We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2013

With our group of 33 Australians and 2 Brits on a coach, we stayed in this hotel on 14th June '13. It is a big modern hotel and our room, 205, had a big, double, comfortable bed. In the bathroom we had a shower over the bath which could be awkward to get into if one had mobility problems. The only critisism is that the soap provided was the liquid variety in dispensers with no cloths or sponges to use to apply it. Dinner was good and had in an unusual styled restaurant with high vaulted ceilings. breakfast was buffet style and plentiful but I felt the sausages were of poor quality.
In the evening, water started to pour through the ceiling in the bathroom. A person above us had started to run a bath and then fallen asleep! The management staff responded very quickly with mops and buckets but we were unable to change rooms as the hotel was full. The exhaust fan would not switch off until the fuse was pulled and we dared not use the lights in the bathroom for the rest of the night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmydeeinhq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaVincisHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear ‘emmydeeinhq’,
Thank you for providing your comprehensive review of your recent stay at our hotel. I am pleased that you had a pleasant one night stay and that our found our bedrooms comfortable and spacious. I can only apologies for the issue with the above guest’s bathroom this was out of our control but I am pleased that the staff dealt with the problem efficiently and to your satisfaction. It is a pity you had not spoke to our front desk in relation to your bathroom fan as this could have been resolved very easily. I hope enjoyed your visit to Derry and that you return again soon.
Best wishes,
Natasha O’Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (921)
There are newer reviews for Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

588 - 594 of 921 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2013

I booked this online, then had to cancel as my business took me to Belfast instead. I called the hotel as soon as I knew and thought no more about it.
Then I get a call saying I had not been, and would be charged. I explained what had happened and was asked for the cancellation number. I had no recall of a cancellation number ever being mentioned, but was told this was essential. Not being happy with this, the girl on the line assured me they would call me back, but never did.
I called, and was told they would check with the staff on duty, and.....they would call me back. They didnt.
I was promised another call back on the Monday, from the Reservations manager......no call.

Now I am told that they have asked the staff who were on duty, all deny having made this mistake, and essentially it means I am lying! I am disgusted by the level of run around this hotel have given me. I travel all the time, have great respect for the hotel trade and staff and am generous in my positive feedback wherever I see good service. Avoid this hotel like the plague!

I will be taking this to Ramada head quarters, as I have been promised, yet again a call back from the General Manager this time.......not holding my breath.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank minnie016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaVincisHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear ‘Minnie016’,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I would like to highlight that you posted this comment whilst you were on holidays from work and the only contact details we had for you was a work email address and telephone number which we attempted to contacted numerous times during your annual leave to discuss your issues. My colleagues in our accommodation department have informed me that any grievances you have had are now resolves and we look forward to welcoming you to Da Vinci’s Hotel soon.
Best wishes,
Natasha O’Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed recently in a junior suite. No view other than a building directly opposite with banks of extractor fans. Room was spacious but both furniture and fittings were tired. Large bathroom but extractor fan not working which resulted in fogging from steaming hot water - a danger in itself.
Breakfast next morning was forgettable. Will try another establishment before returning here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the front.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank conagra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaVincisHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear ‘conagra’,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is unfortunate that you didn't have a good stay, our Morrison Suite is very popular with guests and this is the first complaint we have had which has been passed on to our General Manager for his consideration.
Regards,
Natasha O’Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Hello I stayed in ramada few times even if I live in the same city :) great rooms with the great deals sometimes include a evening meal and breakfast :) the rooms are spacious and very modern and clean the staff are really friendly and attentive nothing is too much for them will definitely stay again :)

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaciejM53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaVincisHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear ‘maciejM53’,
It is lovely to hear positive feedback from a loyal customer, so I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
With Kindest Regards,
Natasha O’Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Loved this hotel and staff. Rooms great with lots of space and especially comfortable beds. The staff in all sections were friendly and extremely helpful. Food and service great. We stayed midweek and no night noise. Bus stop nearby and frequent service, taxis great value. Just love Derry and its people so hope to be back soon again and will definitely book into this hotel next time. We have stayed in Derry before but The Da Vinci best value and nicest. Absolutely and unusually have no complaints even minor ones.

Room Tip: We had ground floor rooms with car park view and midweek stay was quiet. Might be best to check for...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NualaLurgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaVincisHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear ‘Nualalurgan’,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. I am delighted you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Best wishes,
Natasha O’Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

The hotel is situated on the outskirts of the city and we enjoyed a glorious walk into the city along the banks of the River Foyle to work each morning. We chose the hotel because we thought the situation would be reasonably quiet. The hotel, however,was not. Our bedroom looked out on a row of extractor fans from the air-conditioning in the public rooms immediately outside and the noise from them made sleep almost impossible until they stopped in the early hours. This was made worse by the fac that there was no air-conditioning in the bedroom so we would have been sstifled in the hot weather if we had kept the window closed, although the noise penetrated the closed windows well! The fan in the bathroom was very noisy and went on working for at least 15 minutes after the bathroom was in use. The staff were reasonably efficent but exhibited none of the friendliness or willingness to help we found everywhere else in the city. Breakfast was fine but the dining-room very gloomy.

Room Tip: Any rooms on the front with the view and any that start above about 08 on each floor at the back
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cherry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaVincisHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear ‘CherryP’,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am disappointed to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us and it is unfortunate that you didn’t contact reception with your issues as they could have moved you to a different room. I hope you visit again and you can enjoy our high quality facilities and service which we are renowned for.
With Kindest Regards,
Natasha O’Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

As a frequent visitor to Derry over the years, I have never seen the need to even look into staying somewhere else other than Da Vinci's.

The staff are nothing but professional, courteous and always willing to go the extra mile. Add to that the great value for money for rooms or special rate packages plus the beautiful food... should it be in the Grillroom, cosy bar or even breakfast.

The hotel may not be in the centre of the city, but for me that makes it perfect for a stroll along the waterfront that's only around a leisurely mile (+ taxi's are so cheap compared to Belfast!). Meaning it also makes it ideal for any Foyle side spectaculars that Derry is so famed for - Halloween fireworks display or City of Culture Battle of Colmcille & Nessy.

If I was pushed to make a balanced observation that others might like to know. I'd say only being able to have continental breakfast brought to your room, when a full cooked breakfast is also available if you go to the Grillroom. Maybe annoying for some, though not for me as I'm not a huge lover of fried foods especially first thing :)

Room Tip: Book online in advance, sign up for the newsletter or join the hotel's facebook page to get the...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaVincisHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear ‘ha-melmahey’,
What a lovely review! It is great to hear feedback from a regular customer especially a satisfied one. We are extremely lucky that we do have a great team of staff so I will be sure to pass on your kind words to them. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Many Thanks,
Natasha O’Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.1 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 13 in Derry
2,066 reviews
1.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
2.5 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 13 in Derry
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
624 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
1.3 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#11 of 13 in Derry
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Da Vinci's Hotel Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da Vinci's Hotel Derry

Address: 15 Culmore Road, Derry BT48 8JB, Northern Ireland (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Derry
#7 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#7 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#8 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range: £65 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Da Vinci's Hotel Derry 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Da Vinci’s Hotel Derry is the ideal base for sightseeing breaks in the North West of Ireland. Da Vinci’s is located just one mile from Derry City Centre and just a 15 minute walk to the historic Derry City Walls. Our guests are also conveniently located to visit the Giant’s Causeway, Royal Portrush Golf Course and Donegal’s breath taking scenery. Ramada Da Vinci’s Hotel in Derry can boast of having the largest bedrooms in the city; these 65 bedrooms are contemporary in style and include the fabulous Morrison Suite, Club and Superior bedrooms. In addition to our comfortable hotel accommodation Da Vinci’s Hotel Derry offers all guests complimentary car parking and complimentary unlimited Wi-Fi throughout the building. On site at Da Vinci’s Hotel guests can enjoy an award winning Irish traditional bar which serves the best pint of Guinness in Derry and on Friday and Saturday nights the hotel offers free entertainment in The Spirit Bar nightclub. Da Vinci’s Hotel’s restaurant The Grillroom provides guests with atmospheric surroundings, exceptional service and the highest quality of locally sourced menus at affordable prices. For business meetings and conferences in Derry, Da Vinci’s Hotel Derry provides contemporary facilities that can cater for up to 120 delegates with complimentary unlimited wi-fi and car parking. At Da Vinci’s Hotel Derry a warm and heartfelt welcome awaits you with engaging and anticipatory service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Da Vinci's Hotel Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Derry
Derry Ramada
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing