We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveller rating
146
6
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
6
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews city centre modern house gracious hosts a quiet residential area huge room recently stayed here lovely decor bedroom window lovely home visiting derry stayed for one night pleasant stay minute walk would definitely stay here again excellent stay clare ireland
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 153 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This place really is a great B&B, me and my brother booked two rooms at this B&B and when we arrived we were shown our rooms which were enormous, each with a luxurious double bed and an amazing view over towards the Derry skyline. The only slight drawback is of course we had to climb two flights of steps to reach these rooms, but if you're averagely fit, this shouldn't be a problem, it certainly caused no issue with us, and knowing how helpful the owning couple were, I'm sure they would help if this was a matter of concern. I should also mention the welcome we received was also exceptional, no we weren't just shown to our rooms but were offered tea, coffee and cakes which I thought was a very nice touch. The rooms were clean and being slightly outside the city away from the main road or pubs meant they were very quiet. In fact to reach the city is via a very pleasant 20 minute walk along the river and then over a bridge giving another fantastic view of Derry. I really can't fault this place we enjoyed our stay very much.

Room tip: The rooms we had were on the top floor of this 3 storied building, so might cause an issue if you are elderly or unfit, if this is the case ask for rooms lower down.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Peter_Matthews2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORDLUCY, Owner at Victoria Gate Bed And Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thanks for the excellent review Peter. Hope yourself & George enjoyed the remainder of your holiday in Ireland.........

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

As a couple who works in 5 star environment,we both had really high expectation and the family run place met all our requirements!Room was very big and welcoming,extremely clean.Location is perfect,quite area.Even if you are looking for a place in the area,worth to choose this place,wont regret it!
Janos and Beatrix :)
Thanx again for the outstanding experience!

Room tip: The best choice if you need a place in this area!
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jakusjani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORDLUCY, Owner at Victoria Gate Bed And Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thanks a million Janos. We're deilghted yourself and Beatrix enjoyed your stay in our home. Hopefully we'll meet you both again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This B&B is located in a beautiful area of Londonderry, in a quiet, safe neighborhood and not too far at all from city centre. The couple that runs it are great and the breakfast was awesome! Very pretty place and we would definitely return there if we get a chance to come back to this beautiful country!

Room tip: There is no swimming pool or fitness center! I couldn't figure out how to erase the rating for it.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank econurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORDLUCY, Owner at Victoria Gate Bed And Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Shannon & Tom......

Thanks for staying wih us and spending the time to do this review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay in our home.........

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We were warmly welcomed into this family home! Peaceful, quiet gorgeous rooms, Spotlessly clean, comfortable, views over Derry outstanding. Spoilt for choice at breakfast, fresh quality food, a lot of hard work put in to this service! We appreciated the lift into the city a short distance away...thank you, we wouldn't hesitate to book again!

Room tip: Top floor, super king bed, amazing views.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kristen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORDLUCY, Owner at Victoria Gate Bed And Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us Kristen. We'll no doubt see you again in the future...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The house is located at the top of a hill (almost) and very close to Londonderry / Derry. Since it is rather new, GPS devices may not provide the correct directions and the hosts provided clear directions (and co-ordinates for the GPS-crazy ones like me) and it worked wonders. We had a room on the top floor with a view of the city and at night, it was magnificent. The room was furnished with everything that you could hope for and more - Claire and Keiran have classic tastes, and is very much reflected in the manner the house has been made a home. I would strongly recommend this room and house.

The breakfast may not have a lot of items for the vegetarians / vegans, but the spread and coffee were excellent.

This is a good place to use as a base for visits around Londonderry, including the Atlantic Causeway Drive.

Room tip: Top floor rooms with a view of the city.
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raokaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORDLUCY, Owner at Victoria Gate Bed And Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

We're delighted you enjoyed your stay at Victoria Gate B & B. Thanks for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews