We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a serious clean”
Review of The Ice Wharf

The Ice Wharf
Ranked #113 of 194 Restaurants in Derry
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Drinks are cheap here but it a fairly dirty bar. Dinner dishes were left on some tables for ages. It's also got a bit of the sticky carpet feel to it.

A deep clean would be good for this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
3  Thank thejournalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 112 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

We had breakfast on two mornings at the ice wharf...very good value for money, I had the Ulster fry...staff also pleasant.

Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Called in on Monday 21st July for a quick bite thinking it would be handy. Ordered the buffalo wings to start. Bit into one to discover that although the outside was hot, inside was absolutely freezing! Salmonella, food poisoning to name but a few. Took the plate back, explained to manager and he sent it back. Fifteen mins later manager comes over to see how we are, realises we still don't have our food and goes to find it. Wings come back, obviously refried again as the insides had become rough and chewy. Blue cheese sauce tasted like it had come out of a can. Nothing could redeem it. We had ordered off the value meal for mains. Jacket potato came out, presentation awful, salad wilted. Cherry tomatoes had obviously seen better days as well. In no way was any of the food appetising. Charged £2.20 for an alcohol free beer which was extortionate considering drinks like Wkd's etc. were cheaper than that. Manager very pleasant on all counts. Did not see the point in complaining as prices of meals were cheap but will definitely not go back nor recommend it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Miniehaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheIceWharf, Manager at The Ice Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Hi,
I would like to take this opportunity to apologise to you for your experience in our premises on 21/07/14 and will use your feedback to better our service in the future. We endeavour to make sure that all of our customers leave having had a good and enjoyable experience. We would like to take this opportunity to welcome you back to the bar so that we can try to improve on your experience. We hope you try us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Unlike the diamond where we ate the previous day, this place was filthy. Had to return glasses a few times as they where so bad. The attitude of the blonde girl behind the bar was shocking, such a rude girl. The tables where all dirty even though it wasn't busy. Food was great but overall experience wasn't the best because of the staff. Don't get me wrong there was a guy and a dark haired girl who couldn't have been more helpful but the blonde girl behind the bar was plain rude and ignorant.

2  Thank Oisín M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheIceWharf, Manager at The Ice Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Hi,
We would like to take this opportunity to apologise that you found our premises less than satisfactory on your visit. We try very hard to ensure consistency in our customer service standards and front of house standards throughout the pub to remain at their highest levels at all times. Please be assured that we will take your feedback on board and work towards improving things in the future. We hope you try us again in the future.
Kind Regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

great lively bar . we visited on Friday 4th July afternoon, very good crowed , world cup match was on plenty of screens . staff chatty and very attentive great atmosphere pint carlsberg £2,69 a pint and Heineken £2.05 a pint . called again for breakfast sat morning full Irish breakfast for £4.25 could not finish it. too big.

Thank mickeygee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ice Wharf also viewed

Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Been to The Ice Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing