We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent chain hotel - just outside the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Derry / Londonderry Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I stayed at the Premier Inn whilst I was visiting friends in Derry. I only booked this hotel because I could not find any other hotels in/near the city for the dates I was looking for and it was a little bit pricier than I was expecting given its location.

The hotel is located on the Belfast-side of Derry so there is no need to negotiate across the city to get there - however there aren't obvious signs for the hotel until you are almost in the car park. Luckily I was already travelling with a friend from Derry so they directed me straight there, otherwise I may have struggled.

There is a vast available car park for visitors and a Cost Cutter store just across the road (which is super handy).

I was greeted by a very friendly girl on reception who checked me in very quickly. The room was much bigger and airier than I expected, with a large double bed and big chaise longue. The bathroom was large and immaculately clean. There was also a lovely touch with the pillows - you have the option from two harder and two softer pillows to ensure that you can get comfortable. The room had all the mod cons you would expect - hairdrier, kettle and tv.

In reception there is a couple of large vending machines with snacks, drinks, travel adaptors and washbag essentials you may have forgotten. The staff on reception were all super friendly and always ready for a chat! They also came to my rescue with change for the vending machines for a sneaky midnight snack!!

The only criticism I have is that there are large mirrors in the room but no decent lighting near them which is a bit disappointing but that's about the height of my criticism!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley K, Manager at Premier Inn Derry / Londonderry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback. At Premier Inn Derry/Londonderry we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay. All feedback both positive and negative is investigated and acted upon to ensure we are offering our customers the best possible standards and service. Once again thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (631)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

519 - 525 of 631 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

Having stayed at Premier Inn before we pretty much knew what to expect. Standard PI format. This one tho took a bit of finding - directions need improved on PI's website.

It's a new build so still very fresh. Rooms were fine - clean and comfy. Staff very friendly and helpful. Plenty of parking.

This hotel is a bit more outside of the city centre than advertised but the taxi ride in was reasonable at about £4.50. The onsite Brewer's Fayre - food was Ok, menu quite decently priced

Would definitely recommend for a trip to Derry..

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheffield51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley K, Manager at Premier Inn Derry / Londonderry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thanks for your review of our hotel. It is great that our clean hotel, helpful friendly staff and facilities met your expectations and made your stay a comfortable one. We endeavour to deliver the highest level of service in all our establishments and your feedback helps us focus on doing this. Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We used this hotel as a base for exploring Derry for a couple of nights. The hotel seems very new, and is located right on the edge of the city, which was quite handy when driving in from Coleraine as we didn't have to drive into the city. Our room faced out onto a lovely view of fields and hills in the distance, which we didn't quite expect!

The attached pub is quite useful if you don't fancy heading into Derry itself. The city centre is 5-10 mins drive away depending on traffic, although we found it difficult finding a decent parking space - the multi-storey car park attached to the shopping centre is quiet expensive, so parking somewhere by the river is probably a better option.

For the price we paid, this is a great choice for exploring Derry, although probably only if you have a car.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BalhamWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley K, Manager at Premier Inn Derry / Londonderry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with Premier Inn Derry/Londonderry . Your feedback is very important to us and we are delighted that you had a good stay and you found our location convenient during your travels. We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This is a standard budget hotel - quite newly built. It is a typical budget hotel - except that you are guaranteed a great night's sleep - or your money back. The choice of hard or soft pillows help. I had a great night's sleep as it is comfortable and quiet. There is ample free parking.
It's location is not great if you are looking the night life in the centre of Derry City itself as it is located on the opposite side of the River Foyle so will necessitate a car or taxi journey. There also isn't that much within walking distance.
I found it difficult to find - I drove past it twice and ended up in the city side of Derry. I knew where it was but the only sign you can see from the road is for its restaurant - Brewers Fayre - so look out for that until the hotel manages to put up a sign on the main road. The hotel is set back from the road and the hotel is behind the restaurant so not easily visible.
The staff were wonderfully friendly and helpful and very attentive in ensuring I had a good stay.
The bar is ok - too brightly lit for a Saturday evening so not a great ambiance.
Breakfast was a good selection - though I would have preferred to have seen some local produce. It would have been nice if the waiting staff had of at least provided the tea or coffee - breakfast was cold due to having to run backwards and forwards.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley K, Manager at Premier Inn Derry / Londonderry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Thank you for your feedback. At premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay. All feedback both positive and negative is investigated and acted upon to ensure we are offering our customers the best possible standaeds and service. Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcomming you back to Premier Inn again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Excellent accommodation in quiet location. Staff very friendly. We booked ahead online and paid 29 pounds, which was amazing value. A Brewers Fayre is attached which provides breakfast and other meals. Would certainly use this chain again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gill510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here Sunday night for one night. I booked 2 rooms over a month ago, online and requested quiet rooms. This Inn is not quite a year old. Our GPS had trouble finding it. They are located on Century Link but not at the retail shopping center, go to the next roundabout south, B530 or Kilfadden Rd. Or call hotel. Wayne was working the front desk when we checked in. He was very helpful above and beyond. Assisted us with getting some laundry washed, told us where to get money changed - at the convenient store across the street. Gave us several places to eat. We chose Quaywest which was excellent. We did have two quiet rooms on the ground floor. We loved our rooms. Comfortable beds, everything worked well and convenient to use. Shower was great. Very clean. Attached restaurant had a wonderful breakfast. We had the continental breakfast which had a terrific selection of breads, cereals, juice, fresh fruit, porridge
All staff were friendly and helpful. We cannot say enough good things about this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starwyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Friendly and helpful staff. Very clean and tidy rooms. Very good restaurant. Great to have aircon in the room. Only problem was the satnav got us close, but we had to do a bit of looking until we found the Inn. If we ever manage to get back to London Derry we would stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keiran O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.7 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,079 reviews
2.4 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 13 in Derry
1,273 reviews
1.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
1.2 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#11 of 13 in Derry
546 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Derry / Londonderry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Derry / Londonderry Hotel

Address: Crescent Link, Derry BT47 6SA, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Derry
#1 Business Hotel in Derry
#1 Best Value Hotel in Derry
#2 Romantic Hotel in Derry
Price Range: £45 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Derry / Londonderry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on the Waterside of the City - just 10 minutes drive from the city of Derry airport and 5 minutes drive from the city centre. The hotel is an ideal base for the Crescent Link Retail Park - 5 minutes walk away. Our Derry/Londonderry Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and the Brewers Fayre serving pub food as it should be, along with the all you can eat Premier breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Derry / Londonderry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Derry / Londonderry Hotel Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing