We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Biggest Disappointment In Ireland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
dayton, ohio
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Biggest Disappointment In Ireland”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This place was a mistake for us and possibly for many viewers. First of all it, if you are a tourist, it's not close to the city center. It's at least a mile walk and the very unhelpful person on the front desk had no suggestions other than to point out the walking path to town. It is a nice path along the river though but a long one. Back to the hotel, our room was somewhat small and the bath too. Windows and sills were dirty and the carpet was quite shabby. It was also hot. We tried the windows but no ventilation. We spoke to the front desk person, who was again very unhelpful but we finally persuaded then to provide a fan. This fan immediately upon starting fell apart! I had to fix it and it was noisy and eventually worked its way off the table in the middle of the night. We can't speak of breakfast as our reservation did not include it and it was super overpriced at 8 pounds each. WiFi was poor and had a funky log in system. Another huge issue and probably the reason the front desk people don't care is this hotel caters to large tour groups so they have a captive audience. I would never stay in this hotel again and I question if I would do Ramada again too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buckeye-dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaVincisHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear 'buckeye-dude' ,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on this forum. I am very surprised to read your review as you will see from other reviews on this forum, your experience is completely out of the normal. Our hotel renowned for providing award winning customer service and facilities to our customers and if you would contact me directly to discuss your concerns on 028 7127 9111 or via email at natasha@davincishotel.com.
Sincerely,
Natasha O'Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    252
    83
    32
    42
See reviews for
177
279
28
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

I planned my sisters wedding for her as she lives in Minnesota. I could not have wished for a better venue than Da Vinci's! The place was beautiful the staff went above and beyond anything I ever imagined!! They made a special event in my sister an brother in laws life that wee bit more memorable!! Thanks to everyone involved. Denise x

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denise m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaVincisHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Denise,
Thank you for your lovely review and we are delighted that your family had an enjoyable day. We are lucky to have an amazing events team at DV's and your kind feedback is appreciated. Please pass on our congratulations again to your sister and her new husband! We look forward to welcome you all back again very soon.
Sincerely,
Natasha O'Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager
Ramada Da Vinci's Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast N Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was an excellent hotel. we were going to a funeral and they were able to
give us a room for the night. The hotel was very busy with the Clipper Boat Race and Hen Parties etc, Service was excellent, Breakfast was good and we
were very satisfied. Wouls stay again and tell my friend about it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank crabbelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaVincisHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear 'carbbelfast',
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on this forum. I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay and hopefully you will return in better circumstances. Please check out our direct website for our best rates and thank you for recommending us to your friend.
Sincerely,
Natasha O'Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager
Ramada Da Vinci's Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Loved every minute in this hotel. I was lucky enough to be a competition winner and my prize was to stay at this lovely hotel. When we checked in at reception we where met by two lovely ladies both very helpful and friendly. Our room was on the 4th floor over looking the main road although that was not a problem as we didn't hear the traffic at all. The bedroom was spotless and the hotels attention to detail was very evident as they included a pillow menu. The hotels towels are soft and fluffy . which is a rare find in hotels now a days. We had dinner in the restaurant which was really nice and had a few drinks in the bar afterwards. On the way to the restaurant and the bar there was a wall of fame of photos of previous celebrities that had stayed at the hotel. This was certainly a talking point. We had breakfast the next morning again which was a very high standard. Any staff member that we encountered along the way where so friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our first trip to Derry and will return to this hotel again for sure. Thanks again to everyone that helped make our trip to Derry so special

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 31tara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaVincisHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Tara,
It is lovely to hear from you and I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay. We were delighted to have you stay at our hotel and we really enjoyed seeing the pictures of your stay on the Discover Northern Ireland Face book page, the images really showcase all that our city and hotel has to offer. Thank you for your kind comments about our staff, food, facilities and our wall of fame! We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon and please do keep an eye on our direct website for best rates.
Sincerely,
Natasha O'Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager
Ramada Da Vinci's Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arroyo de la Miel, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We always look forward to coming back to Ramada Da Vincis. The staff welcome is always a delight, they are most helpful, especially on this visit as I was travelling alone.

The rooms are very spacious and spotlessly clean with comfortable beds and many tv stations to choose from.

Looking forward to returning later in the year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaVincisHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear 'Ccrystal',
Thank you for your lovely review and it is great to receive such excellent feedback from a regular guest. We do have great staff and thank you for acknowledging them in your review, I will be sure to pass on your kind compliments to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon and do keep an eye on our direct website for our best rates guaranteed.
Best wishes,
Natasha O'Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager
Ramada Da Vinci's Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2014

It was a great pleasure to stay (2nd time) at Ramada Da Vincis in Londonderry. Friendly staff, upgrade to executive room, bottle of wine on arrival,excellent bar and absolute perfection in food all meant my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. As my title for this review said - no better place to stay - and we know Londonderry since 1970.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaVincisHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear 'JohnT',
Thank you for taking the time to share you experience on this forum. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and our staff, bedrooms, food impressed you. Please do keep an eye on our direct website we have some great Summer offers available. We look forward to welcoming you and your wife back again very soon.
Best wishes,
Natasha O'Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager
Ramada Da Vinci's Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.1 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 13 in Derry
2,016 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
566 reviews
1.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 13 in Derry
1,237 reviews
1.3 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 13 in Derry
524 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Da Vinci's Hotel Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da Vinci's Hotel Derry

Property: Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
Address: 15 Culmore Road, Derry BT48 8JB, Northern Ireland (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Derry
#7 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#7 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#8 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Da Vinci's Hotel Derry 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Da Vinci’s Hotel Derry is the ideal base for sightseeing breaks in the North West of Ireland. Da Vinci’s is located just one mile from Derry City Centre and just a 15 minute walk to the historic Derry City Walls. Our guests are also conveniently located to visit the Giant’s Causeway, Royal Portrush Golf Course and Donegal’s breath taking scenery. Ramada Da Vinci’s Hotel in Derry can boast of having the largest bedrooms in the city; these 65 bedrooms are contemporary in style and include the fabulous Morrison Suite, Club and Superior bedrooms. In addition to our comfortable hotel accommodation Da Vinci’s Hotel Derry offers all guests complimentary car parking and complimentary unlimited Wi-Fi throughout the building. On site at Da Vinci’s Hotel guests can enjoy an award winning Irish traditional bar which serves the best pint of Guinness in Derry and on Friday and Saturday nights the hotel offers free entertainment in The Spirit Bar nightclub. Da Vinci’s Hotel’s restaurant The Grillroom provides guests with atmospheric surroundings, exceptional service and the highest quality of locally sourced menus at affordable prices. For business meetings and conferences in Derry, Da Vinci’s Hotel Derry provides contemporary facilities that can cater for up to 120 delegates with complimentary unlimited wi-fi and car parking. At Da Vinci’s Hotel Derry a warm and heartfelt welcome awaits you with engaging and anticipatory service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Da Vinci's Hotel Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Derry
Derry Ramada
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing