We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Number 8 Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Number 8 Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 47 Derry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ballymena, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We just had a one night stay, our room was large and of an excellent standard with a really comfortable bed and well appointed bathroom, spotlessly clean throughout, very welcoming couple-just like home from home. Really good breakfast with wide choice available. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen T, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
What lovely comments Roy. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We try to make everyone as comfortable as possible. It was a pleasure meeting you both.
Best regards, Karen t.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
137
30
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

My 80 year old mother, 12 year old daughter and I stayed at Number 8 for a night while passing through Derry. We could not have been happier with our stay. We arrived later than anticipated and got lost coming in to the city. Karen and Bob could not have been more gracious giving us directions and then warmly welcoming us once we did arrive. We were exhausted and hungry and after freshening up in our large, beautiful triple room, we were able to catch a ride with Bob into the old part of the city where he dropped us in front of two recommended restaurants. We had a great, casual dinner and then took a cab home (about 4 pounds total - better than driving and parking ourselves!). Number 8 is a very inviting place in a nice, quiet, residential neighborhood but an easy walk to the spectacular peace bridge. When we returned to our room, the shades had been drawn and the beds turned down - a very nice, homey touch that we all appreciated. Breakfast was made to order, delicious and very filling. Karen and Bob were both very pleasant. Bob recommended a nice running route and I had a great, early morning run down to and across the Peace Bridge and then along the riverfront on the opposite side. The bathroom in our room was large, clean and very modern. All in all, as other reviewers have said, it is a wonderful stop in Derry and I would definitely look to stay there again.

Room Tip: Our triple room on the second floor was beautiful. We spent 10 nights in Ireland/Northern Ireland a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bfoot18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen T, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us Barbara. It was lovely to meet your daughter and mum and we're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. It was very good of you to take the time to write such a lovely review.
Regards, Karen t.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Very nice location with excellent breakfast. We had a very big room with a new and big bathroom. Host was very kind and helpful. Easy way down to the city over the beautiful millenium bridge. Altogether we have had a beautiful time in Derry .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank JoeSwiss123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen T, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review. It's very rewarding when our guests enjoy their stay with us. We will continue to strive to provide a memorable experience for our visitors.
Regards, KT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Our bedroom, and indeed the whole home, was beautifully decorated with all of our possible needs and comforts attended to.The hosts have spared no expense in providing the one thing travellers need most after a long road trip ... a truly comfortable bed!The room did not have an ensuite bathroom but as there are only 3 guest rooms, this was never a problem and furthermore, this was one of the few B & B's or hotels we stayed at in our 30-day trip where the plumbing worked efficiently! Upon our arrival, we were invited to enjoy a relaxing rest with tea and cupcakes in our host's lovely garden . Breakfasts were presented with gracious attention and elegance. Upon our departure, our hosts provided excellent guidance for navigation of the next leg of our journey. We thoroughly enjoyed Number 8 Guesthouse.

We highly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen T, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. We really enjoyed meeting you both and thanks for your lovely comments about our house. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Ireland.
Regards Kt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Overnighted here on a quick tour of Northern Ireland. Karen and Bob's hospitality made our stop in Derry very special. Bob recommended a great restaurant and dropped us off in town. They recommended a walking tour for the next morning which was very interesting and sent us off after a nice breakfast on the back porch overlooking their beautiful garden. We wished we could have stayed another night.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen T, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you Dennis for such a wonderful review. We're so glad you enjoyed our lovely city and your stay with us. It was a delight to meet you both and I do hope you will stay with us again if ever back this way.
Regards, KT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed for one night B&B on a beautiful summer night. Karen & Bob are excellent hosts, friendly, informative and welcoming. Being greeted with tea and cake always gets a stay off to a good start. Room with private bathroom was exceptionally comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was outstanding. Host's recommendations of restaurants in the city and local places of interest was good. Derry/Londonderry is a beautifully sited city on the banks of the Foyle, and the walk round the city walls is extremely interesting. Number 8 is a 15 min walk from the Peace Bridge and a 15 min drive from the airport, in opposite direction, so a great location too.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally_M_11691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen T, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you Sally for your very positive review. It was wonderful meeting you both and we're so glad that you enjoyed our wonderful city. Do remember us if you ever get a chance to come back.
Regards, KT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

A lovely stay in a delightful city. Karen made the most delicious scones for breakfast along with lots of other yummy food. The hosts were really generous with there time to provide information and offered to take us into town. They also shared some of there own stories to help us better understand northern Ireland .

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kym17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen T, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us Kym. It was lovely to meet you and your mother. It's great to hear you enjoyed our wonderful city. Come back another time.
Karen T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.0 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.7 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,925 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Derry / Londonderry Hotel
2.0 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 8 Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 8 Guesthouse

Property: Number 8 Guesthouse
Address: 8 Deanfield | Limavady Road, Derry BT476HY, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number 8 is a family run B&B situated only a stone’s throw away from Ebrington Square and Derry’s Peace Bridge. We are ideally placed for those wishing to explore the City of Culture 2013. Each of our rooms is bright, spacious and individually decorated. Our aim is to provide guests with a warm and relaxed ambiance, ensuring that your stay is as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Number 8 Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 8 Guesthouse Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing