We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry(Derry)(Great Value!)
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
City Hotel(Derry)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$115/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waterfoot Hotel(Derry)(Great Value!)
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$149/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$112
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
130
26
5
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
26
5
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgeorgian townhouseancient city wallslinen and towelswithin the wallsbefore check in timeowners were friendlyperfect locationfull irishlovely guesthousenext morningbed and breakfastbreakfast was amazingcity centrelate checkirish breakfastbeds were comfortablelocal attractions
Filter
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 164 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2014

Boy have I dropped lucky this time. I usually dread going to a new town regularly for business and staying in a B&B. Staying at Number 8 is quite simply great. The Georgian building has been refurbished with meticulous attention to detail. The mosaic tiles, chandeliers, big mirrors, authentic stair runners, all of it is just right, but where its needed -like in the showers- there is ultramodern efficiency. Many of Derry's hotels are on noisy busy roads, but Number 8 looks out onto the historic city walls which meant an undisturbed night's sleep. The breakfasts are a problem. I am not supposed to eat huge, delicious freshly cooked traditional Ulster breakfasts, but... (I hope my wife does't read this review).

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DougMacLeod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, Owner at Number 8 The Town House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2014

We're delighted you enjoyed your stay so much! Hope to see you again at Number 8 The Townhouse B&B. Thanks John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2014

Sadly, I cannot give Number 8, The Townhouse a six as it is really worth it.

Firstly the decor and the rooms were of a very high standard. They were of the quality I would normally expect to find in a boutique hotel rather than a standard B&B. Some five star hotels I have stayed in have been less well appointed.

Then there is the location right in the heart of the City Centre and right next to the walls. We rolled out of bed and onto a walking tour of the walls after our stay.

Thirdly there was the breakfast served in the basement which was superb, a fact helped by being able to serve your own coffee and juice and not be limited to the one mini juice glass that you get in many places.

Finally there is the service from John and Ciaran which was welcoming and very helpful both when we arrived and the following morning.

If you are in Derry, then I highly recommend staying at the Number 8, The Townhouse

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keswalnut1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, Owner at Number 8 The Town House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2014

What a great statement:

"Sadly, I cannot give Number 8, The Townhouse a six as it is really worth it."

Thank you so much. Hope to see you again at Number 8 The Townhouse Bed & Breakfast. J.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2014

We stayed at No.8 in September to visit a friend who is unwell & have booked to return in November to see him again. My husband had never been to Derry & has fallen in love with the City & especially No.8! Everything about it is excellent from the location within the Derry Walls to the superb accommodation, not to mention the lovely Kieran who not only provides the most amazing breakfast (diet before you go & make sure he knows your a veggie if you are!) he is a delight to chat with, we didn't want to leave the breakfast room. I have a BIG Birthday in December & have booked the whole place for a long weekend taking all the lovely women in my life & just can't wait to return. The manager John recommended a tour of the Derry Walls & his old mum did the honours, brilliant!!!!!! Thanks so much all. B&P x

Room Tip: All great, we are used to living on a main road in London!
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bernadette M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2014

I would thoroughly recommend Number 8 The Townhouse. It was a little difficult to find as there was no clear signposting, and we had to find internet connection somewhere to get back to their website to find a phone number to call (hopefully they have started to include that on all email confirmation now) however, once we called the owner we realised that we were just outside! We were quickly and efficiently signed in and led up to our room at the very top. I was not sure that it was the same room I had actually booked, but that did not matter as the room was delightfully appointed, the beds were really comfortable, including feather pillows and lovely crisp linen, and it was in a very quiet and peaceful corner of Derry town. We got up early the next day and walked the wall city - I was amazed at how few people were around. Had the town to ourselves!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank 930alisonr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2014

We stayed at Number 8 for a night - and only wish we could have stayed for longer. Perfectly located with a hint of luxury, we were made to feel very welcome. Thanks for a wonderful stay - and in particular a fantastic fry and great conversation the next morning.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Aine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews