We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gluten free advertised but ? rarely available”
Review of Danano Ristorante

Danano Ristorante
Ranked #47 of 187 Restaurants in Derry
Price range: US$9 - US$23
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Gluten free advertised but ? rarely available”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I received a brochure from Danano's in my letter box recently. It says "gluten free pizzas and pasta also available". When I rang through an order they said they didn't have any gluten free pizzas available that night. It was early in the week when they offer a "buy one pizza get one free" deal. So I asked about a GF pasta instead and if I could substitute this for the free pizza. They told me I could have any of the pastas gluten free. I placed an order but got a call back to say only some of the pastas were GF and they wouldn't allow me to swap a pizza for pasta. The manager was very abrupt. I cancelled the order. Rang another time but no GF pizza available. I think the gluten free offer is a con job.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank manzag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    27
    13
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
191 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This is a no nonsense, Italian style restaurant. On a busy Saturday night, service was speedy, very pleasant and unobtrusive. The pizza crust was thin and crispy and the toppings fresh. The veg. risotto was as good as it gets and the blackened salmon was a nice addition. Toilets were spotless. A very well run operation. Thanks.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tommywelltravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
109 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent fire-roasted pizzas”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Super selection of pizzas, risotto, pasta and meats/fish. Good veggie pizzas (incl. goat cheese option) and fast service. Dessert selection not too exciting, but I was too stuffed to care.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brenaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great food and great service!”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Visited dananos last Friday evening having not been for years. The food was excellent and the staff couldn't do enough for us. Had a lovely meal and the food was reasonably priced.my only disappointment was that I was too full for dessert! Will definitely be back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kitty453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Service good and food excellent at a reasonable price. Really nice place. We hadn't booked and arrived on a busy night, but a place was made for us. We had been turned away from 3 other places before stumbling on this little gem.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank LottieLou54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Danano Ristorante also viewed

Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Been to Danano Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing