We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
City Hotel(Derry)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$115/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry(Derry)(Great Value!)
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waterfoot Hotel(Derry)(Great Value!)
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$149/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$112
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
130
26
5
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
26
5
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgeorgian townhouseancient city wallslinen and towelswithin the wallsbefore check in timeowners were friendlyperfect locationfull irishlovely guesthousenext morningbed and breakfastbreakfast was amazingcity centrelate checkirish breakfastbeds were comfortablelocal attractions
Filter
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 164 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2015

Highly recommended - a beautiful place to stay. Convenient to everything and the most comfortable night's sleep I have had in long time
If you are looking for somewhere to stay in London/Derry /City this is it

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Brooksie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2015

Spotted The Townhouse one day last summer, and popped in for coffee. We were so impressed with the setting, so near the Walls and city centre, that we planned to stay overnight later in the year. So in late December we booked a Saturday night stay and were not disappointed! From the warm welcome, beautifully original decor (and my favourite shades of paint.... Farrow &Ball grey/ green!), to the bijou bedroom with spacious bathroom, everything was a delight. Most impressive of all was the comfiest bed I've ever slept on!
At breakfast time we heard the story behind No. 8......fascinating, so I won't spoil it by re telling ...go and hear it for yourself!
A highlight was an unexpected tapping on the bathroom window...through the glass I could make out the shape of a sturdy pigeon...obviously used to being fed by guests! We didn't disappoint it!!
We look forward to another stay, hopefully to go to a production at the theatre right next door...just waiting for brochure as promised! Needless to say, we'll also book dinner at Browns in the Town...see my reviews on it!

Room Tip: We heard no nighttime noise at all, but if in doubt, ask for a room at the back.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolR54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2014

Although I didn't stay overnight in this B&B, I recently popped in while visiting Derry as it doubles up as a small café/tea room.

Location wise, it's ideal for overnight accommodation or simply dropping in for a morning or afternoon coffee. However, since they're also open for business as a café/tea room, the food selection could be a little more interesting (and that doesn't necessarily mean cooked food).

Those travelling by car will find it difficult to park nearby, as the streets are very narrow, one way and very, very busy. It reminds me of several cities and towns in southern France!

The owner seems hospitable and the accommodation looks excellent and is well maintained from what I saw.

Overall, you'd be hard pressed not to enjoy a stay in this stylist establishment. (And it's very close to the Playhouse and Millennium Forum, two of Derry's main theatres.)

Room Tip: As some other reviewers have mentioned, given its city centre location, it's possible that noise might be an issue if you're in a room overlooking Artillery street. It is after all, located in the heart of the old city.
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank AvidIrishReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2014

A new B&B inside the old city walls. We were utterly charmed at the way this Georgian building has been lovingly and elegantly restored. Enormous decorative mirrors bring light and grandeur to every space. Bed and bedlinen sumptuous. Breakfast perfect. John and Ciaron run a wonderful place and are charming hosts. Coffee shop attached is delightful. Location couldn't be better. Playhouse Theatre/Arts Centre next door. We had a front of house room looking out on the old city walls and didn't hear a peep all night. Cannot recommend enough!

Room Tip: We had Bishopsgate ensuite bedroom at the front of the house - lovely double which had an ante-room with a single bed. Very quiet. Wonderful bedlinen.
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caddens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, Owner at Number 8 The Town House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2014

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and had a great sleep here at Number 8 The Townhouse Bed & Breakfast. Hope to see you again. John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2014

Boy have I dropped lucky this time. I usually dread going to a new town regularly for business and staying in a B&B. Staying at Number 8 is quite simply great. The Georgian building has been refurbished with meticulous attention to detail. The mosaic tiles, chandeliers, big mirrors, authentic stair runners, all of it is just right, but where its needed -like in the showers- there is ultramodern efficiency. Many of Derry's hotels are on noisy busy roads, but Number 8 looks out onto the historic city walls which meant an undisturbed night's sleep. The breakfasts are a problem. I am not supposed to eat huge, delicious freshly cooked traditional Ulster breakfasts, but... (I hope my wife does't read this review).

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DougMacLeod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, Owner at Number 8 The Town House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2014

We're delighted you enjoyed your stay so much! Hope to see you again at Number 8 The Townhouse B&B. Thanks John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews