We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Culmore Cottage. Ideal.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Culmore Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Derry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Culmore Cottage
Ranked #23 of 47 Derry B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Culmore Cottage. Ideal.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

If you're looking for a B&B near Derry, look no further. Culmore Cottage is just on the outskirts of Derry near the border. There is ample parking, and the welcome from Brian and Anne is second to none. There are three bedrooms,all with en-suite and all spotlessly clean. The breakfast was all you could hope for from a full fry up to a choice of cereals. My wife Alison took full advantage of the on-site beauty salon, and an evening meal can be had just across the road. All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Flaghigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnaby0, Owner at Culmore Cottage, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Thank you so much we are committed to giving all our guests a good experience ,we hope by your review it will encourage other travellers to stop at Culmore Cottage and visit our wonderful City of Culture 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
10
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

I am one of the Professional Jazz, Blues and Swing Duo known as 'too kool katz'. We were recommended to stay at Brian and Ann's Place in County Derry. What a surprise to find this 'Absolute Gem' of a Bed and Breakfast. Everything we could hope for in a four or five star Hotel right there in a Bed and Breakfast setting. Evening meals were no stretch as Brian and Ann had lots of local Bars and Restaurants in the Locale to recommend.

We were there as part of our European tour and could not have wished for a more accommodating couple or more beautiful setting. Wonderfully spacious and all rooms are en-suite. We could relax between gigs and had free wifi so we could stay in touch with the office as well as family and friends back home.

Brian, certainly Mein Host with the most even collected us from the Local Airport and made sure we had everything we needed before settling in to our sumptuous rooms. As we had been travelling for some hours, Ann made us a cup of coffee and provided us with a little snack before booking us in to a fabulous restaurant for our evening meal. Immaculate bedrooms and house in its entirety was stunning.

Apparently this used to be one of a number of Coach Houses when, back in the day, the Drivers would change horses - so a great story to be told by Brian too. We are going back again in August for a couple more gigs and have already booked to stay at Culmore Cottage. Just found out last evening that Brian, one of the owners is also related to Dana who won the Eurovision Song Contest in 1970. We look forward to hearing more from this lovely couple when we return at the end of August.

Travel to and from the first ever designated City of Culture United Kingdom (as Derry Londonderry is still part of the UK although firmly set in the beautiful island of Ireland), is readily affordable and taxis and busses are frequent.
The Breakfast, which we were amazed at for it's quality of both Cuisine and Presentation is free and sets one up for the day ahead. Lots of materials available for we mere tourists. All in all certainly the best place we have stayed at in many, many years. Thank you so much for a most pleasant stay. Warmly - Aindre and Kim aka ‘too kool katz’

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DoireAindre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnaby0, Owner at Culmore Cottage, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you for such a great review,we are only to happy to go the extra mile for all our guests, we look forward to your return visit, perhaps another impromptu musical interlude in the garden will be something to look forward to warm regards from Culmore Cottage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

My wife Sandy & I visited Ireland from Canada for 3 weeks in June 2013 and had occasion to see and do much throughout the Emerald Isle. Our stay at Brian & Anne's Culmore Cottage was a highlight. They are very hospitable and service oriented. Brian also drove us to the train station when we left. The food is well prepared, fresh and bountiful.All in all a fine sojourn.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and B & B is in a garden green area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank protravs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnaby0, Owner at Culmore Cottage, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Hi Guys thank you so much for your excellent review , we hope we helped in some small way to make your trip to Derry and Culmore Cottage a memorable one, there is always a welcome on the door if you or any travelling friends pass this way again,Brian and Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

This is a newly decorated, spacious B&B in the pretty neighbourhood of Culmore, located around 5 minutes outside Derry city centre. The first thing you notice when you drive in are the lovely gardens followed by the beautiful interior design, timber floors throughout. We were a party of three taking two rooms for two nights. Both bedrooms and bathrooms were spotlessly clean. We had the luxury of enormous beds and the tasteful quirky decor was finished to hotel standard. Brian and Anne were extremely welcoming and accommodating and served up a delicious breakfast on both mornings. We were lucky enough to enjoy the breakfast in good weather out in their sun room. Brian and Anne have created a wonderfully relaxed and friendly atmosphere in this gorgeous cottage. We liked it so much we booked it for our next trip to Derry.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DinMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnaby0, Owner at Culmore Cottage, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Thank you for your delightful review, we like our guests to feel relaxed and to enjoy our home we look forward to seeing you again at Culmore Cottage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guerneville, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

We travelled from Guernsey to Ireland and stayed recently with some lovely people at Culmore Cottage in Derry, which has been made first ever UK City of Culture this year. The cottage is a little oasis on the border of Derry and Donegal. The owners could not have been more accommodating but then they do say, 'there is no welcome like an Irish welcome'. With all bedrooms en-suite, the 'Cottage' is a little BBC Tardis from Dr Who, as it is so spacious inside. Beautifully manicured gardens and amazingly, an on site Hairdresser and Beauty therapy centre. The standard of cleanliness gets the Tanzanite award from me. Automatic Free wifi and a Breakfast fit for King. Great affordable transport links into the city too with regular bus and taxis services. I cannot recommend this B&B more highly. Seamus O'Malley

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Seamus O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnaby0, Owner at Culmore Cottage, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review of your stay at Culmore cottage, we are delighted to have been of service,we hope to make C.C. a first stop for travellers coming to visit our fabulous 'Derry 'City of culture 2013, please come and visit again soon, many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Myself and a friend visited Derry for the first time for a music festival and stayed here for the duration. We can honestly say that we have never felt more welcomed at a B&B. The owners, Brian and Anne, couldn't do enough for us, Brian kindly picked us up from the airport, dropped us off to the festival and even stayed up just incase we wanted picking up after the festival!

The cottage was gorgeous, and our room in particular was lovely with a view over the river. We had two incredibly comfy double beds, en suite, large tv, hair dryer, tea & coffee making facilities. Everything was spotlessly clean.

The breakfast was amazing, various cereals, yoghurts, fruit, plus a full fry-up.

The cottage was convenient for getting to the centre of Derry, I think it was about £5 in the taxi and as I said Brian was kind enough to give us a lift a couple of times. Also a huge driveway for people coming by car.

Probably the best thing about this B&B were the owners Brian and Anne, they were so friendly and welcoming, chatting to us and making us feel at home. They even bought a birthday muffin for my friend as they knew it was his birthday and sang to him!

It is very rare that I write a review without any negative comments but this place really was as amazing as I am making it sound and I am proud to say that we were one of the first guests to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnaby0, Owner at Culmore Cottage, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Thank you very much for you lovely review , we were delighted to have helped make your first trip to our ' City of culture and to Culmore cottage a memorable one and hope you make a return visit in the near future ,best wishes Brian and Anne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
4.6 mi away
Groarty House & Manor B&B
4.2 mi away
Bridge B&B
Bridge B&B
#11 of 47 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
2.8 mi away
Pennyburn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast
2.8 mi away
Elagh View bed & Breakfast
3.1 mi away
Ashgrove Villa B&B
Ashgrove Villa B&B
#7 of 47 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culmore Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culmore Cottage

Property: Culmore Cottage
Address: 170B Culmore Road, Derry BT48 8JH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Culmore Cottage Bed and Breakfast offers high quality bed and breakfast accommodation in Derry ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Culmore Cottage Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing