We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay at Number 8” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Number 8 Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Number 8 Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 47 Derry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Stay at Number 8”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

I stayed over at Number 8 on Friday 13th, I flew in from London for the Digital Awards which were being hosted in Derry. It was my first time visiting the city and I’d say the highlight for me was staying at this accommodation. I was warmly welcomed and treated as though I was a personal guest. Karen was delightful and Bob was very friendly – he was even kind enough to drop me off to the awards. A fantastic B&B, very clean, spacious and great food : ). Look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenNumber8, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thanks Jay for your lovely review. We really enjoyed having you to stay. I do hope you will return sometime soon. Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
137
30
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

This is very convenient and pretty walk to the old walled city, but feels so comfortable with their garden and spacious house. Had very warm welcome from the hosts and felt like a personal guest of theirs. Overall this was my most comfortable stay anywhere after 3 weeks in Europe.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dlbunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenNumber8, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us David. We try to make our guests feel at home and as comfortable as possible. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Ireland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

First time we have stayed over in Londonderry and a very enjoyable experience it was. The B & B is in a very good location, near the Ebrington Barracks, the peace bridge and within easy walking distance from the Guildhall. Our room was bright and cheery with tea making facilities and a modern ensuite (Could do with a hair drier) .Bob and Karen looked after us very well and provided an excellent breakfast. I have no hesitation in recommending this accommodation to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenNumber8, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thanks so much for your kind review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and just to let you know all rooms now have a hairdryer! Hope to see you again in the future.
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corfe Mullen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed two nights at number 8 as part of our motorcycle tour of Ireland. The room was furnished to a very high standard with everything we could need and spotlessly clean. We were welcomed by Karen on arrival with tea and cake and provided with maps of the city and excellent recommendations to make the most of our stay. Bob and Karen were fantastic hosts who welcomed us into their house as if we were part of the family. Our stay was perfect on all accounts and we would recommend anyone stopping in Derry to stay at number 8.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenNumber8, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review, Andy. We really enjoyed meeting you both and hope you enjoyed the remainder of your holiday in Ireland. Maybe we'll get the chance to meet again. Regards Karen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, South Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night and found the quality of accommodation very good.
We arrived very late and were met with the offer of tea and coffee from the friendly owner.
The accommodation was spotless and very nicely furnished and decorated. The breakfast was excellent and the owner was very trusting when we discovered that the accommodation did not accept cards !!!
One we minor niggle, no hairdyer. Sort that out and 10/10.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenNumber8, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Thanks for your comments Jeanie and just to let you know we now have a hairdryer available. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentfield, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

What a perfect way to end my cycling adventures through Ireland with a visit to Number 8 Guest House, Deanfield. It was like a little slice of heaven! Karen and Bob were incredibly gracious hosts and welcomed me as if I was a member of the family. Everything was perfect. They welcomed me to their family table with delicious, healthy meals, the rooms were fit for a queen complete with cozy, comfy bedding and beautiful decor. Wonderful treats can be discovered around every corner, including a chance to take a luxurious soak in the deep victorian tub.
Ahhhhhh! Just heaven! This beautiful spot can't be beat! The guest house is within walking distance to the great city center so rich culture and entertainment are just footsteps away. I can't wait to get back to visit Karen and Bob again in their beautiful home.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen T, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thanks so much for your lovely review Anna. It was so good of you to take the time. We really enjoyed having you stay and loved all the stories about your travels. You certainly got around our little country. Be sure to come back to us when next here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Leave your worries behind and enjoy the serenity, great service and comfort. Very convenient to a wonderful historical city center.
Karen and Bob are excellent hosts and will pamper you with comfort, delight and a fabulous breakfast. My first time to Derry and such a wonderful experience all around.

Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen T, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Delighted you enjoyed your first visit to Ireland and our lovely city Carol. I hope it won't be too long before you return. We really enjoyed meeting you and look forward to seeing you next time. Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.0 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.7 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Derry / Londonderry Hotel
2.0 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 8 Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 8 Guesthouse

Property: Number 8 Guesthouse
Address: 8 Deanfield | Limavady Road, Derry BT476HY, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number 8 is a family run B&B situated only a stone’s throw away from Ebrington Square and Derry’s Peace Bridge. We are ideally placed for those wishing to explore the City of Culture 2013. Each of our rooms is bright, spacious and individually decorated. Our aim is to provide guests with a warm and relaxed ambiance, ensuring that your stay is as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Number 8 Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 8 Guesthouse Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing