We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Chicken”
Review of The Exchange

The Exchange
Ranked #10 of 199 Restaurants in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$28
Cuisines: European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Exchange Restaurant and Wine Bar is a family friendly, informal restaurant located centrally near the Peace Bridge in the busy town centre. Established 10 years ago, we have become a well known attraction on the riverside. We serve a comprehensive range of good food, including vegetarian options, and quality wine. All of our food is locally sourced and freshly produced on the premises by professional chefs. The establishment has been awarded a Five Star hygiene rating.
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Looking for something close to the City Hotel, the Exchange looked the best of a number of similar places. Essentially it is somewhere between a bar and a restaurant. Instructions said to order food from the bar although in fact we were served at the table by the friendly and keen to please staff.

The menu is good but we went almost totally for chicken with skewers and bites to start both of which were well done, the bites probably better value.

I went for Louisiana chicken which was smoky and came with a very pleasant creamy chorizo sauce and a generous portion of fried onions. My friend went for the Spanish chicken which came with chorizo and potato baskets. Both were generous portions and the chicken was well cooked, moist and tender. We appreciated the rocket and Parmesan salad but portions were so large that we did not really touch the Parmesan chips.

The atmosphere is good, it is a light and bright bar/restaurant and we thoroughly enjoyed our meals. Recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheExchange, Owner at The Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review (and great description of a couple of our dishes). Delighted that your experience was such a pleasant one.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (714)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

430 - 434 of 714 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

On a Wednesday night the place was packed! Very tasty food, great atmosphere and very good value. Really enjoyed it.

1  Thank cmadden2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheExchange, Owner at The Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Delighted that you enjoyed your evening with us at the Exchange, Many thanks for taking the time to write such a positive review.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The Exchange is centrally located close to the river. It is spacious but gets very busy and is popular with the locals. It offers a good selection of different dishes to suit all tastes. Service was great, all the staff were very friendly and the food quality excellent. Prices were reasonable and portion sizes quite large.

I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting the city.

1  Thank Purrdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheExchange, Owner at The Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of your recent experience in the Exchange. It is only through customers positive experiences, like your own that we remain as popular as we are.
Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

lunch was amazing we both enjoyed everything we had. Staff could be a little more friendly but overall we really enjoyed are meal. will be back soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank yogibear85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheExchange, Owner at The Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a positive review, we hope to see you again in the Exchange.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This place was suggested by the B&B owner. We arrived at 5:30, just as it opened for dinner and discovered an early dining menu - it seemed to contain pretty much the same as the regular dining menu but at about 25% less cost. The dining room filled quickly so others were onto the deal. The menu is extensive - we both had duck and it was good. They brought me a sample of a local beer so I could taste before ordering, which I thought was good customer service. Good food, good value, good service.

1  Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheExchange, Owner at The Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, Patricia. Customer service is very important to us and I will be passing on your positive comments to all staff.
Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Exchange also viewed

Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Been to The Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing