We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well 'run'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Number 8 Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 43 Derry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lurgan, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very well 'run'”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The B&B was located 15 min walk from the city walls, across the Peace Bridge, Located in a very quiet suburb. The ensuite room was fantastic. The room was clean, roomy, and fresh. The owners, Bob and Karen, were friendly and welcoming. I had a great nights sleep in the comfortable double bed. Bob made special arrangements for the marathon guests to have breakfast extra early, plus he drove us all down to the start line that morning too. Couldn't ask for much more. See you next year ...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ríoghán M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen T, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Congratulations Rioghan, you completed the marathon in great time. Glad you enjoyed the whole experience. Keep running and we hope to see you next year.
Regsrds, Karen t.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
154
31
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2014

A beautiful house and garden in a lovely, quiet, residential area, not far from the town, over the Peace Bridge. The hosts could not be more hospitable. The breakfast was great and I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taylor265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen T, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Congratulations on completing the marathon Kate. You were a wonderful guest. Hope to see you next year. Keep running!
Best regards, kt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dungloe, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at this B&b for one night before the Derry marathon! I have to say the B&b itself is immaculate warm and very comfortable! The smell of fresh lillies at the entrance was fantastic! The owners Bob and Karen were the most hospitable people I have encountered and definitely went over and above what was expected of them! There is nothing bad to say about the B&b even the location was perfect for easy access to all of Derry! I would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank POD757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen T, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you all and we really enjoyed meeting the kids.hope to see you for the marathon next year.
Regards KT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Very friendly hosts, beautiful interior and garden, quiet location in a residence quarter, lovely footpath to town centre over the new peace-bridge, helpful tips for sightseeing, excellent breakfast, we felt very comfortable

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 583alpuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen T, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such lovely comments. Yes, it is a beautiful walk across the peace bridge into town and so near too. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and please spread the word about our lovely city.
Regards KT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Breakfast was fabulous, loved the home made scones and tea on arrival.
Staying here felt like we were at home, the owners were very helpful and even went the extra mile by providing a flask of tea for our trip!
Definately will book up again next year for the northwest 200.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rozenbladen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen T, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us Kelly and your comments were so positive. It's great to know that you had such a good time. See you next year!
Regards KT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Immaculate throughout.
Stayed here with 2 pals for the NW200 races and what a great time we had.
Located in super quiet 'affluent' residential area located a very pleasant 1 mile stroll over the new Foyle river Peace bridge to the City walls. Taxi home, yes its uphill, was just £3.
The super friendly, helpful hosts supplied us a very useful city map and tips.
1 room was on suit (modern with big shower), the other, a snip at £35!, shared a bathroom (maybe sharing with just 1 other room)?. Incidently this bathroom was a wow...big shower, big bath, skylight. Bed linens immaculate, pillows galore. Tea/coffee stuff and FS TV in room. Free wi-fi although I did not put this to the test.
Breakfast was traditional cooked with a plethera of fresh fruit, pastries, cheeses and other stuff should you have the appetite.
Off street parking.
We all thought a fantastic place and worthy of a great review.......and I got the job.

Tip- Take the train from Derry to Coleraine which hugs the Foyle and follows the coast (just £10 return).

Room Tip: Book early as there are only 3 or 4 rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nic1047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen T, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a lovely review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It's always nice to know that guests are happy as we really try to make everyone as comfortable as possible. Hopefully we'll see you next year. Many thanks, KT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitka, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We spent three fabulous nights at Number 8. Karen and Bob are very kind, generous and wonderful hosts. Their home is welcoming, charming, comfortable and exceptionally clean. We stayed in a double room with ensuite - the linens and bedding were lovely and luxurious. Breakfast was absolutely delicious - from the buffet to the hot menu - not a miss. They were also helpful in making recommendations for outings and restaurants as well as discussing the local history. Our next visit to Ireland will undoubtedly include a return to Derry/Londonderry and Number 8!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank sitkafish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen T, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We really enjoyed having you stay and are so glad that you enjoyed our local attractions. I hope that the rest of your trip is enjoyable and that you return soon.
Kt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.0 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
566 reviews
0.7 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 13 in Derry
2,016 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
2.0 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 13 in Derry
1,237 reviews
1.1 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 13 in Derry
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 8 Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 8 Guesthouse

Property: Number 8 Guesthouse
Address: 8 Deanfield | Limavady Road, Derry BT47 6HY, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number 8 is a family run B&B situated only a stone’s throw away from Ebrington Square and Derry’s Peace Bridge. We are ideally placed for those wishing to explore the City of Culture 2013. Each of our rooms is bright, spacious and individually decorated. Our aim is to provide guests with a warm and relaxed ambiance, ensuring that your stay is as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Number 8 Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 8 Guesthouse Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing