want a luxury, state of the art hotel, with plentiful staff to assist you then a Travelodge is not the right place for you. If you want a cheap, but adequate hotel - £19 for a family room - with the added bonus of a great location in Londonderry, then I could recommend this hotel.
We arrived at 9.30 at night - wife and 2 children aged 10 & 11. We were checked in in a couple of minutes and sent to our room. The room was fairly large and the room/bedding was clean. We were short of a put up bed for our second child (there was only a double and single bed in the room), but this was brought up by the night clerk within 5 minutes of phoning down, with all the necessary bedding and an additional towel.

There was no noticeable smell that some people have referred to, in the hallways or the room. There was the usual door lock, plus a security chain on the door. For some reviewers the presence of a security chain was a problem, but this just made me feel safer as the door was securely locked at night - I have stayed in many more expensive hotels and wished they had a security chain on the door.

We barely saw another person in the hotel and had no problems with any noise. We were situated on the front of the hotel and were able to sleep with the window open as the room was too hot. There was some street noise, but nothing that kept us awake - the beds were very comfortable and we were tired after a hard day of driving. We may have been lucky that we stayed on a Wednesday night at the start of September and so avoided any stag/hen or other noisy groups in the hotel or in Derry generally, but everything was fine.

We did not have breakfast in the hotel as it was available elsewhere at a much better price - as advised by the night clerk on arrival.

If you want wifi use the Derry city wifi which is free rather than pay for the Travelodge service.

We used an open air pay and display car park opposite the City hotel about 50 yards from the Travelodge, which is free overnight. You just pay for time used after 8.30am the next day. This seemed to be the car park of choice for the locals on a night out - the car park is well lit and well used.

As I said at the start, I would have no hesitation recommending this hotel as a cheap and cheerful place to stay, with or without children. It could do with a bit of a touch up here and there, if it wanted to pass itself off as something a bit posher, but if this is what you want then stay round the corner at the City hotel and pay £100 rather than £19. I have stayed in hotels not as good as this for considerably more money - for what it is and what you pay, it was very acceptable and the location is great. No frills just about sums it up perfectly, but not in a disparaging way.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nlpnlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, 6 October 2010
Dear NipNip,
Thank you for your great feedback in relation to your visit to Travelodge Derry.
We hope to wlecome you again soon.
Kind regards,
Travelodge Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

We booked this hotel because it was recommended in a DK travel guide. The rooms were basic to say the least. I had to wiggle the wires on the TV to get a few fuzzy channels. The carpet was sticky and had holes in it, as did the comforters on the beds. The hotel claims to be non-smoking but the smell of stale cigarettes was so bad in one of rooms that we'd booked, that I had to move into the other in the middle of the night. There were no toiletries available in either bathroom and the towels were threadbare. There was one young guy behind the desk and he seemed completely overworked. Nothing aside from the actual room was included in the price - breakfast was additional, internet was additional, parking was additional. We felt completely ripped off, which was awful given how overcharged we already felt for the horrible accommodations. Absolutely, the hotel is well located, but our experience there made us want to get the heck out of Derry the minute we woke up and go someplace else entirely.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corkonian69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review, 13 November 2010
Good evening Corkonian,
Thank you for taking time to review this property.
Travelodge are a no frill's accomadation provider and room's are sold at room only per room helping to make our product more afforable.
Extras are chargeable should they be required and can be booked online in advance at a discount rate.
Regards,
Travelodge Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.1 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 13 in Derry
2,012 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 13 in Derry
1,237 reviews
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
1.1 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Derry

Property: Travelodge Derry
Address: 22-24 Strand Road, Derry BT48 7AB, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Derry 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Derry Travelodge hotel is centrally located in the heart of the Maiden City. Our hotel is situated on Strand Road which is popular for nightlife, restaurants, shopping and minutes walk from Derry City’s many attractions. Travelodge Derry hotel has a rich and varied cultural heritage and the City Walls are home to a number of museums, galleries and theatres, as well as thriving musical and literary scenes. Step back in time and relive the city’s past on an inner-city guided walking, bus or taxi tour, where you’ll discover a wealth of history. Please Note: Possible noise due to City Centre location. Please contact the hotel directly for car parking options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Derry Hotel Derry
Travel Lodge Derry
Derry Travelodge
Derry Travel Lodge
Travelodge Derry Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing