We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Legenderry Cafe at the Turner”

Warehouse No1 Bistro and Cafe
Ranked #12 of 186 Restaurants in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$6
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We at Warehouse Café & Bistro Provide a range of locally sourced sandwiches, soups and more along with an array of freshly baked sweet treats and the best coffee and tea in the city! We are currently open from 9am - 5.30Pm Monday to Thursday, 9am -late Friday & Sat and 10am - 5:30pm on Sunday. We are also a fully licenced premises selling fine wines and local craft beers.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Legenderry Cafe at the Turner”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

I was here once before, yesterday i called in for lunch with a colleague at 1pm, we asked about the sandwiches and were told that there were only 2 sandwiches left and both were chicken supreme on sourdough, well I suppose we were lucky to get a sandwich at all. There seemed to be quite a few people coming in after us and of course by then we had eaten all the sandwiches, which i would add were very average, good bread non descript fillings Now in most cafes if you run out sandwiches you make more, in this case the sandwiches looked liked they arrived in their plastic wrappings and it was obvious despite the fact that there were 3 or 4 people on duty they do not make sandwiches in this establishment. We had some cake afterwards which was fine, the coffee was good but overall I would not recommend this place at all. This should be a showcase for Derry with the Turner gallery next door alas it is not, it is really quite a disappointment. It's also not good value at all, many establishments nearby will offer a fresh cooked hot meal for a little more than you pay for your pre packed sandwich here and that's if they have any sandwiches!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Derrydonegal71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    50
    18
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgw
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Style over Substance”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Really disappointed with my first visit here. The service was very poor, the coffee was just OK & overpriced and the pastries were at least a day old and tasted stale. Had high hopes for the Warehouse No1 but its all style over substance here unfortunately.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ps1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfanaghy, Ireland
Level Contributor
139 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great eclectic decor, exemplary coffee and a wonderful shop attached”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

This is, in my opinion, the best cafe in the North West of Ireland. The coffee is genuinely 'legendary'. Their food is perhaps less palatable since my first review and perhaps needs a little innovative uplift to set the place apart. Service is generally and consistently good.

For those with discerning taste and a little time the shop which is an integral part of Legenderry is well worth a browse. There are lots of beautiful arts and crafts from local designers and artisans. Artifacts found here are not found in mainstream shopping where cloning is the norm. Take a little time out after eating or before your coffee is served - the shop stimulates the senses and offers a little inimitable diversity.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trevcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

I no longer go here as my experiences are so bad. We went here regularly for ages but after management shouting at staff and customers i won't return. Service is ok, prices are average. It seems like they don't really want children on the premises. Wile sitting in the legenderry shop due to lack of seats for 5 people heard staff amuse themselves over customer appearance. Disgraceful

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank geralds1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“flat pack sandwiches”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Looking forward to a bacon sandwich here? You may need to bring instructions as apparently, it is now is a matter of self assembly. Two slices of dry toasted bread presented bearing two slices of bacon. Side by side. Hard butter which was impossible to spread.

Is it so much to ask to have a sandwich made up before it's brought out?

Weak effort Warehouse.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Carryout_Bradshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Warehouse No1 Bistro and Cafe also viewed

Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Been to Warehouse No1 Bistro and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing