We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Food…”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We thought the hotel was clean and close to the town, yet when we ate the restaraunt "The BarGrill" i wasn't impressed. I ordered the Chicken Goujons (which were tasteless) with garlics (not very garlicy in my opinion!). They came with some sort of sauce which was drizzled over the plate, not described on the menu, which tasted awful! My desert, the chocolate fudge cake was lovely, though. I also cannot complain about the staff who were very welcoming and very polite. Maybe it was just my experience, but I did not like the restaraunt and wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinfoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDVs, Sales & Marketing Manager at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear ‘Martinfoy’,

I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your meal, we do take all complaints very seriously and I have passed on your comments to our head chef and his team. It is unfortunate that you did not alert our restaurant staff at the time that you were unhappy with your meal and we could have provided you with an alternative dish. I hope you stay with us again and give us the opportunity to redeem your opinion of our food as we do pride our food offering at Da Vinci’s Hotel.

With Kindest Regards,
Natasha O’Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager at Ramada Da Vinci’s Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (955)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

751 - 757 of 955 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2012

I have stayed at the Ramada Da vinci hotel on many occasions over the last three years on business. The service is always great and the rooms are clean and comfortable. however, the best thing for me is that the food is excellent and the bar is fantastic; really warm and friendly, a great place to unwind after a hard days work.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDVs, Sales & Marketing Manager at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear ‘PhilM’,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stays with us and I am pleased that you have had consistently good experiences with us. Our main bar really is the heart of the hotel and your right it is the perfect place to unwind after a hard days work! We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on future business trips.

With Kindest Regards,
Natasha O’Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager at Ramada Da Vinci’s Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Really enjoyed my birthday weekend at Da Vinci's in Derry, perfect location, parking and hotel was well equipped all you could want from a weekend break.
2 double beds in the bedroom, great decor and furnishings and really really clean.
Restaurant, bar, cocktails, grillbar and night club on site didn't need to leave the hotel.
From the moment we arrived the customer service was 100%. We left a set of keys behind and on our return home we rang and were delighted to hear that they were found and Amy very kindly posted them home to us. What more could you want def a 10/10 from us. xo

Room Tip: No great views from Room 209
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seanine24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDVs, Sales & Marketing Manager at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Dear ‘Seanine24’,

Thank you for your lovely comments and I am glad you had such an enjoyable stay over your birthday weekend. As you mentioned we do have everything a guest would need onsite which does make us different to any other hotel in Derry. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

With Kindest Regards,
Natasha O’Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager at Ramada Da Vinci’s Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

This is a perfectly located hotel. 10 minutes takes you onto Donegal and Inishowen Peninsula or you can enjoy exploring the unappreciated city of Derry. There are always good deals to be had especially if you sign up for email alerts. My husband and I enjoyed a stay on a Friday night which included dinner for two, two courses and a bottle of wine for £79. Excellent value! The rooms are large, mostly with two double beds, and staff are really friendly and helpful. Restaurant food is very good and the bar is full of life which means you don't have to leave the hotel. I have stayed here a few times with no complaints except for the time when our room location meant we heard the rattle of beer bottles being cleared early one morning! A one off which didn't stop us going back. Stay here, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovetravelBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDVs, Sales & Marketing Manager at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Dear ‘LovetravelBelfast’,

I appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay and I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable experience. Our Feel Good Friday Special Offer which you mentioned has proven very popular because as you mentioned it is such great value! I am sorry to hear that you experience some disturbance during your stay, as we try to contain any maintenance noise that could interrupt a guest’s stay. On your next visit, we would be happy to assign you to one of our quieter, Foyle River facing upon request. We look forward to welcoming you back to Da Vinci’s Hotel in the future.

With Kindest Regards,
Natasha O’Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager at Ramada Da Vinci’s Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

If you’re thinking of staying at the Ramada Da Vinci’s in Derry, stop thinking and just do it.

Emma on reception gave us a warm friendly welcome and checked us into a beautiful suite on the fourth floor. A spacious room with plenty of natural daylight decorated in warm colours of beige and brown.

What must be a 50” flat screen TV along with a DVD and CD players takes centre stage on the living side of the room, in front of a large comfy sofa, while on the opposite side, a very comfortable and massive luxurious bed dominates. Over to the side there was also a desk and workspace with a PC etc for the business types.

There is a mini bar, safe and tea/coffee facilities in the room.

The luxury continues into the bathroom with twin basins and lovely bath and shower. There were an abundance of fresh white towels and robes. I was very delighted that everything you would expect was provided including a disposable razor as I had forgotten my own.

The impressive bar at Da Vinci’s was spacious and lively. A traditional Irish bar full of charm and plenty of staff where the barmen will engage with you quickly and efficiently so as you’re not waiting too long to be served a proper pint of Guinness.

We enjoyed dinner in the Grillroom restaurant, duck salad for starters and steak for mains, which was cooked and presented very well, the accompanying wine, was also excellent and not overpriced. The service here was also excellent; I think we met most of the staff on duty as the evening went on. One by one, they each came to take our order, ask how our meal was, recommend wine etc etc. in a very sincere, non-intrusive and friendly way.

Emma on reception had also recommended a walking tour around the medieval walls of Derry.

We walked into the city centre via the footpath along the river which took us about 20 minutes and met up with Martin McCrossan who took us and our fellow tourists(approx.12 in the group) around the walls for about an hour. The tour costs £4 per person and was really worth the money which included a free tea or coffee in the Java café to finish.

There are of course, a good choice of Hotels in and around Derry, however I would highly recommend Da Vinci’s due to the staff, its location, free large on site car-park, the hotel’s cleanliness, style and genuine value for money.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Splash out and upgrade to a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fastcityrocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDVs, Sales & Marketing Manager at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Dear ‘Fastcityrocker’,

What a lovely review! Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us in such detail and thank you for appreciating the great facilities and staff we have to offer at Da Vinci’s Hotel. I am delighted you had the opportunity to see our historic city walls during your stay definitely a must do thing when visiting the city. We look forward to welcoming you back to Da Vinci’s Hotel in the future.

With Kindest Regards,
Natasha O’Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager at Ramada Da Vinci’s Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Stayed 2 nights whilst touring Northern Ireland. Large room with 2 double beds.Great base to explore from. Can't comment on breakfast but did have dinner on one night. Meal deal 2 courses for £10, v.good. Quiet while we were there, near to Sainsburys so breakfasted there. Cheaper with a view over the river.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nexoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDVs, Sales & Marketing Manager at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Dear ‘Yoxen’,

I am glad to hear you had an enjoyable experience during your recent stay and I appreciate you taking the time to take the time to review your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to Da Vinci’s Hotel in the future.

With Kindest Regards,
Natasha O’Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager at Ramada Da Vinci’s Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Been staying at Da Vinci's for a good few weeks off and on over the past 12 months. Hotel has nice big modern bright rooms even the standard rooms. Rooms have tea and coffee facilities. The bathrooms have a full size bath and shower with a very decent pressure to wake you up in the mornings. The staff are what makes the Hotel, well presented, professional, friendly and very helpful. I would reccomend staying here, it's a bit of a walk to the town centre but only a couple of pounds in a taxi. Full TV package in the Bar (for the football), but limited channels in the rooms. Parking is free and never full unlike the City Hotel which is a bit of a nightmare if you get in late and the car park is full. All in I always enjoy staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevinrosie1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDVs, Sales & Marketing Manager at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Dear ‘Kevinrosie1972’,

What a lovely review! It is great to receive feedback from a guest who stays with us regularly and I will ensure to pass on your compliments to the team. I am pleased you appreciate the facilities we have to offer and we look forward to welcoming you back to Da Vinci’s Hotel in the future.

With Kindest Regards,
Natasha O’Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager at Ramada Da Vinci’s Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.1 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,131 reviews
1.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
1.4 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#2 of 13 in Derry
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Shipquay Boutique Hotel
2.5 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#4 of 13 in Derry
1,337 reviews
1.3 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#11 of 13 in Derry
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Da Vinci's Hotel Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da Vinci's Hotel Derry

Address: 15 Culmore Road, Derry BT48 8JB, Northern Ireland (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Derry
#7 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#8 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#8 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range: £59 - £999 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Da Vinci's Hotel Derry 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Da Vinci’s Hotel Derry is the ideal base for sightseeing breaks in the North West of Ireland. Da Vinci’s is located just one mile from Derry City Centre and just a 15 minute walk to the historic Derry City Walls. Our guests are also conveniently located to visit the Giant’s Causeway, Royal Portrush Golf Course and Donegal’s breath taking scenery. Ramada Da Vinci’s Hotel in Derry can boast of having the largest bedrooms in the city; these 65 bedrooms are contemporary in style and include the fabulous Morrison Suite, Club and Superior bedrooms. In addition to our comfortable hotel accommodation Da Vinci’s Hotel Derry offers all guests complimentary car parking and complimentary unlimited Wi-Fi throughout the building. On site at Da Vinci’s Hotel guests can enjoy an award winning Irish traditional bar which serves the best pint of Guinness in Derry and on Friday and Saturday nights the hotel offers free entertainment in The Spirit Bar nightclub. Da Vinci’s Hotel’s restaurant The Grillroom provides guests with atmospheric surroundings, exceptional service and the highest quality of locally sourced menus at affordable prices. For business meetings and conferences in Derry, Da Vinci’s Hotel Derry provides contemporary facilities that can cater for up to 120 delegates with complimentary unlimited wi-fi and car parking. At Da Vinci’s Hotel Derry a warm and heartfelt welcome awaits you with engaging and anticipatory service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Da Vinci's Hotel Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Derry
Derry Ramada
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing