We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay with warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Number 8 Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 44 Derry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My room was bright, super clean and spacious with a warm welcome. Highly recommend this guesthouse as either a stop over, long weekend or a full weeks stay.

Facilities in my room were: High speed broadband access (WIFI free), TV and DVD, Alarm clock, Tea/coffee making facilities, luxury body products and fluffy towels with turn down service.
Continental and full Irish breakfast are a choice of breakfast and I had both which were great.
Full free parking was a bonus.

Super guesthouse, will come again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank creejon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen T, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully you will make a return visit in the future.
Karen t

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
There are newer reviews for Number 8 Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

Our stay at this lovely guesthouse was beyond wonderful. Our room with ensuite was just lovely, spacious & beautifully decorated with plenty of extra touches. After settling in, Bob kindly dropped us into the city centre & provided a number of restaurant recommendations. Our dinner at Saffron was great & we continued to receive the exceptional service that is so common in Ireland.
We arrived wet to the bone after sightseeing on a very wet day and Bob & Karen immediately exceeded our expectations by offering to dry our clothes. Not only did they do this, but we returned to our room after dinner to find them perfectly pressed & folded, not to mention that they shifted our wet shoes to also fully dry them overnight.
Breakfast was great, a lovely setting & plenty of choice. Very highly recommended. Stay here if you can.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Corisha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen T, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thanks for choosing to stay with us Corisha and so sorry about the dreadful weather! I'm so glad you enjoyed your trip anyhow. It was lovely meeting you both.
Karen T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Karen and Bob are perfect hosts. From the time we arrived we were made welcome. Bob took our luggage to the room and then made us afternoon tea. The room was beautifully decorated. When we booked we did not realise we did not have an ensuite. However on arrival the bathroom was only next door to our room and it was large and spacious. It did not cause us any problem by not being ensuite. The breakfast was excellent and we sat overlooking the garden and it's little fountain. Almost enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PamF47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen T, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us Pam and it was a pleasure to meet you both. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.
Regards, Karen t.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We just had a one night stay, our room was large and of an excellent standard with a really comfortable bed and well appointed bathroom, spotlessly clean throughout, very welcoming couple-just like home from home. Really good breakfast with wide choice available. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Roy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen T, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

What lovely comments Roy. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We try to make everyone as comfortable as possible. It was a pleasure meeting you both.
Best regards, Karen t.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My 80 year old mother, 12 year old daughter and I stayed at Number 8 for a night while passing through Derry. We could not have been happier with our stay. We arrived later than anticipated and got lost coming in to the city. Karen and Bob could not have been more gracious giving us directions and then warmly welcoming us once we did arrive. We were exhausted and hungry and after freshening up in our large, beautiful triple room, we were able to catch a ride with Bob into the old part of the city where he dropped us in front of two recommended restaurants. We had a great, casual dinner and then took a cab home (about 4 pounds total - better than driving and parking ourselves!). Number 8 is a very inviting place in a nice, quiet, residential neighborhood but an easy walk to the spectacular peace bridge. When we returned to our room, the shades had been drawn and the beds turned down - a very nice, homey touch that we all appreciated. Breakfast was made to order, delicious and very filling. Karen and Bob were both very pleasant. Bob recommended a nice running route and I had a great, early morning run down to and across the Peace Bridge and then along the riverfront on the opposite side. The bathroom in our room was large, clean and very modern. All in all, as other reviewers have said, it is a wonderful stop in Derry and I would definitely look to stay there again.

Room Tip: Our triple room on the second floor was beautiful. We spent 10 nights in Ireland/Northern Ireland a...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank bfoot18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen T, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us Barbara. It was lovely to meet your daughter and mum and we're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. It was very good of you to take the time to write such a lovely review.
Regards, Karen t.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Very nice location with excellent breakfast. We had a very big room with a new and big bathroom. Host was very kind and helpful. Easy way down to the city over the beautiful millenium bridge. Altogether we have had a beautiful time in Derry .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank JoeSwiss123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen T, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review. It's very rewarding when our guests enjoy their stay with us. We will continue to strive to provide a memorable experience for our visitors.
Regards, KT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Our bedroom, and indeed the whole home, was beautifully decorated with all of our possible needs and comforts attended to.The hosts have spared no expense in providing the one thing travellers need most after a long road trip ... a truly comfortable bed!The room did not have an ensuite bathroom but as there are only 3 guest rooms, this was never a problem and furthermore, this was one of the few B & B's or hotels we stayed at in our 30-day trip where the plumbing worked efficiently! Upon our arrival, we were invited to enjoy a relaxing rest with tea and cupcakes in our host's lovely garden . Breakfasts were presented with gracious attention and elegance. Upon our departure, our hosts provided excellent guidance for navigation of the next leg of our journey. We thoroughly enjoyed Number 8 Guesthouse.

We highly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen T, Owner at Number 8 Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. We really enjoyed meeting you both and thanks for your lovely comments about our house. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Ireland.
Regards Kt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.9 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
623 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.7 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 13 in Derry
2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 13 in Derry
1,263 reviews
1.1 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#11 of 13 in Derry
542 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bridge B&B
Bridge B&B
#3 of 44 in Derry
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 8 Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 8 Guesthouse

Address: 8 Deanfield | Limavady Road, Derry BT47 6HY, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range: £66 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number 8 is a family run B&B situated only a stone’s throw away from Ebrington Square and Derry’s Peace Bridge. We are ideally placed for those wishing to explore the City of Culture 2013. Each of our rooms is bright, spacious and individually decorated. Our aim is to provide guests with a warm and relaxed ambiance, ensuring that your stay is as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Number 8 Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 8 Guesthouse Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing