We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room shame about the loud disco”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Having stayed here before & been a little disappointed with it (hairdryer which overheated having been barely on), I was delighted with the room I got this time. Even the hairdryer looked a bit more reliable. At reception I'd asked for a quiet room as I'm here for work & wanted a good night's sleep. However despite the reassurance of being told my fourth floor room would be quiet, at 11pm the thumping music started & could be heard through earplugs!! It'd be lovely to have a bit of air in the room too but you daren't open the window as the noise will only get louder! It's such a shame as the bed is comfortable & the food in the restaurant is tasty. Why is it impossible to get a good night's sleep when that is what you're primarily paying to do!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melbla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaVincisHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear ‘Melbla’,
Thank you for your feedback. We do have free weekend entertainment on site at the hotel but we seldom receive complaints from our guests in relation to noise disruption because our bedroom block is the opposite side of the hotel complex to our nightclub. I can only apologies that your sleep was disrupted and it is a pity you didn’t mention to our reception staff whilst you were experiencing the disruption as they could have looked into. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Many Thanks,
Natasha O’Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (921)
There are newer reviews for Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

595 - 601 of 921 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2013

The hotel is in an ok location within walking distance of the city.

Check in was very friendly and the room a good size with free wifi.

The bar area is really nice with friendly staff but the food (or my food at least, the fish and chips), was terrible. Really undercooked fish in soggy batter. Mentioned it to the guy when he collected the plates and asked if all ok (he could see that pretty much the whole of the fish had been left anyway) but he didn't really comment any further and there was no concession on the bill.

Otherwise the stay was good and breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank animalthatswims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaVincisHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear ‘animalthatswims’,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and I am please that our facilities and staff impressed you. It is unfortunate you didn't have an enjoyable dining experience in our main bar. The menu you ate off was our Gastro Menu which is extremely popular and albeit negative feedback is rare I can only apologies that your dissatisfaction was not recognized by our staff. I would urge you to eat again with us as we have a great reputation for quality food and I would be keen for you to experience that.

Best wishes,
Natasha O’Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I have stayed here every time I come to Derry. Big, clean, spacious rooms with big comfy beds. On the weekend the nightlife downstairs ensures that you do not have to leave the hotel to enjoy a night out. The breakfast is substantial. There is no swimming pool in the Hotel, it is the only thing that lets it down for me.The hotel is not central and you may want to take a taxi to go into the centre of the town. If walking it would be about 15/20 minutes to the centre (if walking i would recommend taking the walk along the river). The nightlife in Derry is second to none, the attraction (museums, city walls etc) are very good and the people are extremely inviting and friendly. The new peace bridge is a must see and allows easy access to the other side of town (Waterside). Derry is City of Culture 2013 which means it is a perfect time to visit as there is a lot happening in the City.

Room Tip: Due to the Disco or other music in the bar area at the weekend. I would ask for a room on the higher...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank h f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaVincisHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Dear ‘h f’,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is always great to hear from a loyal customer to ensure that we are maintaining our high standards and it is pleasing that your comments would indicate we have. I hope one of the up and coming events of 2013 entices you to visit the city soon so we can look forward to welcoming you back.
Take care,
Natasha O’Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager
Ramada Da Vinci’s Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Stayed here one night on our way to a wedding in Donegal.

The rooms are big, ours had 2 king size beds, very clean, the towels were big and fluffy.

The bar meals stop at 7:30 and the restaurant is £20 ish for a main course.

The breakfast is a buffet style, I'd give that a miss.

Room Tip: Eat elsewhere
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaVincisHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Dear ‘Robert C,’
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best wishes,
Natasha O’Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager
Ramada Da Vinci’s Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We have just returned from a 3 day stay. the hotel is lovely, the staff could not do enough for you and so friendly . We ate in the restaurant 2 nights and the food was superb could not fault any thing and was quite reasonable in price. Cocktails were also very good.Breakfast was buffet they had a nice selection of continental food as well as hot food we had full english You could have your eggs cooked any way you liked it was no bother and they did kippers or porridge if you preferred.The rooms were very nice and clean. Shower curtain a bit annoying but not a big deal. All in all we had a wonderful weekend here and would highly recommend. The Irish people were so very friendly. Will be going back next year.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor in a double room and it was very nice, however our friends stayed in a fa...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MICHELLE9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaVincisHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Dear ‘Michelle9’
What a lovely review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay and experienced our exceptional customer service and product offering. We pride ourselves on always going the extra mile and exceeding our customers expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Best wishes,
Natasha O’Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

This hotel has recently been upgraded to a very well deserved 4*

From the time of checking in to departure all the staff went out of their way to make our stay most enjoyable. The rooms are of a good size, our room had two king size beds in it. You can connect to free wi fi using the bit buzz service which is so easy to use. The rooms are tasteful decorated and the bathroom is quite nice too with Lux hand wash and Dove shower gel, the shower is very strong, so that wakes you up in the morning!

Breakfast is self service, but you can ask for eggs how you would like. I dont like strong coffee, but that was no trouble as a milky latte was made for me.

Lunch time gets busy, and there is a specials board up each day (except Sunday lunch), and there is plenty of choice on the menu.

The restaurant also gets busy in the evening, so it's advisable to make a reservation.

It was a nice touch when we had our elevenses that homemade shortbread was brought out too to acknowledge the hotel's upgrade.

The hotel is nicely situate Culmore Road, and is in walking distance to the town centre, or if in an hurry and not using own transport, a taxi is approx £5 one way.

Look out on the hotel's website for special offers and upcoming events.

Room Tip: Higher floors get better views. At the weekend when the Spirit bar is open ask for a room furthest...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaVincisHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Dear ‘ccrystal’,
Thank you for your glowing review of your recent stay at Da Vinci’s Hotel and for including such great information for other potential guests. Thank you for acknowledging our recent upgrade to a 4 star hotel which we are very proud of and I am glad you enjoyed the shortbread to acknowledge this achievement! We are committed to providing excellent customer service standards and pride ourselves on exceeding our guest’s expectations so thank you for complimenting our team. We look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us.
Best wishes,
Natasha O’Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Had a 3 day break in this hotel and from start to finish everything was perfect.Loads hot water ,clean and quite bedrooms good food both for breakfast and evening meals.Free internet that really works in the rooms was another plus point.Will return shortly thanks

Room Tip: The rooms facing the carpark are bright and airy
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kieronl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaVincisHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Dear ‘KieronI L’
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It is extremely encouraging for us that you had a 'perfect' 3 day stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Best wishes,
Natasha O’Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.1 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 13 in Derry
2,066 reviews
1.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
2.5 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 13 in Derry
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
624 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
1.3 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#11 of 13 in Derry
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Da Vinci's Hotel Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da Vinci's Hotel Derry

Address: 15 Culmore Road, Derry BT48 8JB, Northern Ireland (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Derry
#7 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#7 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#8 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range: £65 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Da Vinci's Hotel Derry 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Da Vinci’s Hotel Derry is the ideal base for sightseeing breaks in the North West of Ireland. Da Vinci’s is located just one mile from Derry City Centre and just a 15 minute walk to the historic Derry City Walls. Our guests are also conveniently located to visit the Giant’s Causeway, Royal Portrush Golf Course and Donegal’s breath taking scenery. Ramada Da Vinci’s Hotel in Derry can boast of having the largest bedrooms in the city; these 65 bedrooms are contemporary in style and include the fabulous Morrison Suite, Club and Superior bedrooms. In addition to our comfortable hotel accommodation Da Vinci’s Hotel Derry offers all guests complimentary car parking and complimentary unlimited Wi-Fi throughout the building. On site at Da Vinci’s Hotel guests can enjoy an award winning Irish traditional bar which serves the best pint of Guinness in Derry and on Friday and Saturday nights the hotel offers free entertainment in The Spirit Bar nightclub. Da Vinci’s Hotel’s restaurant The Grillroom provides guests with atmospheric surroundings, exceptional service and the highest quality of locally sourced menus at affordable prices. For business meetings and conferences in Derry, Da Vinci’s Hotel Derry provides contemporary facilities that can cater for up to 120 delegates with complimentary unlimited wi-fi and car parking. At Da Vinci’s Hotel Derry a warm and heartfelt welcome awaits you with engaging and anticipatory service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Da Vinci's Hotel Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Derry
Derry Ramada
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing