We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Build a Burger - A legend before its time! ”
Review of Build a Burger - CLOSED

Build a Burger
Price range: US$0 - US$13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Delivery
Description: No menu, no air brushed photos, just a great selection of toppings and sauces to create your perfect burger.. Your Meal, Your Choice, Your Feast!Putting the customer in control is what we do best at Build a Burger. We never have a menu with set burgers or air brushed photos, just a good choice of fresh breads, a great selection of toppings, lots of tasty sauces and a friendly crew ready to help you build your perfect burger. You decide exactly what you want. There's no need to ask for a special order, at build a burger evey order is special to you.Our customers are the menu. They choose the bread, the meat and the toppings. Our crew construct it in front of them to their exact specifications everytime.Build a Burger, your meal, your choice, your feast!
Reviewed 2 April 2016 via mobile

I loved Build a Burger and I am sorry to see that it is now gone from Derry City Centre. It was a concept that was before its time in my opinion for the Derry Market, however personal I loved it!

The choice was fantastic and the produce fresh! The service was fantastic however I did find once or twice that the food was only warm. With all this in mind I am sorry to see that it has gone and look forward to it maybe returning in the future.

Thank Niall D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

Have been a few times to Belfast branch but thought this was better. Real tasty and great value £17 for family 2 adults and 2 kids including drinks (Slush Puppies for kids) and chips. Staff really friendly and helpful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jmcateer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We visited this eaterie on the first day of the all Ireland Music Festival (Fleadh) and found that since our last visit (January 2013) the prices had increased by 50%! On our first visit the burgers had been absolutely fine but this experience was very different. To be fair the meat and chicken were fine (we ordered two ham burgers and one chicken burger) but everything else was a disaster especially the chips - indeed we had to bin all 3 portions! It seems the chips had be refried and maybe more than once. They were inedible. On the plus side the staff here are very nice and they were obviously under pressure but thats no excuse for the overall poor quality of the food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JamesDerry_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B-a-B_Derry, Owner at Build a Burger, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Hi James. We have been having issues with our potatoes for several months. A lot of this down to the weather and late harvests which has resulted in a total lack of consistency in the product we receive. We have changed suppliers several times in the last few months to try to rectify this. We currently have a chip we are happy with (for now) and expect the quality to further improve. You may have noticed yourself that the price of potatoes has increased considerably recently and this is purely down to high demand and low supplies. I appreciate this does little to solve the problem of your bad experience, however it is a problem we face sourcing fresh products. In regards to prices, our haven't changed since we opened in October 2012, however our 'meal deal' has changed a few times for example back in January and Febuary 2013 we ran a 'burger, chips and drink for £5 promotion' and during the Fleadh in August to cover the cost of extra staff and essential equipment to supply the demand the meal deal was increased to £7.50. We currently offer a burger with chips for £5 and if you are willing to give us a second chance please contact david@buildaburger.co.uk for meal for two on the house!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

For only 5 quids, you get the huge burger of your dreams and plenty of chips. Stayed in Derry for a week, been there for almost every diner: clean, nice folks, music not too loud, great!!!

Thank JLecocq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

If you fancy a grill cooked burger with a selection of over 100 different toppings then why not visit build a burger with its great food and friendly staff

Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Build a Burger also viewed

 
Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing