We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really interesting story...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Columba Heritage Centre

St. Columba Heritage Centre
Ranked #39 of 133 things to do in Derry
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located near the historic walls of Derry~Londonderry the 'St Columba Heritage Centre' aims to provide visitors with a unique insight into the life of St Columba and the City's ancient monastic roots. Spread over three floors within a category B2 listed building - affectionately known as "The Wee Nun's School" - the centre offers a bespoke audio-visual interactive visitor experience.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Stairs / lift, Baby buggy parking, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really interesting story...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Really enjoyed my visit to the 'Wee nuns' school. Great audio visual displays about St Columba: very informative about the history of Derry.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kieran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    5
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
derry
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Blast From The Past”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Just called in with my kids 16&21, after mass in The Long Tower Church, which is a beautiful church and really worth a visit. The building was my primary school back at the height of the troubles in late 60s early 70s. The restoration is fabulous and the quality of the exhibits are first class. My kids really enjoyed it and we found the whole experience fantastic. Andy, the manager, was really friendly and helpful. This in combination with a visit to the adjacent church is a must if visiting the city.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ROOTEND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fascinating insight into the patron saint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We almost walked past but were talked in by the manager and were glad that we were. I knew almost nothing about St Columba and the heritage centre gives an excellent insight into his life both in Ireland and Scotland through a mixture of boards, displays and Videos.

Upstairs is an Interesting exhibition covering the legacy. In particular books. St Columba left Ireland for copying. There's a good display of old books including a replica Book of Kells.

there also a good selection of films, Including One on st Columba's life which are good. ?

all is mad even more interesting by the manager who has an excellent knowledge not just of St Columba but also o irish religious history.

well worth a visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This brand new heritage centre is next to St Columba's High Tower Church”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

It was a "miracle" discovering this wonderful centre which had only opened a few days prior. I was looking for such a centre all over Derry without any luck, and headed to the Long Tower Church as a last resort. I was lost and a young girl {"angel"} showed me the way to the Long Tower which is outside the old city walls! I walked all around the perimeter of the church as I always do at a new site to me and "found" St Colm Cille! {the old church's children's school}

Congratulations on an excellent facility and interpretation centre - and really welcoming, knowledgeable, helpful, professional staff throughout, including Catherine Crawley. Director, Andrew Maguire and I had a great conversation ranging over many associated historical topics.

Ian Macdonnell

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank IanRossMacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. Columba Heritage Centre also viewed

Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Been to St. Columba Heritage Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing