We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What about cha?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Serendipity House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Serendipity House
Ranked #7 of 47 Derry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What about cha?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

A cosy, clean and comfortable night was spent in Serendipity House in friendly Derry! The BEST breakfast anywhere in Ireland! If you visit Derry, Serendipity House is a must stay place! Also, the owner?manager? Stephen was incredibly friendly - as is everyone in lovely Derry!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    78
    31
    12
    5
See reviews for
59
110
23
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed here last night, after a really early flight for work Steven was kind enough to let us check in early for a sleep.
Room was spotless, views excellent and it was great value for money.Bathroom was a bit of a squeeze but the shower was excellent. Breakfast included and a cooked breakfast was only a few quid. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend we will definately go back if we're in the area again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank _HAPPY_cAMper_74629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Booked a twin room - given a double + single but single bed more suited to a child than adult.
Room very cramped. No proper drawers to unpack into. No storage for cases.
Room was not made up on second day (a Sunday) - beds unmade, tea cups dirty, supplies not topped up.
No cooked breakfast was available on Sunday morning - excuse was a broken cooker but this was working fine on Monday morning!
No staff on site overnight and no guest phone available to call them if problems arose.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vernon Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulderry, Manager at Serendipity House, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
I would just like to add a few missed details so that all readers have a full story, this guest was upgraded to a triple room, all single beds are of a standard size, Guest was got this room At 50% discount, quite a large room with a view of the city, Guest also had a full continental breakfast included as part of this price, it is true we had a problem with the cooker on one of the mornings and to rectify this the both guests were provided with cooked breakfast at no extra charge Normally charged as an extra, i think some people are somewot quick to harshly criticize people and accommodations, however we are always saddened to find an unhappy guest and will strive improve and welcome resolutions before departure,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We had 2 nights here and we were so impressed. A beautiful house...room was great...the best bed I ve slept in. The room , and all of the house was so warm and cosy. The people were lovely...very friendly and helpful (and this extended to everyone we met!)...5 star treatment from Stephen and Paul...and a great breakfast from Yvonne...thank you !

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swinford, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed 2 nights and had a compact but lovely room with a great view over the city - good hot shower, wifi, tv really comfortable bed nice bedlinen - everything you could want. Breakfast was continental style but with the owners freshly baked scones and croissants - i was sorry i didnt try the cooked breakfast for a very reasonable £3.50 extra - it will be good and there were plenty of options to choose but next time,,,,,
The owners were lovely ppl - friendly, informative with excellent knowledge of the city. The Serendipity was in easy walking distance of everything, parking wasn't a problem - we just had a really great time,

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bavose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stopped for 1 night in Derry and I must say I was pleasantly impressed by this guest house. The room was very clean and comfortable, and the view at night was just breathtaking. The owner was very friendly and accommodating. The location also is very convenient. I would recommend this guest house without any hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oana-Istrate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Three of us stayed here and we were instantly impressed with a view of the city from the breakfast room and the decor. The room was perfect and the mattresses were unbelievably comfortable.
The city centre was within strolling distance. Within a few minutes we were in a lovely restaurant.
Would highly recommend a stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelle0k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.4 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,925 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.5 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Angel House Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
No8 New Bed & Breakfast Derry-Londonderry
0.3 mi away
Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serendipity House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serendipity House

Property: Serendipity House
Address: 26 Marlborough Street, Derry BT48 9AY, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Serendipity House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Derry, Serendipity House features panoramic views of the city and its historic walls. Derry Cathedral is only a minute's walk away.Serendipity House B&B was named one of the ‘12 Best Bed and Breakfasts in Britain' by The Times newspaper.Serendipity House offers comfortable, modern accommodation. All rooms include luxurious beds, power showers and individual decor. Free Wi-Fi and tea/coffee facilities are also available.Serendipity has a spacious decking area and a dining room. Foyleside Shopping Centre is an approximately 5-minute walk from Serendipity, while the city’s numerous bars, restaurants and shopping centres are less than 5 minutes away. Free on-site parking is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Serendipity House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serendipity House Hotel Derry
Serendipity House Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing