We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic great value for money and marvellous hosts”
Review of Culmore Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Derry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Culmore Cottage
Ranked #27 of 44 Derry B&B and Inns
Dorney , Windsor UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic great value for money and marvellous hosts”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Had a great stay, nothing was too much trouble for owners Brian and Ann. The room was spotless clean and the bed was very comfortable.

Breakfast choice was very good ans cooked breakfast fab and fresh.

It's a great location only a few minutes from the city. Parking is ample and secure. It's a real home from home with lounge area and reading material.

Will be back

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnDorney_WindsorUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnaby0, Owner at Culmore Cottage, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Thank you for a great review, we aim to do the best we can and provide a service for all our guests to make them all welcome,thank you for booking another stay at Culmore cottage, B&A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
10
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Myself and my Wife visited Derry for the August bank holiday and found Culmore Cottage, what an absolute gem.....we were met by Brian and never have we felt a more heart felt welcome, we were made to feel special and the comfort was second to none. As a person who travels for business all over UK & Ireland, it was fantastic to find this place. They owners Brian and Anne couldn't have been more accommodating and the breakfast was all you could need.

Our room was impeccable and the gardens are so well maintained that you will want to sit in them just savouring the peace, if only Ireland's weather could be sunny all the time. We found that across the road was a pleasant local bar, shops and restaurant and given that there is a hairdressers and beauty therapy centre on site, it really has everything that one could need.

We took a short taxi ride into the city centre which was a very reasonable price and really enjoyed Derry, a city that we wouldn't normally have thought of for a break but Brian and Anne gave us 100,000 welcomes. We will be back soon. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnaby0, Owner at Culmore Cottage, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Thank you so much for your 5 star review,we are delighted to receive such praise ,we can only hope all our guests go away as happy customers as you, B&A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

My wife and I had planned to stay at another B&B in Derry. At the last minute, those hosts called and said that they had been flooded and arranged for us to stay at a new B and B--Culmore--with their friends Ann and Brian. Ann paid the our taxi to get to Culmore! Ann and Brian then took us in--we immediately felt that we were staying with friends rather than strangers. Culmore is a beautiful and comfortable B and B about 4 miles outside of Derry in a quiet neighborhood. The home is both beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. The room itself couldn't have been more relaxing. Ann and Brian gave us wonderful advise and warmth while in Derry. We've stayed in probably 100 or so B & B's over the years and Culmore is our #1 of many great B and B's. Brian did something that we've never experienced in a B and B--he drove us into central Derry three times (we didn't ask; he insisted to make our travels easier). He took us on a tour of areas of Derry that we hadn't been able to see. We loved our visit to Derry (the history, music, culture) and especially the way that people there have worked to move past "The Troubles" of the 60's and 70's towards a new future. But when we reminisce about Derry, the thing that comes first to mind is Brian and Ann. What a treat!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bellingham2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnaby0, Owner at Culmore Cottage, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Hi Guys,thank you so much for an 'above and beyond review,it was a pleasure for us to have you stay here in 'Ann world ha' make sure to make a return visit there is a welcome in big letters for you,take care B&A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed at Culmore last night and what can I say - just excellent.
Our hosts were so welcoming, from Brian when we arrived yesterday evening to Anne's fantastic breakfast this morning. That's not forgetting that wee added wine glass they supplied last night!!!!
The place is spotless, the room was comfortable and the ensuite bathroom just lovely. The finishing touches like the wee vase of flowers on the window sill and perfect fluffy towels are just spot on.
I have to say the breakfast was superb and plenty of it - you don't need food for the rest of the day!!!
It is in a quiet location but not that far out of town and with a local shop and a bar/restaurant just across the road (I recommend the steaks as did Brian) you couldn't wish for a better all round location. Perfect and nothing negative to say.

Room Tip: They are all excellent just like the photos on the website, which is not always the case as I have f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saldav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnaby0, Owner at Culmore Cottage, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you kindly for your excellent review,we hope you guys visit again,we will work hard to keep our standard up to the expectations of our guests,thanks again for choosing Culmore cottage for your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I've stayed in Derry a number of times now and without doubt Culmore Cottage is one of the best places to stay. An incredibly warm welcome, fantastic breakfast (Definitely the best in Derry!) and what can only be described as luxuriously furbished bedroom and ensuite bathroom. I think I was one of the early guests to stay with them after opening and I have to say it was refreshing to find such quality accommodation hosted by such nice people. It's about 5 minutes out from the city as well so you get a sense of calm and peace when you arrive, given that you're away from the noise of the town centre. I can't recomment it highly enough, It will be my first choice the next time I have to stay in Derry

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Padraig O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnaby0, Owner at Culmore Cottage, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review,we will continue to strive to give our guests the best possible experience and make them welcome at Culmore cottage,we look forward to a return visit from you and your fellow travellers,Brian and Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I stayed at Culmore Cottage on a recent trip to Derry. My room was comfortable and spotlessly clean (and I am fanatical about cleanliness!) and set in a really beautiful cottage and grounds. I usually don't sleep well in a hotel etc, but my bed was so comfy I slept like a log throughout my stay - no doubt helped by the relaxing surroundings.

Brian & Anne as hosts are just lovely, and couldn't be more helpful. They are very welcoming and did everything to help me in finding my way around (although their location is very convenient).

Breakfast was amazing (didn't need to eat until dinner) and easily of hotel/restaurant standard.

All in all, it's worth going to Derry just for a visit to Culmore Cottage, let alone everything else the city has to offer! Highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Singers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnaby0, Owner at Culmore Cottage, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Thank you for your very complimentary review,it's nice to receive such praise we will endeavour to continue to give all our guests a first class service from all at Culmore Cottage ,Brian and Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

If you're looking for a B&B near Derry, look no further. Culmore Cottage is just on the outskirts of Derry near the border. There is ample parking, and the welcome from Brian and Anne is second to none. There are three bedrooms,all with en-suite and all spotlessly clean. The breakfast was all you could hope for from a full fry up to a choice of cereals. My wife Alison took full advantage of the on-site beauty salon, and an evening meal can be had just across the road. All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Flaghigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnaby0, Owner at Culmore Cottage, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Thank you so much we are committed to giving all our guests a good experience ,we hope by your review it will encourage other travellers to stop at Culmore Cottage and visit our wonderful City of Culture 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
4.0 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
591 reviews
3.5 mi away
City Centre B&B
City Centre B&B
#24 of 44 in Derry
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Groarty House & Manor B&B
3.8 mi away
Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast
4.2 mi away
Bridge B&B
Bridge B&B
#3 of 44 in Derry
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culmore Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culmore Cottage

Property: Culmore Cottage
Address: 170B Culmore Road, Derry BT48 8JH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Culmore Cottage Bed and Breakfast offers high quality bed and breakfast accommodation in Derry ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Culmore Cottage Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing