We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
City Hotel(Derry)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$115/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry(Derry)(Great Value!)
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waterfoot Hotel(Derry)(Great Value!)
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$149/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
130
26
5
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
26
5
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgeorgian townhouseancient city wallslinen and towelswithin the wallsbefore check in timeowners were friendlyperfect locationfull irishlovely guesthousenext morningbed and breakfastbreakfast was amazingcity centrelate checkirish breakfastbeds were comfortablelocal attractions
Filter
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 164 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2014

Although I didn't stay overnight in this B&B, I recently popped in while visiting Derry as it doubles up as a small café/tea room.

Location wise, it's ideal for overnight accommodation or simply dropping in for a morning or afternoon coffee. However, since they're also open for business as a café/tea room, the food selection could be a little more interesting (and that doesn't necessarily mean cooked food).

Those travelling by car will find it difficult to park nearby, as the streets are very narrow, one way and very, very busy. It reminds me of several cities and towns in southern France!

The owner seems hospitable and the accommodation looks excellent and is well maintained from what I saw.

Overall, you'd be hard pressed not to enjoy a stay in this stylist establishment. (And it's very close to the Playhouse and Millennium Forum, two of Derry's main theatres.)

Room Tip: As some other reviewers have mentioned, given its city centre location, it's possible that noise might be an issue if you're in a room overlooking Artillery street. It is after all, located in the heart of the old city.
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank AvidIrishReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2014

A new B&B inside the old city walls. We were utterly charmed at the way this Georgian building has been lovingly and elegantly restored. Enormous decorative mirrors bring light and grandeur to every space. Bed and bedlinen sumptuous. Breakfast perfect. John and Ciaron run a wonderful place and are charming hosts. Coffee shop attached is delightful. Location couldn't be better. Playhouse Theatre/Arts Centre next door. We had a front of house room looking out on the old city walls and didn't hear a peep all night. Cannot recommend enough!

Room Tip: We had Bishopsgate ensuite bedroom at the front of the house - lovely double which had an ante-room with a single bed. Very quiet. Wonderful bedlinen.
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caddens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, Owner at Number 8 The Town House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2014

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and had a great sleep here at Number 8 The Townhouse Bed & Breakfast. Hope to see you again. John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2014

Boy have I dropped lucky this time. I usually dread going to a new town regularly for business and staying in a B&B. Staying at Number 8 is quite simply great. The Georgian building has been refurbished with meticulous attention to detail. The mosaic tiles, chandeliers, big mirrors, authentic stair runners, all of it is just right, but where its needed -like in the showers- there is ultramodern efficiency. Many of Derry's hotels are on noisy busy roads, but Number 8 looks out onto the historic city walls which meant an undisturbed night's sleep. The breakfasts are a problem. I am not supposed to eat huge, delicious freshly cooked traditional Ulster breakfasts, but... (I hope my wife does't read this review).

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DougMacLeod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, Owner at Number 8 The Town House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2014

We're delighted you enjoyed your stay so much! Hope to see you again at Number 8 The Townhouse B&B. Thanks John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2014

Sadly, I cannot give Number 8, The Townhouse a six as it is really worth it.

Firstly the decor and the rooms were of a very high standard. They were of the quality I would normally expect to find in a boutique hotel rather than a standard B&B. Some five star hotels I have stayed in have been less well appointed.

Then there is the location right in the heart of the City Centre and right next to the walls. We rolled out of bed and onto a walking tour of the walls after our stay.

Thirdly there was the breakfast served in the basement which was superb, a fact helped by being able to serve your own coffee and juice and not be limited to the one mini juice glass that you get in many places.

Finally there is the service from John and Ciaran which was welcoming and very helpful both when we arrived and the following morning.

If you are in Derry, then I highly recommend staying at the Number 8, The Townhouse

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keswalnut1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, Owner at Number 8 The Town House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2014

What a great statement:

"Sadly, I cannot give Number 8, The Townhouse a six as it is really worth it."

Thank you so much. Hope to see you again at Number 8 The Townhouse Bed & Breakfast. J.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2014

We stayed at No.8 in September to visit a friend who is unwell & have booked to return in November to see him again. My husband had never been to Derry & has fallen in love with the City & especially No.8! Everything about it is excellent from the location within the Derry Walls to the superb accommodation, not to mention the lovely Kieran who not only provides the most amazing breakfast (diet before you go & make sure he knows your a veggie if you are!) he is a delight to chat with, we didn't want to leave the breakfast room. I have a BIG Birthday in December & have booked the whole place for a long weekend taking all the lovely women in my life & just can't wait to return. The manager John recommended a tour of the Derry Walls & his old mum did the honours, brilliant!!!!!! Thanks so much all. B&P x

Room Tip: All great, we are used to living on a main road in London!
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bernadette M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews