We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Number 8 Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 44 Derry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Very nice location with excellent breakfast. We had a very big room with a new and big bathroom. Host was very kind and helpful. Easy way down to the city over the beautiful millenium bridge. Altogether we have had a beautiful time in Derry .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank JoeSwiss123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen T, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review. It's very rewarding when our guests enjoy their stay with us. We will continue to strive to provide a memorable experience for our visitors.
Regards, KT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

Our bedroom, and indeed the whole home, was beautifully decorated with all of our possible needs and comforts attended to.The hosts have spared no expense in providing the one thing travellers need most after a long road trip ... a truly comfortable bed!The room did not have an ensuite bathroom but as there are only 3 guest rooms, this was never a problem and furthermore, this was one of the few B & B's or hotels we stayed at in our 30-day trip where the plumbing worked efficiently! Upon our arrival, we were invited to enjoy a relaxing rest with tea and cupcakes in our host's lovely garden . Breakfasts were presented with gracious attention and elegance. Upon our departure, our hosts provided excellent guidance for navigation of the next leg of our journey. We thoroughly enjoyed Number 8 Guesthouse.

We highly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen T, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. We really enjoyed meeting you both and thanks for your lovely comments about our house. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Ireland.
Regards Kt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Overnighted here on a quick tour of Northern Ireland. Karen and Bob's hospitality made our stop in Derry very special. Bob recommended a great restaurant and dropped us off in town. They recommended a walking tour for the next morning which was very interesting and sent us off after a nice breakfast on the back porch overlooking their beautiful garden. We wished we could have stayed another night.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen T, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you Dennis for such a wonderful review. We're so glad you enjoyed our lovely city and your stay with us. It was a delight to meet you both and I do hope you will stay with us again if ever back this way.
Regards, KT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed for one night B&B on a beautiful summer night. Karen & Bob are excellent hosts, friendly, informative and welcoming. Being greeted with tea and cake always gets a stay off to a good start. Room with private bathroom was exceptionally comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was outstanding. Host's recommendations of restaurants in the city and local places of interest was good. Derry/Londonderry is a beautifully sited city on the banks of the Foyle, and the walk round the city walls is extremely interesting. Number 8 is a 15 min walk from the Peace Bridge and a 15 min drive from the airport, in opposite direction, so a great location too.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally_M_11691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen T, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you Sally for your very positive review. It was wonderful meeting you both and we're so glad that you enjoyed our wonderful city. Do remember us if you ever get a chance to come back.
Regards, KT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

A lovely stay in a delightful city. Karen made the most delicious scones for breakfast along with lots of other yummy food. The hosts were really generous with there time to provide information and offered to take us into town. They also shared some of there own stories to help us better understand northern Ireland .

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kym17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen T, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us Kym. It was lovely to meet you and your mother. It's great to hear you enjoyed our wonderful city. Come back another time.
Karen T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Was a little bit sceptical of the quality of all the reviews, but that seems to be down to good follow-up by the owners, because, really the plaudits are well-deserved and accurate from my experience. I stayed in the single room for a night before the marathon. The room was a nice size for one, extremely clean with a quality very comfortable bed. It was quite warm though on what was a muggy night but left the window open whilst I was out for a while and it was fine. The bathroom next door was absolutely spotless.

Bob and Karen were superb hosts. Bob was extremely helpful with directions in the city and in facilitating me for the 6.15am start with porridge fresh fruit and coffee etc as well as the offer of a lift to the start and a shower afterwards. Really nice atmosphere and would definitely recommend if staying in Derry.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellinP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen T, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review and congratulations for completing the marathon and in such good time too. Hope to see you next year.
Karen T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The B&B was located 15 min walk from the city walls, across the Peace Bridge, Located in a very quiet suburb. The ensuite room was fantastic. The room was clean, roomy, and fresh. The owners, Bob and Karen, were friendly and welcoming. I had a great nights sleep in the comfortable double bed. Bob made special arrangements for the marathon guests to have breakfast extra early, plus he drove us all down to the start line that morning too. Couldn't ask for much more. See you next year ...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ríoghán M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen T, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Congratulations Rioghan, you completed the marathon in great time. Glad you enjoyed the whole experience. Keep running and we hope to see you next year.
Regsrds, Karen t.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.9 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
1 mi away
Bridge B&B
Bridge B&B
#3 of 44 in Derry
85 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Abbey Bed and Breakfast
1.7 mi away
Victoria Gate Bed And Breakfast
0.9 mi away
No8 New Bed & Breakfast Derry-Londonderry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 8 Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 8 Guesthouse

Address: 8 Deanfield | Limavady Road, Derry BT47 6HY, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range: £67 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number 8 is a family run B&B situated only a stone’s throw away from Ebrington Square and Derry’s Peace Bridge. We are ideally placed for those wishing to explore the City of Culture 2013. Each of our rooms is bright, spacious and individually decorated. Our aim is to provide guests with a warm and relaxed ambiance, ensuring that your stay is as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Number 8 Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 8 Guesthouse Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing