We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Went to Da Vincis for the weekend with my friends and it was great. You could not fault anything. food was excellent, rooms spotless and the staff were very pleasant, especially a girl in the restaurant called Davinia who really went out of her way for us. We have been for a few weekends and have always had a pleasurable experience Many thanks

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaVincisHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear ‘Patricia O’,
It is lovely to hear from you and thank you for taking the time to share your experience on this forum. I am delighted that you and your friends had a good time and I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to Davinia. I hope we can welcome you and your friends back to the hotel very soon.
Best wishes,
Natasha O’Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager
Da Vinci’s Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    242
    80
    31
    39
See reviews for
172
265
28
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Had an enjoyable stay at Da Vinci's last summer and all was well. At the time we couldn’t have recommended it highly enough and decided to spend a few days there again. But unfortunately things were not so good second time around. First problem was the beds. The mattresses were very uncomfortable. We spoke to reception to about this and they offered us another room, which we accepted, but unfortunately things were no better here it spoiled what was otherwise was would have been an excellent holiday in a lovely hotel.

Second problem was with some of the restaurant staff. The majority of them were extremely friendly, helpful and professional. However there were two individuals who were rude, barely spoke to us and kept staring at my wife making her feel uncomfortable which was an extremely poor manner in which to treat ones customers.

To be fair this hotel has a lot of good points. Convenient location (near city centre), Nice spacious rooms, good facilities, reasonable rates, excellent food and the majority of the staff were very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful however it was all let badly down by the problems outlined above.

Room Tip: Avoid Rooms 307 or 412 (because of mattresses)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaVincisHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear ‘Mike B’,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on this forum. I am happy that you were impressed with service, food and facilities but I am sorry that our beds didn’t meet the same high expectations. We have never received negative feedback in relation to our beds so we will investigate your comments. Sincerely I am disappointed that your second stay with us was not as enjoyable as your first experience. I hope you stay with us again because I am confident that your third experience will be as enjoyable as the first.
Best wishes,
Natasha O’Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager
Da Vinci’s Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We have stayed at this hotel several times and cannot fault it in any way. It is extremely well-managed and the staff are efficient, helpful and friendly, without being intrusive. This time we stayed in the Morrison suite which is luxurious, with all the amenities you could wish for. Previously, we have also stayed in the superior rooms and these also are well facilitated, although obviously smaller. All rooms were spotlessly clean. The breakfast was great with all the hot and cold food served buffet style and plentiful. We ate in the restaurant in the evenings and again the food was good and our meals were served promptly.
Although a little outside the centre of the city, it is easy to travel there within minutes.

Room Tip: Fourth floor rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaVincisHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear ‘Gsanford’,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience on this forum. We really appreciate guest feedback and especially from a loyal customer. I am pleased that we consistently exceed your expectations and our aim is that we continually improve to keep us the best! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best wishes,
Natasha O’Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager
Da Vinci’s Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed here 18th jan for my brother in laws 30th b day.. 14 of use came to stay all couples. From the moment we stepped foot in that hotel they had out cards marked... We went into the bar to watch the footie obviously when your teams not doin well you shout at screen (as most men do) 3 times we were told to be quiet..I felt this really off putting .. Yes I understand there were people there eating but it was all friendly banter... We went to the nightclub at 10 and myself and my sister were up dancing and I noticed this one Boucher watching our table the whole time (waiting and wanting something to go wrong) my brothers friend was enjoying himself dancing and kept getting up on chair he kept being told to sit down... Yes I do understand he could've hurt someone of he had fallen or even himself... He was just excited to get a night away with no kids... As u do... My sister got up to dance with him nxt thing he's being dragged out by that one horrible bouncer!!! I'm not sure exactly what happened but the nxt morn when I was having breakfast a stranger approached me and told me she saw everthing and that one bouncer grabbed our friend kicked him and he felt to floor tlour friend tried to defemd himself and ended up having to go to hosp and get 6 staples to his head... My observation is that one bouncer was wanting all this to happen... I've also heard it's no the 1st time it's happened at this hotel... Lovely hotel rooms our clean food was nice... But please never ever book a block booking as straight away the hotel will suspect that you and your company will be rough and wanting to fight people .... I have never ever been involved in anything like this before and have stayed in May hotels with these people... That one bouncer ruined everything for us...

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Tiarnaadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaVincisHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear ‘Tiarnaadam’,
Thank you for sharing your feedback. I understand that our General Manager is dealing with your complaint. I thought it was prudent to highlight on my response that we do welcome groups to our property many of which have excellent stays. It is very unfortunate that you had a disappointing experience but you will see from this Trip Advisor Forum your experience is out of the ordinary and our staff and service are consistently championed on this forum. I do sincerely hope that you come to a resolution with my General Manager in relation to your issues.
Best wishes,
Natasha O’Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager
Da Vinci’s Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

1st time staying in the hotel for our friends 30th, some staff were nice but found the bouncers to be very hevy handed, heard good reports about hoteland niteclulb, but it was disappointing with heavy handed bouncers and staff protecting the bouncers. very disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 650loulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaVincisHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear ‘650loulou’,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on this forum. I understand that our General Manager has been in contact with you and your group and is addressing your issues. As you have alluded to in your review our hotel has an excellent reputation and your experience is completely out of the ordinary, nevertheless your feedback is being investigate.
With Kindest Regards,
Natasha O’Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager
Da Vinci’s Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

2nd time staying at this hotel. The staff are the friendliest ever. Food at breakfast ok..rooms comfortable enough. Distance from derry a bit far out but several restaurants, fast food etc nearby. Last time stayed on 2nd floor..fighting between a large group all in rooms near mine. Screaming, yelling, it was frightening. We did get moved to 4th floor thanks to understanding staff. Decided to give hotel the benefit of the doubt but again encountered screaming, yelling, loud music etc etc on both nights. I think this hotel is attractive to young party goers with its night club..it is a problem as I have read other reviews and they are of the same opinion as me..its such a shame as this hotel has the nicest, friendliest staff of any hotel I have ever encountered. It could be sooo good but people need a bit of peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Try 4th floor, 2nd floor very very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eibhlin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaVincisHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear ‘Eibhlin123’,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on this forum. We really do appreciate all feedback from our customers; feedback like yours does help us to maintain and improve customer experiences. I am happy to hear that you were impressed by our staff, food and rooms but I am sorry that other guest’s hindered your experience. Saturday night is consistently our busiest night and occasionally gatherings in some rooms can get out of hand. I am sorry that this happened while you were our guest. Whilst we do provide complimentary entertainment during the weekends we still maintain a varied customer base ranging from families to couples, many of which are repeat customers. I would ask you stay with us again and give us the opportunity to improve your impression of our hotel.
Best wishes,
Natasha O’Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager
Da Vinci’s Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We have stayed several times in Da Vinci's and this trip did not disappoint. The room was perfect for a family of four. The staff we encountered throughout the hotel were very friendly and helpful, especially the two ladies on reception.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happycustomer106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaVincisHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear ‘Happycustomer106’,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor for others to view. It is always very encouraging for us to receive feedback from repeat customers; it helps us ensure we are maintaining the high standards we have set for the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel soon.
Best wishes,
Natasha O’Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.1 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#6 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,949 reviews
1.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
1.4 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel
1.3 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Da Vinci's Hotel Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da Vinci's Hotel Derry

Property: Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
Address: 15 Culmore Road, Derry BT48 8JB, Northern Ireland (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Derry
#7 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#7 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#8 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Da Vinci's Hotel Derry 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Da Vinci’s Hotel Derry is the ideal base for sightseeing breaks in the North West of Ireland. Da Vinci’s is located just one mile from Derry City Centre and just a 15 minute walk to the historic Derry City Walls. Our guests are also conveniently located to visit the Giant’s Causeway, Royal Portrush Golf Course and Donegal’s breath taking scenery. Ramada Da Vinci’s Hotel in Derry can boast of having the largest bedrooms in the city; these 65 bedrooms are contemporary in style and include the fabulous Morrison Suite, Club and Superior bedrooms. In addition to our comfortable hotel accommodation Da Vinci’s Hotel Derry offers all guests complimentary car parking and complimentary unlimited Wi-Fi throughout the building. On site at Da Vinci’s Hotel guests can enjoy an award winning Irish traditional bar which serves the best pint of Guinness in Derry and on Friday and Saturday nights the hotel offers free entertainment in The Spirit Bar nightclub. Da Vinci’s Hotel’s restaurant The Grillroom provides guests with atmospheric surroundings, exceptional service and the highest quality of locally sourced menus at affordable prices. For business meetings and conferences in Derry, Da Vinci’s Hotel Derry provides contemporary facilities that can cater for up to 120 delegates with complimentary unlimited wi-fi and car parking. At Da Vinci’s Hotel Derry a warm and heartfelt welcome awaits you with engaging and anticipatory service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Da Vinci's Hotel Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Derry
Derry Ramada
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing